Gedney Hill, Lincolnshire Genealogy
Guide to Gedney Hill, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Gedney Hill, Lincolnshire|
Holy+Trinity Gedney+Hill Lincolnshire
|Poor Law Union||Holbeach|
|Parish registers: 1693; For more records see Gedney|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1563|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Lincolnshire Record Office|
Parish History =[edit | edit source]
Gedney Hill is a civil parish and the ecclesiasticl parish was formed originally from a chapelry of neighbouring mother parish Gedney, Lincolnshire. Part of the parish boundary forms the county boundary with Thorney Abbey, Cambridgeshire
Gedney Hill is also known as Fen End locally and the Old South Eau Drain canal forms the county boundary.
The Church of Holy Trinity formed a separate ecclesiasatical parish in the sixteenth century; Bishop's Transcripts date from 1563 parish registers from 1693.
A General Baptist chapel was built at Gedney Hill in 1883.
GEDNEY-HILL, or Gedney-Fen, a parish, in the union of Holbeach, wapentake of Elloe, parts of Holland, county of Lincoln, 6¾ miles (E.) from Crowland. 
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
This parish was part of Holbeach sub-district in Holbeach registration district
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Gedney Hill parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Gedney Hill Online Parish Records|
|FMP Marr Index||1700-1837|
|FS Catalog PRs|
|FS Catalog BTs|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Records are also available at the Lincolnshire Archives.
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 287-291. Date accessed: 21 August 2013.