To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Germansweek, Devon Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Germansweek, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Germansweek, Devon
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Lifton
County Devon
Poor Law Union Okehampton
Registration District Okehampton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1652
Bishop's Transcripts: 1608
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Tavistock
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Totnes
Location of Archive
Devon Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

GERMANS-WEEK (St. Germanus), a parish, in the union of Oakhampton, hundred of Lifton, Lifton and S. divisions of Devon, 11 miles (W. by S.) from Oakhampton. It comprises 1830 acres, of which 860 are waste land or common.[1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]

Baptist

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Germansweek on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 287-291. Date Accessed: 5 July 2013