To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Gerrard's Cross, Buckinghamshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Gerrard's Cross, Buckinghamshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Gerrard's Cross, Buckinghamshire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Burnham; Stoke
County Buckinghamshire
Poor Law Union Eton
Registration District Amersham; Eton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1861; For more records see Chalfont St Peter, Fulmer, Iver, Langley Marish, and Upton cum Chalvey
Bishop's Transcripts: 1861
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Burnham
Diocese Pre-1837 - Lincoln; Post-1836 - Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Buckingham
Location of Archive
Buckinghamshire Record Office

Church History[edit | edit source]

GERRARDS-CROSS, a posting-village, in the parish of Chalfont St. Peter, union of Amersham, hundred of Burnham, county of Buckingham, 3¼ miles (E. by S.) from Beaconsfield.[1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Because Gerrard's Cross is a posting-village, look for church records in adjacent parishes. These include: Chalfont St Peter, Fulmer, Iver, Langley Marish, and Upton cum Chalvey.

Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]

None

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Buckinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Chalfont St Peter including Gerrard's Cross on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 287-291. Date accessed and adapted 11 June 2013.