Georgetown County, South Carolina, Genealogy
Guide to Georgetown County, South Carolina, Genealogy ancestry, family history and genealogy court records, deeds, maps, immigration, maps, military records, newspapers, obituaries, plantations, probate records, slaves, local archives, libraries, museums, churches, cemeteries, and Civil War records.
- From 1800 to 1868 this Georgetown County was also known by the alias of Georgetown District.
- Not to be confused with the overarching Georgetown District 1768-1800.
|Georgetown County, South Carolina|
Location in the state of South Carolina
Location of South Carolina in the U.S.
- 1 County Information
- 2 Georgetown County, South Carolina Record Dates
- 3 Georgetown County South Carolina Courthouse
- 4 Georgetown County South Carolina Historical Facts
- 5 Georgetown County South Carolina Places/Localities
- 6 Resources
- 6.1 Research Guides
- 6.2 African Americans
- 6.3 Biography
- 6.4 Cemeteries
- 6.5 Census
- 6.6 Church Records
- 6.7 Court
- 6.8 DNA
- 6.9 Genealogy
- 6.10 Immigration
- 6.11 Land
- 6.12 History
- 6.13 Maps
- 6.14 Military
- 6.15 Newspapers
- 6.16 Periodicals
- 6.17 Probate
- 6.18 Taxation
- 6.19 Vital Records
- 7 Georgetown County South Carolina Genealogy Archives, Libraries, Museums
- 8 Georgetown County South Carolina Genealogy Websites
- 9 Georgetown County South Carolina Genealogy References
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
It is named for George III of the United Kingdom. The County is located in the southeast area of the state.
Georgetown County, South Carolina Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Georgetown County South Carolina Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Georgetown County Courthouse
715 Prince St.
P.O. Box 1270
Georgetown, SC 29442
Georgetown County Clerk of Courts
401 Cleland St.,
1st Floor, Room 115
Georgetown, SC 29442
Georgetown County Probate Court
401 Cleland St., Room #140
Georgetown, SC 29442
Probate and marriage records.
Georgetown County Registrar of Deeds
129 Screven St., Room 109
Georgetown, SC 29442
8:30 a.m. - 5 p.m. Monday - Friday
Georgetown County South Carolina Historical Facts[edit | edit source]King George II of Great Britain (1683-1760). 
Parent County[edit | edit source]
County seat: Georgetown 
County Pronunciation[edit | edit source]
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
For animated maps illustrating South Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation South Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1682-1987) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
In 1862 during the Civil War, Georgetown's records were sent to Chesterfield courthouse for safekeeping. They were destroyed there by fire during General Sherman's Union army occupation of that city in March 1865. Deed books have suffered heavy record loss.
Georgetown County South Carolina Places/Localities[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
- South Carolina Archives Summary Guide: Georgetown County, available online, courtesy: South Carolina Department of Archives and History.
African Americans[edit | edit source]
Georgetown County, South Carolina African Americans (includes a detailed list of plantations)
- 271 slaves in the Estate of Wm. Mathewes of Georgetown, 1848 -- hosted for free at Fold3.com
Biography[edit | edit source]
- Porter, A. Toomer. Led On!: Step by Step; Scenes from Clerical, Military Educational, and Plantation Life in the South, 1828-1898; an Autobiography. New York, N.Y.: The Knickerbocker Press, 1898. FamilySearch Books Online; FHL Collection 1033568 Item 2.
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|See South Carolina Cemeteries for more information.|
- To view a cemetery list, see Georgetown County, South Carolina Cemeteries.
- National Cemetery Administration
Census[edit | edit source]
|Source: "American FactFinder". United States Census Bureau.|
1790, 1800, 1810, 1820, 1830, 1840, 1850, 1860, 1870, 1880, 1900, 1910, 1920, and 1930 federal population schedules of Georgetown County are available online. For tips on accessing census records online, see South Carolina Census. If you're having trouble finding your ancestors in online indexes, try checking printed indexes. Created by local experts familiar with the area's families, these indexes are often transcribed more accurately than online nationwide indexes.
