To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Geltsdale, Cumberland Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Geltsdale, Cumberland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Geltsdale, Cumberland
Type Extra-parochial
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Eskdale
County Cumberland
Poor Law Union Brampton
Registration District Brampton
Records begin
Parish registers: For records see surrounding parishes
Bishop's Transcripts: For records see surrounding parishes
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not Applicable
Diocese Not Applicable
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Search the courts of the surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Cumberland Record Office

History[edit | edit source]

GELTSDALE FOREST, a tract in Cumberland, traversed by the river Gelt, and noticed in the preceding article. It belonged formerly to Henham priory; and belongs now to the Earl of Carlisle.[1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Geltsdale is an extra-parochial place. Search surrounding parishes for records and information.

Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]

None

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales Date accessed and adapted 30 July 2013.