Gateshead, Durham Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Gateshead, Durham family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Gateshead, Durham
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Chester
County Durham
Poor Law Union Gateshead
Registration District Gateshead
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1769
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Chester le Street
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Durham Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

GATESHEAD (St. Mary), a borough and parish, and the head of a union, locally in Chester ward, N division of the county of Durham, 14 miles N by W from Durham. There are places of worship for Wesleyans, Primitive Methodists, Methodists of the New Connexion, Independents, and Presbyterians.[1]

Additional information:
Gateshead St Mary the mother-parish for Gateshead is an ancient parish and the church is reputed to date in part from the twelfth century. It suffered damage from a major explosion in Gateshead in 1854 and required substantial rebuilding.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Gateshead parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
FREG = FreeREG - free
FMP = Northumberland and Durham Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
TGEN = Durham Parish Records (TheGenealogist) - ($)[2]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - ($)
FS BTs = England, Durham Diocese Bishop's Transcripts, 1639-1919 (FamilySearch) - free
FS Marr Img = England, Durham Diocese, Calendar of Marriage Bonds & Allegations, 1594-1815 (FamilySearch) - free
FS Marr = England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds & Allegations, 1692-1900 (FamilySearch) - free
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
Gateshead Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FREG 1538-1900s
1538-1900s
1538-1900s
FMP 1538-1990
1538-1989
1538-2000
TGEN 1559-1800s
1558-1800s
1559-1800s
JOIN

1558-1837


FS BTs
1639-1919
1639-1919
1639-1919
FS Marr Img


1594-1815

FS Marr

1692-1900


BOYD

1538-1850


NBI



1559-1999
IGI



FS Catalog PRs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
  • Methodist New Connexion
  • Presbyterian
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Roman Catholic
  • Society of Friends (Quaker)
  • The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Genealogy From Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Hancock, Susan. My Elusive Great Grandmother. History, photos and family history of John Aiston, and Madgalene nee Gordon, with the following surnames: Dixon, Peel, Tegget, Shivers, Chivers, Adie, Riddick. Family seems to be scattered, Scotland, Dumfriesshire, Gateshead, Addison, Newcastle Upon Tyne. Article dated 1851-1974, and is found in Northumberland & Durham Family History Society Journal. vol.39. no.4, pages 169-172, Family History Library Ref. 942.8 B2jo vol.39. no.4, (winter 2014)

Cook, Jim. Thomas Towns of Gateshead. History and photos of George William Cook married Mary Ellen Towns originally from Longbenton, but later on Gateshead. Photos showing family life in the Gateshead area in the late 1800s. Article dated 1800-1953, and is found in the Northumberland & Durham Family History Society Magazine, vol.29. no. 2, page 51 (summer 2004). Family History Library Reference 942.80 B2jo vol.29, no.2.

Owen, J. Philip. A Northumbrian Musician. William Gillies Whittaker D. Mus. F.R.C.O. History of William Gillies Whittaker and his wife Mary Ann, and descendants on both the paternal and maternal side. Parents were: John Whittaker and Mary Jane nee Gillies, and William and Susannah Walton Gillies with the following surnames: Turner, Heads, Pearson, Taylor, Siddell, Purves, Watkins, Swan, Percey, with photos. Article dated 1799-1976, and is found in the Northumberland & Durham Family History Society, vol. 35. no. 4, pages 127-131. Family History Reference 942.8 B2jo vol.35, no.4.

Jones, Andrew Forsyth. The French Family of Sunderland and the USA. History of the family of Joseph and Mary Ann French with description of their son Joseph French born 1847, Gateshead, and his wife Frances Ann Samuel, born Sunderland, July 1846. Photo included on their golden wedding. The family of Joseph and Frances and all but one of their children emigrate to USA in 1887, and settle in St Paul, Minnesota, and after 5 years move onto San Francisco. Photo of Andrew Forsyth, and Elizabeth nee French in 1903. Other surnames mentioned: Bennett, Forsyth, Douce, Winks, Lundgren. Article dated 1846-1954, and is found in the Northumberland & Durham Family History Society Journal. vol. 32, no. 2, pages 48-49 (summer 2007) Family History Library Ref. 942.8 B2jo vol. 32. no. 2.

Betts, Enid. A Sanderson Family and Its Branches. History of Stepen Sanderson born 1811, and his wife Elizabeth Aisbitt and descendants. According to the IGI the Sandersons were in Houghton le Spring, from the late 1500s. Other areas the descendants were in: Eighton Banks, Gateshead Pelaw, Bishop Wearmouth, with a branch going to USA and another branch to Australia. Surnames mentioned: Liddell, Fenwick, Wynn, Armstrong, Hunter, Best, Murray, Reay, Lockey, Wanless and Smith. Article dated 1560-1985, and is found in the Northumberland & Durham Family History Society Journal, vol. 27, no. 3, pages 92-95 (autumn 2002). Family History Library Reference 942.8 B2jo v.27. no.3.

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Gateshead on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 283-287. Adapted. Date accessed: 11 December 2013.
  2. Searching Parish Records online (Durham) - The Following Parishes are Available at TheGenealogist, ParishRegister.co.uk, accessed 23 April 2019.
  3. ArcherSoftware.co.uk