See South Carolina Population Schedule Indexes: Fiche, Film, or Book for more information about statewide printed indexes.
1790[edit | edit source]
- Grant, Marvin A. 1790 Census Georgetown District South Carolina: A Full Transcription of the 1790 Census of the Georgetown District, South Carolina. Kinston, N.C.: M.A. Grant, 2004. FHL Collection 975.789 X2g 1790
1810[edit | edit source]
- Teel, Dorothy Owens and Three Rivers Historical Society (Hemingway, S.C.). The 1810 Census of Georgetown District and the 1810 Census of Horry District, South Carolina. 199-?. FHL Collection 975.78 X2t 1810
1850[edit | edit source]
- Three Rivers Historical Society. Georgetown County [South Carolina] 1850 Census. Hemingway, S.C.: Three Rivers Historical Society, 1985. FHL Collection 975.789 X2g 1850
1860[edit | edit source]
- Wyndham, Melissa J. The 1860 Census of Georgetown County, South Carolina. n.p.: n.p., n.d. FHL Collection 975.789 X2w
1880[edit | edit source]
- Tell, Dorothy Owens. 1880 Census, Georgetown County, South Carolina. Hemingway, S.C.: Three Rivers Historical Society (South Carolina), 1985. FHL Collection 975.789 X2t 1880
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Baptist[edit | edit source]
- Mitchell, Thomas R. An Oration Delivered in the Baptist Church in Georgetown, S.C. on Wednesday, the 24th of June, 1818: In Commemoration of St. John the Baptist: By Appointment of the Members of Winyaw Lodge No. 69, Ancient Free Masons. Georgetown, S.C.: Winyaw Intelligence Press, 1818. Digital version at Internet Archive.
Episcopal Church[edit | edit source]
Before 1785, residents of what is now Georgetown County were served by these colonial parishes.
After 1785, residents of Georgetown County were also served by this parish. Click the link to see a description of the parish records held by the South Carolina Historical Society:
The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints[edit | edit source]
Ward and Branch Records of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
Methodist[edit | edit source]
Court[edit | edit source]
DNA[edit | edit source]
Genealogy[edit | edit source]
This bibliography will eventually identify all known family histories published about residents of this county. Use this list to:
- Locate publications about direct ancestors
- Find the most updated accounts of an ancestor's family
- Identify publications, to quote Elizabeth Shown Mills, about an ancestor's "FAN Club" (Friends, Associates, and Neighbors)
Surname indexes to Leonardo Andrea's Files | Folders | Resources are available online, courtesy: The Andrea Files: South Carolina Genealogical Research. Learn more.
- Fairbourn, Joann Carroll. Georgetown Families Containing Families Living in Georgetown, South Carolina, 1750-1850. Austin, Texas: J.C. Fairbourn, n.d. FHL 975.789/G1 D2f
- Georgetown County, SC Family History and Genealogy Message Board (Ancestry)
- Georgetown County, SC Genealogy Forum (GenForum)
- Andress - Andress, Gerald McCormack, Guy Andress, and Mary F. Andress. The Andress Family. Welland, Ontario: G. Andress, (1985?). FHL Collection 929.271 An25a
- Baxter - Baxter, Lionel Francis and John William Baxter. A Baxter Family from South Carolina: Scotch-Irish Pioneers from Ulster. Los Altos, Calif.: J.W. Baxter, 1989. FHL Collection 929.273 B335b
- Bingham - Marsh, Mary Bingham. Bingham or Bigham - Ancestry and De[s]cendants of James Bingham or Bigham Sr. of Marion District, S.C. Hemingway, S.C.: Three Rivers Historical Society, 1995. FHL Collection 929.273 B513ma
