Georgia, Reconstruction Registration Oath Books - FamilySearch Historical Records
|Access the Records|
Georgia, Reconstruction Registration Oath Books, 1867-1868
|This article describes a collection of records at FamilySearch.org.|
|Flag of Georgia|
|Location of Georgia|
|Record Type||Voter Registration Oath Books|
|Georgia Department of Archives and History|
- 1 What is in This Collection?
- 2 What Can These Records Tell Me?
- 3 Collection Content
- 4 How Do I Search This Collection?
- 5 What Do I Do Next?
- 6 Citing this Collection
- 7 How Can I Contribute to the FamilySearch Wiki?
What is in This Collection?[edit | edit source]
Voter registration oath books created by U.S. military officials stationed in Georgia after the Civil War of eligible voters. Registers typically contain each voters name, county of residence, date of registration, race, and an oath of allegiance to the United States. The oath of allegiance was required in order to register. Those who registered voted for delegates to the state constitutional convention. The Returns of Qualified Voters are available on film at the Family History Library include name, time if residence in state and naturalization information. The oath books are located at the Georgia Department of Archives and History in Atlanta. The oath books include:
- Date of registration
- County of residence
- Race is sometimes included
- Signature (Oath)of allegiance to the United States of the registrant
- Georgia, County Voter Registrations, 1856- 1909 This publication includes the 1867-1868 Return of Qualified Voters.
Image Visibility[edit | edit source]
Whenever possible FamilySearch makes images and indexes available for all users. However, rights to view these data are limited by contract and subject to change. Because of this there may be limitations on where and how images and indexes are available or who can see them. Please be aware some collections consist only of partial information indexed from the records and do not contain any images.
For additional information about image restrictions see Restrictions for Viewing Images in FamilySearch Historical Record Collections.
What Can These Records Tell Me?[edit | edit source]
The following information may be found in these records:
- The names of individuals
- The city and county where the person lived
- The race of the individual
Collection Content[edit | edit source]
Sample Image[edit | edit source]
How Do I Search This Collection?[edit | edit source]
Before searching this collection, it is helpful to know:
- The name of your ancestor
- The place where your ancestor lived
Search the Index[edit | edit source]Search by name by visiting the Collection Details Page.
- Fill in the search boxes in the Search Collection section with the information you know
- Click Search to show possible matches
How Do I Analyze the Results?[edit | edit source]
Compare each result from your search with what you know to determine if there is a match. This may require viewing multiple records or images. Keep track of your research in a research log.
What Do I Do Next?[edit | edit source]
When you have located your ancestor in the registration of oath books, carefully evaluate each piece of information about them. These pieces of information may give you new biographical details that can lead you to other records about your ancestors.
I Found the Person I Was Looking For, What Now?[edit | edit source]
- Add any new information to your records
- Use the information found in the oath books to locate your ancestor in census records
- Use the information found in the oath books to locate your ancestor in land records
- Use the information found in the oath books to locate your ancestor in additional state and county records
- Use the information found in the oath books to locate your ancestor in the Freedmen’s Bureau Records
I Can’t Find the Person I’m Looking For, What Now?[edit | edit source]
- Look for variant spellings of the names. You should also look for nicknames and abbreviated names
- Search the indexes and records of nearby counties
Research Helps[edit | edit source]
The following articles will help you in your research for your family in the state of Georgia.
Citing this Collection[edit | edit source]
Citations help you keep track of places you have searched and sources you have found. Identifying your sources helps others find the records you used.
The citation for this collection can be found on the Collection Details Page in the section Citing this Collection.
When looking at a record, the citation can be viewed by clicking the drop-down arrow next to Document Information.
How Can I Contribute to the FamilySearch Wiki?[edit | edit source]
|We welcome user additions to FamilySearch Historical Records wiki articles. We are looking for additional information that will help readers understand the topic and better use the available records. We also need translations for collection titles and images in articles about records written in languages other than English. For specific needs, please visit WikiProject FamilySearch Historical Records/Guidelines for Articles.|
Please follow these guidelines as you make changes. Thank you for any contributions you may provide.