Ghana Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Ghana ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

Ghana Wiki Topics
Flag of Ghana.svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Ghana Background
Local Research Resources

Country Information[edit | edit source]

Ghana is a country in Africa bordered by the Ivory Coast, Burkina Faso, and Togo. Parts of the country were formerly ruled by Portugal, The Netherlands, Sweden, Denmark, Norway, Germany, and Great Britain. The official language is English.[1]

Getting Started[edit | edit source]

Getting Started with Ghana Research

Links to articles on getting started with Ghana research.

Ghana Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Ghana research.

Ask the
Community

Ghana Map[edit | edit source]

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Ghana.

Regions of Ghana

Regions[edit | edit source]

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Ghana. Regions:

  • Ashanti
  • Brong-Ahafo
  • Greater Accra
  • Central
  • Eastern
  • Northern
  • Western
  • Upper East
  • Upper West
  • Volta

FamilySearch Resources[edit | edit source]

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in researching your family.

Online Resources[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Wikipedia contributors, “Ghana,” in ‘’Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,’’ https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ghana, accessed 29 April 2016.
  1. Video example of Oral History work in Ghana