- Bird - Haidek, Martha Da Lee. The Descendants of Stephen, Jeptha, and Moses Byrd: From South Carolina and Alabama to Texas. Oklahoma City, Okla.: M. Haidek, 1994. FHL Collection 929.273 B996hm
- Bossard - Riggs, Lucie Donalson and Earl M. Richards. Genealogical Data on Bossard, Bosart, Buzzard, Halsey, Henshaw and Shackleford Families, ca. 1574-ca. 1941. MSS. Microfilmed 1967. FHL Collection 483562 Item 3
- Coggeshall - Coggeshall, Robert Walden. Ancestors and Kin: Coggeshall (Throckmorton, Billings, Collin, Cahoone), Pawley (Shorey, Alston, Temple, Neville), Wilds (Lide, Kolb, Terrel, Pledger), Walden (Caldwell), Hanson (Hage, Lupient, Crely, Benter), Thomas (Wailes, Howard, Fullwood, Gray), Pennington (McDade), Chaplin (Ladson, Stanyarne, Fripp, Toomer), Palmer (Bellinger, Sams, Brewton, Barnwell), Ebbett (Barnes, Frye, Putnam, Rogers). Spartanburg, S.C.: R.W. Coggeshall, 1988. FHL Collection 929.273 C656cr
- Dubose - Wells, Laurence K. "A Note on the Dubose Family," The South Carolina Magazine of Ancestral Research, Vol. 15, No. 2 (Spring 1987):111-112. FHL Book 975.7 B2sc v. 15
- Durant - Andrea, Leonardo. Durant. Typescript, 1961, Polk County Historical Library, Bartow, Fla. FHL Collection 978080 Item 2
- Edwards - Hargrett, Felix. The Edwards Family of Tattnall County and Bryan County, Georgia: A Sketch: With Notices of Allied Families, Mikell, O'Neill, Sands, Archer. Athens, Ga.: Georgian Press, 1984. FHL Collection 929.273 A1 no. 4429
- Ford - Patillo, Edward. "Ford of the Low Country," The South Carolina Magazine of Ancestral Reseach, Vol. 32, No. 2 (Spring 2004):63-72; Vol. 32, No. 3 (Summer 2004):133-142; Vol. 33, No. 1 (Winter 2005):44-52. FHL Book 975.7 B2sc v. 32-33
- Gibbons - Hersperger, Laura Gibbons. Michael Gibbons of South Carolina and His Descendants: History and Genealogy of the Gibbons Family and Related Families. Ann Arbor, Mich.: McNaughton-Gunn, Inc., 1988. FHL Collection 929.273 G352h
- Gourdin - Gourdin, John Raymond. Gourdin the History and Genealogy of a French-African-American Family from Georgetown County, South Carolina (1830-1994). Baltimore, Md.: Gateway Press, 1995. FHL Collection 929.273 G742gj
- Green - Green, W. Hughson. The Green Family of South Carolina: An Account of Some of the Ancestors and Descendants of Major John Thompson Green of the American Revolution and, in Particular, an Account of the Descendants of William Green (Second Son of Major John Thompson Green), Who Married Eliza McDonald: Together with an Account of Some of the Ancestors of Eliza McDonald and Some of the Ancestors of Her Mother, Elizabeth English. [Spartanburg, S.C.]: W.H. Green, 1958. FHL Collection 929.273 G823a
- Hamil - Hamil, Betty. From Ireland to Texas (History of the Hamil Family). Abilene, Texas: B. Hamil, 1984. FHL Collection 929.273 H18hb
- Jones - The Jones, Skipper and Davis Family of England, Wales and America. Reprint, Salem, Mass.: Higginson Genealogical Books, 199_? FHL Collection 929.273 A1 no. 7120
- Lewis - Lewis, J.D. My Neck of the Woods: The Lewis Families of Southeastern North Carolina and Northeastern South Carolina. Little River, S.C.: J.D. Lewis, 2002. FHL Book 929.273 L585Ljd; CD-ROM no. 1036
- Marion - Salley, A.S. Belle Island Plantation. Typescript. Microfilmed 1974. FHL Collection 954251 Item 6
- Potts - Revised Pedigree, Potts of Georgetown, S.C. MSS., South Carolina Historical Society, Charleston, S.C. Microfilmed 1952. FHL 22795 Item 28
- Rigdon - Gillett, Jean Thomson. Descendants of Ephraim Rigdon and the Southern Migration. 1998. FHL Collection 929.273 R448g
