Georgia, United States Genealogy
Guide to Georgia ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Georgia Wiki Topics|
|Local Research Resources|
- This article is about the U.S. state. For other uses, see Georgia.
Georgia Information[edit | edit source]
Georgia became the fourth state admitted to the United States in January 2, 1788. Georgia was created from Province of Georgia and is located in the southeast region of the United States. Atlanta is the capital and there are 159 counties in Georgia. 
Getting Started[edit | edit source]
Getting Started with Georgia Research
Links to articles on getting started with Georgia research.
Georgia Research Tools
Links to articles and websites that assist in Georgia research.
Georgia Clickable Map[edit | edit source]
Many genealogy records are kept on the county level in the United States. Click on a county below to go to the county Wiki article listing more information.
Counties[edit | edit source]
- Ben Hill
- Jeff Davis
Georgia Migration Routes[edit | edit source]
- Atlantic Coast Ports
- Augusta and Cherokee Trail
- Augusta-St. Augustine Trail
- Augusta-Savannah Trail
- Charleston-Ft. Charlotte Trail
- Charleston-Savannah Trail
- Cisca and St. Augustine Trail
- Coosa-Tugaloo Indian Warpath
- Fall Line Road
- Federal Horse Path
- Federal Road
- Fort Charlotte and Cherokee Old Path
- Fort Moore-Charleston Trail
- Georgia Road
- Great Valley Road
- King's Highway
- Lower Cherokee Traders' Path
- Lower Creek Trading Path
- Macon and Montgomery Trail
- Middle Creek Trading Path
- Nickajack Trail
- Occaneechi Path
- Old Cherokee Path
- Old Trading Path
- Savannah-Jacksonville Trail
- Savannah River
- Southern Road
- Tugaloo-Apalachee Bay Trail
- Unicoi Trail
- Upper Road
FamilySearch Resources[edit | edit source]
Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in researching your family.
- Facebook Communities - Facebook groups discussing genealogy research
- Learning Center - Online genealogy courses
- Historical Records - databases and record images on FamilySearch
- Family History Center locator map
Additional Resources[edit | edit source]
- Cyndi's List - Georgia genealogy sites on the internet
- Georgia Genealogy Trails - collection of transcribed data for the state of Georgia
- Access Genealogy – Genealogy guide for Georgia
- Ancestorhunt.com - resources for Georgia genealogy research
- Random Acts of Genealogical Kindness - Guide to Ancestry and Family Tree Records for Georgia
- Georgia Research Outline – Original Family History Library research outline; contains many out of date links
- Every Name Index
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "Georgia" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Georgia (accessed 15 March 2016).
- Wikipedia contributors, "List of US States by Date of Admission," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_U.S._states_by_date_of_admission_to_the_Union, accessed 1 Nov 2016.