To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Geiranger Parish, Møre og Romsdal, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Geiranger, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Geiranger Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift/Bispedømme/Diocese add here
Prosti add here
Len 1599-1660 Trondheim
Amt 1689-1919 1660-1675: Romsdal, 1675-1680: Nordfjord og Sunnmøre, 1680-1689: Bergenhus, 1689-1919: Romsdal
Fylke 1919-Present 1919-1935: Romsdal, 1935-: Møre og Romsdal
Region add here
Prestegjeld Sunnelven
Kommune add here
Skifteretten add here
Tinglag Sunnelven
Fogderi Søndmør
Sorenskriveri Nordre Søndmør
Skipreide add here


Church Records[edit | edit source]

See Norddal clerical district for records before 1861.

See Sunnylven clerical district for records after 1861.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

1664-1666, see Ørskog

1701, see Sunnylven

1801, see Norddal

1865, 1875, 1900, 1910 see Sunnylven

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Land Records[edit | edit source]

Farm Books[edit | edit source]

Lillebø, Petter Andreas, Lillebø, Aamund and Karbø, Ingebrigt,Sunnylven og Geiranger, Hellesylt : Tryggestads Prenteverk, 1949-1972. A history of Sunnylven and Geiranger in Sunnylven clerical district in Møre og Romsdal county and a genealogy of the people and their farms. FHL 948.35/S3 H2L A farm name index to volume 2 is found in the following link. File:948.35-S3 H2L v2 - Sunnylven 2.pdf

Farm Names[edit | edit source]

52 Aarset,

59 Bakkene, 68 Blomberg, 50 Bringen,

62 Flydalen,

66 Gjeitflaaen, 63 Gjørva, 51 Gomsdalen, 55 Grande,

59 Hole, 59 Hole, 48 Horvedrag, 62 Hovedtøftene, 64 Humlung,

49 Knivsflaa,

67 Ljøsuren,

56 Maraak, 54 Møll, 53 Mølsæter,

61 Oplendskedal,

70 Rindene,

65 Skageflaaen, 69 Syltevik, 69 Sylteviklien,

58 Vesteraas, 57 Vinje,

60 Ørjasæteren

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

1689-1801: Probates are found in Sunnmøre judicial district.

1791-1852: Probates are found in Nordre Sunnmøre judicial district.

1707-1807: Clerical probates are found in Sunnmøre Deanery

Taxation Records[edit | edit source]

Ekstraskatten 1762 for Sunnylven og Geiranger sokn

References[edit | edit source]

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names