- Rogers - Brown, William Morgan. Rogers--Rodgers Family Newsletter. Archbold, Ohio: W.M. Brown, 1997-. FHL Collection 929.27305 R631rr
- Stanley - Guttery, Florence and Mrs. John McQueen Guttery. Stanley and Kindred Families. Jasper, Ala.: F. & J.M. Guttery, 1960. FHL Collection 929.273 St25g
- Swan - Pearce, Helen Thomas. Swan Family Record. Typescript, National Library, D.A.R. Microfilmed 1971. FHL Collection 875395 Item 8
- White - Strawn, Anne White. The Ancestors and Descendants of John White and Sarah Elizabeth Green: With Allied Lines. Spartanburg, S.C.: A.W. Strawn, 1984. FHL Collection 929.273 W584s
Immigration[edit | edit source]
- Bridwell, Ronald E. "... That We Should Have a Port..." A History of the Port of Georgetown, South Carolina, 1732-1865. 2 vols. Georgetown, S.C.: The Georgetown Times, 1982. Volume I reviewed by Arthur P. Wade, The South Carolina Historical Magazine, Vol. 84, No. 3 (Jul., 1983), p. 182; digital version at JSTOR ($). Volume II reviewed in The South Carolina Historical Magazine, Vol. 92, No. 3 (Jul., 1991), p. 224; digital version at JSTOR ($).
- 1904-1942 - South Carolina, Georgetown, Passenger Lists, 1904-1942 at FamilySearch — index and images
Early migration routes to and from Georgetown County for European settlers included:
Land[edit | edit source]
Because of South Carolina’s history as an agricultural state many residents owned land. For more information about types of land records see South Carolina Land and Property. Tracing records through South Carolina county and district changes can be difficult. In general, for earliest records begin by searching the Charleston District, then your ancestor’s residential district, then neighboring districts, then the residential county, then neighboring counties. Not all districts and counties kept records. The following chart show where you may best expect to find land records for Georgetown County:
|1769-1864||Georgetown District Records Lost|
|1710-1719||Proprietary Land Grants|
Plats For State Land Grants 1784-1868
This series consists of recorded copies of plats for state land grants for the Charleston and the Columbia Series with their certificates of admeasurement or certification. All personal names and geographic features on these plats are included in the repository's On-line Index to Plats for State Land Grants
The South Carolina Constitution of 1790 required the surveyor general to maintain offices in both the new capital at Columbia and in Charleston. The surveyor general began to use separate volumes for recording plats in his Columbia office in 1796. Before that, all plats were recorded in the set of volumes begun in Charleston in 1784. After 1796, most plats for land grants in the Upper Division of the state were recorded and filed in Columbia. The surveyor general chose to make the Columbia volumes a continuation of the state plat volumes begun in Charleston and gave the initial Columbia volume the number thirty-six to correspond with the number of the volume that had then been reached in the Charleston series. As a result, there are volumes numbered thirty-six through forty-three from each office, but the records in them are not duplicative.
Also included are the Plan Books containing Plats and Plans.
History[edit | edit source]
- Bull, Henry DeSaussure. The Society of Colonial Wars in the State of South Carolina. 1935. Digital version at Internet Archive. [Address about the history of Colonial Georgetown.]
- Rogers, George C. The History of Georgetown County, South Carolina. Columbia, S.C.: University of South Carolina Press, 1970.
