Gers, France Genealogy
|France Research Topics|
|Local Research Resources|
Guide to Gers ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers.
- 1 History
- 2 Localities (Communes)
- 3 Church Records and Civil Registration (Registres Paroissiaux et Etat Civil) Online
- 4 Online Census Records
- 5 Online Local Databases and Extracted Records
- 6 Writing for Records
- 7 Learning to Read Enough French to Do Genealogy
- 8 Search Strategy
- 9 Genealogical Societies and Help Groups
- 10 Websites
History[edit | edit source]
Gers is a department in the Occitanie region in the southwest of France, It is one of the original 83 departments created during the French Revolution on 4 March 1790. It was created from parts of the former provinces of Guyenne and Gascony. Gers is among the least densely populated areas in all of Western Europe.
Localities (Communes)[edit | edit source]
Church Records and Civil Registration (Registres Paroissiaux et Etat Civil) Online[edit | edit source]
The vast majority of your research will be in church records and civil registration. For more information on these records and how to use them, read France Church Records and France Civil Registration. Additional instructions and practice activities are available:
- Alsace-Lorraine - Activity, Answer Key
- Alsace-Lorraine: Department Archive Records Online - Instruction
Gers is one of only three Departments of France that has not digitized and published all images of these records. They are beginning to digitize some of the records which can be found here. They expect to have everything online by 2021.
Microfilmed Church Records[edit | edit source]
The parish registers and civil registration for Gers have been microfilmed, but not digitized. Currently, they are being digitized, and plans are to complete that project by 2020. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.
- a. Click on this link to see a list of records for France, Gers.
- b. Click on "Places within France, Gers" and a list of towns and cities will open.
- c. Click on the town or city you wish to search.
- d. Click on "Church Records" topic. Click on the blue links to specific record titles.
- e. Choose the correct event and time period for your ancestor.
- f. Some combination of these icons will appear at the far right of the microfilm listed for the record. . The magnifying glass indicates that the microfilm is indexed. Clicking on the magnifying glass will take you to the index. Clicking on the camera will take you to an online digital copy of the microfilm.
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Here is the website for the Department Archives of Gers, where you can write for these records.
- Departmental Archives of the Gers
- 81 road Pessan
- BP 21-32001 AUCH CEDEX
- Departmental Archives of the Gers
Online Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records can support your search in civil and church records. They can help identify all family members. When families have similar names they help determine which children belong in each family. See France Census.
Online Local Databases and Extracted Records[edit | edit source]
Groups devoted to genealogy have also extracted and/or indexed records for specific localities, time periods, religious groups, etc. Since church records at the departmental archives are generally not indexed, you might find an index here that will speed up your searching.
- Tout en Un (All in One) Online Databases Check for online databases and records in right column. Check back occasionally to see if new databases have become available.
- Filae, index and images, ($).
- Tout en Un (All in One) Local Databases Here you may find extracted/translated records, record indexes, and other helpful records such as cemetery, land, or military records.
- Geneanet Collaborative Indexes Search by locality (parish or commune).
- Extracts of births, marriages, and deaths of the parish of Puycasquier
- 1542-1900 - France, Civil Registration, Various Communes, 1542-1900 at FamilySearch — index
Writing for Records[edit | edit source]
Online records tend to cover only the time before 100 years, due to privacy laws. You can write to civil registration offices and local churches who might honor requests for more recent records of close family members for the purpose of genealogy.
For a civil registration office, address your request to:
Monsieur l'officier de l'état-civil
Mairie de (Town)
(Postal code) (Town)
For a parish church:
Monsieur le Curé
(Church --see The Catholic Directory for church name and address)
(Town) (Postal Code) France
For other addresses and for help writing your request in French, use French Letter Writing Guide.
Learning to Read Enough French to Do Genealogy[edit | edit source]
It's easier than you think! You do not have to be fluent in French to use these records, as there is only a limited vocabulary used in them. By learning a few key phrases, you will be able to read them adequately. Here are some resources for learning to read French records.
During the reign of Napoleon, a different calendar was used. You will want to translate the dates written in these records back to normal Julian calendar dates. Charts in this article will help you:
- Alsace-Lorraine: Converting French Republican Calendar Dates - Instruction
There is a three-lesson course in reading handwriting in old French records:
- Reading French Handwritten Records Lesson 1: The French Alphabet,
- Reading French Handwritten Records Lesson 2: Key Words and Phrases
- Reading French Handwritten Records Lesson 3: Reading French Records
These lessons focus on reading church record and civil registration records:
Another resource is the French Records Extraction Manual, Full Manual. Much more is covered, but these first four lessons are especially useful.
- Chapter 1: OLD FRENCH RECORDS
- Chapter 2: PARISH CHRISTENING AND CIVIL BIRTH ENTRIES
- Chapter 3: MARRIAGE ENTRIES
- Chapter 4: OTHER ENTRIES
- Chapter 5: FRENCH HANDWRITING AND SPELLING
Some Catholic Church records will be written in Latin:
Search Strategy[edit | edit source]
- Search for the relative or ancestor you selected. When you find his birth record, search for the births of his brothers and sisters.
- Next, search for the marriage of his parents. The marriage record will have information that will often help you find the birth records of the parents.
- You can estimate the ages of the parents and search for their birth records.
- Search the death registers for all known family members.
- Repeat this process for both the father and the mother, starting with their birth records, then their siblings' births, then their parents' marriages, and so on.
- If earlier generations (parents, grandparents, etc.) do not appear in the records, search neighboring parishes.
Genealogical Societies and Help Groups[edit | edit source]
- Généalogie Gasconne Gersoise
- Entraide Généalogique du Midi Toulousain
- Siège social: 1, bis avenue Lamartine
- 31100 Toulouse
- Cercle Généalogique du Languedoc
- 18 rue de la Tannerie
- 31400 TOULOUSE
- Téléphone : 05 62 26 15 30
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Tout en Un Gers
- GenWeb, Gers Portal
- Cousins 32
- Geneanet Surname Search
- France Geneawiki Genealogical Sources includes instructional discussions of various records available.
- French Republican Calendar. This site will help you translate dates used by France from 24 October 1793 to 31 December 1805.
- There are parallel articles also available on the French Language Wiki. Because they are maintained by different authors, links may be added there that do not appear here. Generally, the articles translate automatically to English when accessed.
To access available information, first log into FamilySearch.