General San Martín, La Rioja, Argentina Genealogy
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Guide to Department of General San Martín ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, church records, parish registers, and civil registration.
History[edit | edit source]
- When the Spaniards began colonization in the territory of the current province of La Rioja there were native peoples belonging to the Diaguita culture, which were distributed in three communities: Capayanes, Olongasta and Diaguitas.
- In 1869 the first school in official operation was inaugurated in Villa San Martín (now Ulapes).
- The department of General San Martín has a population of approximately 5,000 people. 
Parish Records[edit | edit source]
- Iglesia Católica. Nuestra Señora del Rosario (Ulapes, La Rioja) Registros parroquiales, 1847-1927 - Click on the link to see the records’ availability.
Census Records[edit | edit source]
- Primer Censo Nacional, 1869 : General San Martín (Departamento), La Rioja - Click on the link to see the records’ availability.
- 2º Censo Nacional, 1895 : General Sarmiento, actualmente Vinchina (Departamento) y General San Martín (Departamento), La Rioja - Click on the link to see the records’ availability.
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
- Cementerio de Ulapes
Municipalities[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia Collaborators, "Departamento General San Martín (La Rioja)," In Wikipedia: The Free Encyclopedia, https://es.wikipedia.org/wiki/Departamento_General_San_Mart%C3%ADn_(La_Rioja). Visited November 27, 2017.