- Gregg, Alexander. History of the Old Cheraws : Containing an Account of the Aborigines of the Pedee, the First White Settlements, their Subsequent Progress, Civil Changes, the Struggle of the Revolution, and the Growth of the Country Afterward, Extending from About A.D. 1730 to 1810 with Notices of Families and Sketches of Individuals (Baltimore, Maryland : Genealogical Pub. Co., 1967 ), 629 pages. Book at FHL 975.7 F2g 1967
- Rogers, George C. The History of Georgetown County, South Carolina (Columbia, South Carolina : University of South Carolina Press, c1970 ), 565 pages. Book found at FHL 975.789 H2r and Other Libraries
Maps[edit | edit source]
Military[edit | edit source]
War of 1812[edit | edit source]
- List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. [See Vol. 5, South Carolina, Georgetown County, p. 185. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.]
Civil War[edit | edit source]
- 1861-1865 - South Carolina Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861-1865 - U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1861-1865 - U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
Regiments. Civil War service men from Georgetown County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Georgetown County:
- - 2nd Regiment, South Carolina Artillery, Company D
- - 4th Regiment, South Carolina Cavalry (Rutledge's), Company D, Company E, Company F, and Company I
- - 5th Regiment, South Carolina Cavalry (Ferguson's), Company E
- - 7th Battalion, South Carolina Reserves (Ward's), Company F Roster
- - 7th Regiment, South Carolina Cavalry , Company A and Company F
- - 9th Battalion, South Carolina infantry (Smith's) (Pee Dee Legion), Company G
- - 10th Regiment, South Carolina Infantry, Company A (also known as Georgetown Rifle Guards) Roster, Roster
- - 10th Regiment South Carolina Volunteer Infantry. Internet site. Gives a brief history of the regiment and a roster for Company A.
- - Company A, 10th South Carolina Infantry Regiment Marker. Historical Marker Database. Internet site. Gives information about the marker and shows pictures.
- - 15th Regiment, South Carolina Infantry, Company G and Wm. Mcagne Company (also known as Carvers Bay Palmetto Rifle Guards)
- - South Carolina State Troop Regiments Seed Corn Units, Junior Reserves, 3rd Regiment, South Carolina State Troops Junior Reserves (State Militia)
- Rogers, George C. The History of Georgetown County, South Carolina, (Columbia, South Carolina : University of South Carolina Press, c1970 ), 565 pages. Civil War pages 387-415. Book found at FHL 975.789 H2r and Other Libraries
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
The Library of Congress has identified the following historic newspapers for Georgetown County, South Carolina on their Chronicling America website. For publication details, including dates of publication, frequency, preceding and succeeding titles, and to find out which libraries have holdings, click on the newspaper title.
- Carolina American, and Georgetown Gazette (Georgetown, S.C.) 1813-181?.
- Coastal Observer (Pawleys Island, S.C.) 1982-current.
- Comet and News (Georgetown, S.C.) 1877-1878.
- Daily American (Georgetown, S.C.) 1973-1973.
- Georgetown Advocate (Georgetown, S.C.) 1902-1905.
- Georgetown American (Georgetown, S.C.) 1839-1841.
- Georgetown Gazette (Georgetown, S.C.) 1801-1810. Search online at GenealogyBank.com ($); search 1801-1810 online at Google News - free.
- Georgetown Gazette (Georgetown, [S.C.]) 1823-1826. Search online at GenealogyBank.com ($)
- Georgetown Gazette, and Commercial Advertiser (Georgetown, S.C.) 1806-1812. Search online at GenealogyBank.com ($)
- Georgetown Times-Index (Georgetown, S.C.) 1920-1921.
- Georgetown Union (Georgetown, S.C.) 1830-18??.
- Journal American (Georgetown, S.C.) 1973-1975.
- The Andrews News (Andrews, S.C.) 1918-1924.
- The Andrews News (Andrews, S.C.) 1949-1950.
- The Andrews Star (Andrews, S.C.) 1954-1958.
- The Carolina Field (Georgetown, S.C.) 1905-1906.
