Genesee County, Michigan Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Genesee County, Michigan)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Michigan Genealogy
Genesee County

Guide to Genesee County, Michigan ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

Genesee County, Michigan
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Michigan
Location of Michigan in the U.S.
Facts
Founded March 28, 1835
County Seat Flint
Courthouse
Address Genesee County Courthouse
900 S Saginaw St.
Flint, MI 48502
Phone: (810) 257-3225
Genesee County Website


County Information

Genesee County, Michigan Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1867 1835 1867 1820 1819 1836

County Courthouse


County Clerk has birth and death from 1867,
marriage and court records from 1835
and divorce records from 1890.
Probate Judge holds probate records from 1954-present.

Probate records from 1836-1953 are housed at the the Genesee Historical Collections Center

Land Records are located at the County Administration Building
Cemetery custodians have burial records. [2]

History

Genesee County is located northwest of the Detroit area and is north of Livingston County and Oakland County. It has a number of communities, including Grand Blanc, Burton, Mundy Township, Davison, and the county seat is Flint.

Parent County

1835--Genesee County was created 28 March 1835 from Lapeer, Saginaw and Shiawassee Counties. County seat: Flint [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Michigan county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Michigan County Boundary Maps" (1790-1897) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Lapeer  • Livingston  • Oakland  • Saginaw  • Shiawassee  • Tuscola

Error: Image is invalid or non-existent.


Resources

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
USGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
MIGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
MIInterment
MIGravestones
EPodunk
Billion Graves
See Michigan Cemeteries for more information.

Census

State Census

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Michigan denominations, view the Michigan Church Records wiki page.

LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • Flint

Court

Emigration and Immigration

Land

  • Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Michigan Land and Property for additional information about early Michigan land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.1835-Present - Land Records housed at County Administration Building

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Genesee County, Michigan Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Michigan Local Histories.

Maps

Migenesee.jpg

Military

Civil War

Civil War service men from Genesee County served in various regiments. Men often joined a regiment or a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are the military units that were formed in or had many men from Genesee County.

-

Newspapers

Finding More Michigan Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Genesee County, Michigan Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Probate

  • 1836-1953-Probate records are housed at the the Genesee Historical Collections Center, Room 227, Frances Willson Thompson Library, University of Michigan, Flint.
  • 1953-Present-Probate records are available from Probate Judge.

Online Probate Records

Taxation

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased as shown below:

Birth Records and Death Records from the Michigan Department of Community Health (from 1867) or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
Marriage Records (from 1867) and Divorce Records (from 1897) from the County Clerk.

Birth
Marriage
Death
  • 1867-1897 - Michigan Death Registrations, 1867-1897 --  Free name indexes and images at FamilySearch.   Records include such information as name of deceased, date and place of death, gender, color, marital status, age in years, months and days, disease or apparent cause of death, birthplace, names and occupations of parents, and the date the record was made.
  • 1897-1952 - Michigan Death Certificates --Free digitized death certificates at SeekingMichigan.org. Database searchable by first name, last name, death date, father's name, and county.

Societies and Libraries

Flint Genealogical Society
PO Box 1217
Flint, MI 48501
Telephone: (810) 694-1445
E-mail:Info@flintgenealogy.org
Website

Flint Public Library

1026 E. Kearsley

Flint, MI 48503

Telephone: (810)232-7111

Website

Flint Public Library is home to the second largest open stack genealogical collection in Michigan.

Genesee Historical Collections Center

Room 227, Frances Willson Thompson Library

University of Michigan, Flint

Flint, MI 48502

Telephone: (810) 762-3402

Website

Perry Archives of the Sloan Museum

1221 E. Kearsley Street

Flint, Michigan 48503

Telephone: (810) 237-3440

E-mail: [[1]]

Website

Written email appointments are strongly encouraged. Archive contains large newspaper collection, family journals, and funeral home records.

Family History Centers

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites

References

  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 369-384. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Genessee County, Michigan page 345, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).