Gessie Parish, Malmöhus, Sweden Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Sweden
Malmöhus County
Gessie


Guide to Gessie Parish, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Gessie Church

History

This parish name is also spelled Gessie. Between 1902 and 1985 the official spelling was Gässie.


Gessie Parish, Malmöhus, Sweden Genealogy
Jurisdictions
Stift Lund
Pastorat - 1924 mother parish Gessie (Gässie) and Eskilstorp pastorat, 1924 - 1961 mother parish Gässie, Eskilstorp, Arrie and Hököpinge pastorat, 1962 - 1991 annex parish Vellinge, Gässie (Gessie), Eskilstorps and Hököpinge pastorat, 1992 - 2001 annex parish Vellinge, Gessie, Eskilstorp, Hököpinge, Västra Ingelstad, Östra Grevie, Mellan-Grevie, Södra Åkarps and Arrie pastorat, 2002 combined into Vellinge-Månstorp parish.
Län Before 1658 belonged to Denmark, 1669 - 1996 Malmöhus, 1997 - the modern county of Skåne.
Landskap Skåne
Härad Oxie
Tingslag add here
Domsaga 1682-1690 Oxie, Torna and Bara härads, 1691 - 1864 Oxie, Skytt and Vemmenhög härads, 1865 - 1901 Oxie and Skytts härads, 1985 - Trelleborg
Fögderi 1720 - 1873 Oxie, Skytts, and Vemmenhög, 1874 - 1917 Oxie and Skytts, 1918 - 1981 Malmö, 1946 - Trelleborg
Kommun 1863 - 1951 Gessie, 1952 - Vellinge
Militär indelning Skånska dragonregemente, Södra Skånska regemente
NAD Ref Code SE/SSA/0007
National Archive SVAR link
Swedish Wikipedia link
SCB Congregation map link
Open Street map link


Place Names

Fattighuset, Gässie no. 1 - 24

Text


Sweden 1951 Place Names Register and the Swedish Parish Pages list in this Wiki will give you searchable lists of places, particularly parishes and the farms within those parishes.

  • Surrounding Parishes


Collections

Census Records

Church Records

Online Database Church Records

The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these five sites (see links to specific collections below). Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital, Ancestry.com, and MyHeritage.com are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.)

Help Using ArkivDigital: Online Databases for Sweden

These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:

Family History Library Records

Click Sweden, Malmöhus Records for a full listing of microfilmed records (some digitized online) at the Family History Librarythat may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.
Click on "Places within Sweden, Malmöhus and then select your parish.

Military Records

Related Sources

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Help Reading Swedish Records

Help Reading Old Handwriting

Help With Research Objectives and Strategies

Sweden Research Strategies

References

Gässie (Gessie) Förssamling Husförhörslängd 1840 - 1849 Ortregister