- The Coastal Chronicle (Andrews, S.C.) 1922-1927.
- The Georgetown Chronicle, and South-Carolina Advertiser (Georgetown, S.C.) 1797-179?.
- The Georgetown Chronicle: and South-Carolina Weekly Advertiser (Georgetown, S.C.) 179?-1797.
- The Georgetown Comet (Georgetown, S.C.) 1874-1877.
- The Georgetown Daily Item (Georgetown, S.C.) 1907-1913.
- The Georgetown Enquirer (Georgetown, S.C.) 1880-1889.
- The Georgetown Gazette (Georgetown [S.C.]) 1798-1806. Search online at GenealogyBank.com ($)
- The Georgetown Gazette, and Mercantile Advertiser (Georgetown, S.C.) 1815-1817.
- The Georgetown Herald (Georgetown, S.C.) 1918-1918.
- The Georgetown Index (Georgetown, S.C.) 1920-1920.
- The Georgetown Planet (Georgetown, S.C.) 1873-1875. Search online at GenealogyBank.com ($)
- The Georgetown Times (Georgetown, S.C.) 1866-1878.
- The Georgetown Times (Georgetown, S.C.) 1880-1920.
- The Georgetown Times (Georgetown, S.C.) 1921-current.
- The Grand Strand Journal American (Georgetown, S.C.) 1973-1973.
- The Harvest (Georgetown, [S.C.]) 1827-18??.
- The Harvest (Georgetown, S.C.) 1828-18??.
- The Outlook (Georgetown, S.C.) 1901-1901.
- The Pee Dee Times (Georgetown, S.C.) 1853-1861.
- The Progressive Democrat (Georgetown, S.C.) 1913-1916.
- The South-Carolina Independent Gazette; and Georgetown Chronicle (Georgetown, S.C.) 1791-179?. Search online at GenealogyBank.com ($)
- The Sunday Outlook (Georgetown, S.C.) 1901-1913.
- The Times and Comet (Georgetown, S.C.) 1878-1880.
- The True Republican (Georgetown, S.C.) 1849-1852.
- Winyaw Intelligencer (Georgetown, S.C.) 1817-1835. Search online at GenealogyBank.com ($)
- Winyah Observer (Georgetown, S.C.) 1841-1852.
Eighteenth-century South Carolina newspapers contain a wealth of information about residents. The Early South Carolina Newspapers Database (ESCN Database) has created an every-name index to the three largest newspapers for the years 1732 to 1780. Using their free online Surname Database , researchers may order a list of specific newspaper references from the organization for a very reasonable rate. Another (and possibly better) source for this information is Accessible Archives' South Carolina Newspapers Collection.
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Tap into the minds of local experts. Editors of genealogical periodicals publish unique sources that researchers new to their area may not encounter. Periodicals at various levels (county, region, and state) may carry articles useful to research in this area. For this county, see:
- South Carolina Magazine of Ancestral Research
Probate[edit | edit source]
Probate is the “court procedure by which a will is proved to be valid or invalid” and encompasses “all matters and proceedings pertaining to the administration of estates, guardianships, etc.” Various types of records are created throughout the probate process. These may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information see probate records in South Carolina.
Abstracts of wills, Georgetown County, South Carolina: will books A and B [ca. 1838-1929] By Elizabeth J. Ashford ; transcribed by Dorothy O. Teel. FHL Book 975.789 P2a
Online Probate Records
- 1670-1980 - South Carolina Wills and Probate Records 1670-1980 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1671-1977 - South Carolina Carolina Probate Records, Bound Volumes 1671-1977 at FamilySearch — images
- 1732-1964 - South Carolina Probate Records, Files and Loose Papers 1732-1964 at FamilySearch — images
- 1782-1866 - South Carolina, Will Transcripts 1782-1866 at findmypast — $, index
- Georgetown County Probate Records, 1789-1864, courtesy SCGenWeb.
- Yauhannah Wills, 1789-1826, courtesy SCGenWeb.
Taxation[edit | edit source]
Tax-related records are kept by the offices of the county Assessor, Auditor, Sheriff, and Treasurer. Taxes were levied on real and personal property and can help establish ages, residences, relationships, and the year an individual died or left the area. They can be used as substitutes for missing or destroyed land and census records.
- South Carolina Department of Archives and History tax lists for Georgetown County.
- 1786 - "1786 Tax Returns," The South Carolina Magazine of Ancestral Research, Vol. 11, No. 1 (Winter 1983):33-39. FHL Book 975.7 B2sc v. 11
- 1787 - 1787 Georgetown District Tax List, available online, courtesy: Georgetown South Carolina Genealogy website. (Yauhannah, Prince George Parish)
- 1825- 1825 Georgetown District Tax List, available online, courtesy: Georgetown South Carolina Genealogy website. (Prince George Parish)
- 1825 - 1825 Georgetown District Tax List, available online, courtesy: Georgetown South Carolina Genealogy website. (All Saints Parish)
- 1905 - Andrea, Leonardo. Tax Payers (Commutation Tax) in Georgetown County for 1905. Typescript, microfilmed 1974. FHL Film 954252 Item 8
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriage, and death records were not recorded by South Carolina until the 1900s, thus leaving a lack of vital records. Substitute records, when available, are used to obtain this information. These substitute records including newspapers, court records have been added to this section, when applicable.
Birth[edit | edit source]
State-wide birth registration began in 1915. For a copy of a birth from 1915 or later, contact the South Carolina Department of Health. The Georgetown County Health Department also has copies but they provide only an abbreviated form with limited information. For more information, see the South Carolina Vital Records page.
- 1766-1900 - South Carolina, Delayed Birth Certificates, 1766-1900 at FamilySearch — images
Marriage[edit | edit source]
In South Carolina, marriage licenses were not required by local governments until 1 July 1911. However, in the 1700s, the Church of England parish churches were required to record all marriages - even if the couple were not members of the denomination. Not all churches recorded these marriages and some have not survived. See South Carolina Vital Records for more information.
The Georgetown County probate court holds marriage licenses issued from 1 July 1911 to the present. Statewide registration of marriages began in July 1950 and the South Carolina Division of Vital Records has copies of licenses issued after 1 July 1950 through November 2009.
Newspapers are used as a substitute to locate marriage information. See South Carolina Newspapers.
Marriages - Indexes
- 1791-1861 - Marriage, Death, and Estate Notices from Georgetown, South Carolina Newspapers, 1791-1861 by Brent H. Holcomb  FHL Collection WorldCat
- There are several online marriage indexes containing miscellaneous marriage records found in some counties of South Carolina listed on the South Carolina Vital Records page.
Death[edit | edit source]
State-wide death registration began in 1915. For a copy of the death certificates from 1915 or later, contact the South Carolina Department of Health. The Georgetown County Health Department only has copies for deaths occurring in the last 5 years. For more information, see the South Carolina Vital Records page.
Deaths - Indexes and Records
- 1915-1965 - South Carolina Deaths, 1915-1965 at FamilySearch — index and images
- State-wide South Carolina Death Indexes. There are several online death indexes covering all of South Carolina listed on the South Carolina Vital Records page.
Georgetown County South Carolina Genealogy Archives, Libraries, Museums[edit | edit source]
Libraries[edit | edit source]
The Georgetown County Public Library System has four branches which are listed below.
To view their catalog online Click Here.
Their Digital Library contains collections of digitized photographs.
They offer their patrons access to a Digital Media Library through the Palmetto Library Consortium where they can download audio and e-books.
Georgetown County Library - Main Branch
405 Cleland Street,
Georgetown, South Carolina 29440
Hours: Monday to Thursday 9:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m., Friday to Saturday 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Sunday (Sept. - May) 2:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m.
The Patricia Doyle Local History Room of the Georgetown County Public Library provides access to information regarding the history of Georgetown County and the genealogy of its citizens. It has county, state, and federal censuses, cemetery and burial records, obituaries, and a variety of newspapers on microfilm. There are also vertical files on a variety of topics, enlarged photographs from their Digital Library, area high school yearbooks, and city directories.
Waccamae Neck Branch
24 Commerce Lane
Pawley's Island, South Carolina 29585
Hours: Monday to Wednesday 9:00 am to 6:00 p.m., Thursday 9:00 a. m. to 7:00.pm., Friday to Saturday 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
105 North Morgan, Andrews, South Carolina 29510
Hours: Monday 11:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m., Tuesday 10:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m., Wednesday 11:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m., Thursday 10:00 a.m., to- 6:00 p.m, Friday 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Saturday 9:00 a.m.to 1:00 p.m.
Carcers Bay Branch
13048 Choppee Road
Hemingway, South Carolina 29554-3318
Hours: Tuesday 11:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m., Wednesday 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Thursday toFriday 11:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m., Saturday 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.
- For current information about a center near you, go to the Family History Center Map
- Georgetown South Carolina Family History Center
Pringle Ferry Rd
Georgetown, Georgetown, South Carolina, United States
Attention: Does not have film circulation.
Museums[edit | edit source]
See information about the Georgetown County Museum below in connection with the Georgetown Historical Society.
Societies - Genealogical, Historical, Lineage[edit | edit source]
Georgetown County Historical Society
632 Prince Street
Georgetown, South Carolina 29440
The Georgetown County Historical Society operates the Georgetown County Museum and shares the same facility.
Georgetown County Museum
632 Prince Street
Georgetown SC 29440
Email for both the historical society and the museum: info@GeorgetownCountyMuseum.com
Museum Hours: Tues to Sat. 10:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
The museum has collections of artifacts and memorabilia of Native Americans, slavery, plantation life, and military, to name a few. They have a photo gallery. The museum has commissioned a series of oral/video histories from prominent senior citizens of Georgetown.
Georgetown County South Carolina Genealogy Websites[edit | edit source]
- Georgetown County, SC History, Records, Facts and Genealogy (Genealogy Inc)
- Georgetown County, SCGenWeb
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Georgetown County, South Carolina Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Georgetown County Website
Georgetown County South Carolina Genealogy References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "Georgetown County, South Carolina" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Georgetown_County,_South_Carolina." accessed 27/06/2019
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Georgetown County, South Carolina. Page 611-615 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 607-608.
- "List of counties in South Carolina," Wikipedia.
- "The Counties from 1664 to Present - In Alphabetical Order"
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Voice of Phillip Stalvey, resident of Myrtle Beach, S.C. (2011).
- "South Carolina Districts and Parishes 1770" [map] in Carolana at http://www.carolana.com/SC/Royal_Colony/sc_royal_colony_districts_parishes_1770.html (accessed 11 May 2011).
- Hugh Wallis, IGI Batch Numbers for South Carolina, USA, accessed 14 September 2010.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 847-61. (FHL Book 973 D27e 2002) WorldCat entry., and William E. Myer, Indian Trails of the Southeast. (Nashville, Tenn.: Blue and Gray Press, 1971), 12-14, and the book's pocket map "The Trail System of the Southeastern United States in the early Colonial Period" (1923). (FHL Book 970.1 M992i) WorldCat entry.
- Schweitzer, George K. , South Carolina Genealogical Research (Knoxville, Tennessee: s.p. 1985), 39-42, FHL book 975.7 D27s
- Henry Campbell Black, Black's Law Dictionary, 5th ed. (St. Paul, Minnesota: West Publishing Co., 1979), 1081, "probate."
- Holcomb, Brent H., Marriage, Death, and Estate Notices from Georgetown, South Carolina Newspapers, 1791-1861, Easley, SC: Southern Historical Press, c1979.