Gaspé-Est County, Quebec Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Gaspé-Est County, Quebec)
Jump to: navigation, search
Quebec Research Topics
Quebec Flag.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Quebec Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources
Quebec
Gaspé-Est County

Guide to Gaspé-Est county ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.


{{{link}}} Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

History

The Gaspé-Est County, originally known under the name Gaspé County Number One, was a municipal county of Quebec that existed between 1885 and the early 1980s. It was created as part of the Gaspe County located east of the municipality of Saint-Maxime-du-Mont-Louis, minus the Magdalen Islands. The area is now included in the administrative region of Gaspésie-Îles-de-la- Madeleine, and matches most the current regional county municipalities (MRCs) of the Côte-de-Gaspé and Rocher-Percé. Its capital was the municipality of Percé . --Wikipedia

Populated Places Table

1 2 3 4 5

POPULATED PLACE

FORMER NAME, if applicable TYPE

FHL  CATALOG

WIKIPEDIA

Anse-au-Griffon       Link   Link
Baie-de-Gaspé-Nord    Canton     Link   Link
Barachois         Link     Link
Cap-d'Espoir         Link   Link
Cap-des-Rosiers    Canton    Link   Link
Cape-Cove       Link   Link
Cloridorme        Link   Link
Douglastown         Link   Link
Gascons         Link   Link
Gaspé         Link   Link
Gaspé Basin           Link   Link
Grande-Gréve      Link   Link
Grande-Rivière          Link   Link
Grande-Vallée          Link   Link
Mal-Bay        Link   Link 
Newport        Link   Link
Pabos        Link   Link
Peninsula            Link
Penouille        Link   Link
Percé         Link   Link
Petite-Rivière-Pabos        Link   Link
Pointe-Navarre       Link   Link
Pointe-Saint-Pierre        Link   Link
Rivière-au-Rénard         Link   Link
Rose-Bridge        Link   Link
Saint-Georges-de-Malbaie         Link   Link
Saint-Maurice-de-l'Échouerie        Link   Link
Saint-Pierre-de-la-Malbaie           Link
Sainte-Adélaide-de-Pabos        Link   Link
Sandy-Beach          Link
Wakeha       Link   Link
 ANY NEW LOCATIONS IN FHL CATALOG???       Link  

Online Gazetteers

How to Find Birth, Marriage, and Death Records

Usually vital records (birth, marriage, and death) are found in civil registration and church records. In Quebec until 1900, civil (government) registration was kept by the churches, with a duplicate provided to the government. There are three ways to access these records:

1) church records in the Drouin collection, available online,
2) civil register duplicates of church records in the Quebec Library and Archives system, and
3) the records of the Family History Library (FamilySearch), online and microfilmed.

Church Records: The Drouin Collection

Among other records, this database includes all the church records for the province of Quebec, that is, for the Adventist, Anglican, Apostolic, Baptist, Christ Church, Christian Brethren, Christian Missionary Alliance, Church of Christ, Church of England, Church of Scotland, Congregational, Episcopal, Evangelical, Free Church, Greek Orthodox, Holiness Movement, Jewish, Lutheran, Methodist, Romanian Orthodox, Pentecostal, Presbyterian, Protestant, Russian Orthodox, Salvation Army, Unitarian, United Church, and Universalist denominations.  The types of records include baptisms, marriages, and burials as well as confirmations, dispensations, censuses, statements of readmission to the church, and so on.  They are written mainly in French, as well as English, Latin, and Italian.

For more information, see The Drouin Collection: Six Databases.

Civil Registration in the Quebec Library and Archives

In Quebec, the civil registers of births (baptisms), marriages and deaths (burials), which date from 1621, were duplicate copies of the church registers. This third source all of the pre-1900 records can be consulted at each of the nine regional offices of Bibliothèque et Archives Nationales du Québec.

Writing for Birth, Marriage, and Death Records After 1900

Directeur de l'état civil
2535, boulevard Laurier
Sainte-Foy, Quebec
Canada
G1V 5C5
  • For application forms, fee information, and identification requirements, click here.
  • Only the person named in the record or that person's legal representative may have access to civil registration and civil copies of church records after 1900. Direct descendants qualify as representatives.

See also Quebec Civil Registration, for information on published vital records.

The FamilySearch Collection

FamilySearch has microfilmed the entire collection of civil records in the Quebec Library and Archives.

Online Databases

Many of the parish (church) records have been digitized and posted online. They are only partially indexed, so browsing the original records is more effective:

Microfilmed Church/Civil Records

All of the church/civil records have been microfilmed by FamilySearch.These microfilms may be ordered for viewing at Family History Centers around the world. To find a microfilm:

a. Click on records for Canada, Québec, Gaspé-Est. You will see a list of available records for the county.
b. You will also see above the list the link Places within Canada, Québec, Gaspé-Est . This will take you to a list of towns in the counties, which are links to records for the specific town.
c. Click on any topic. Click on the blue links to specific record titles.
d. Some combination of these icons will appear at the far right of the microfilm listed for the record. FHL icons.png. The magnifying glass indicates that the microfilm is indexed. Clicking on the magnifying glass will take you to the index. Clicking on the camera will take you to an online digital copy of the microfilm. Clicking on the microfilm reel will lead to information on how to rent the film. Family history center staff will assist you in ordering the film.

Census

Census records can play an important role in identifying all members of a family. They then guide your search in the vital records because you have more clues as to who you are looking for.

Reading French Records

  • It's easier than you think! You do not have to be fluent in French to use these records, as there is only a limited vocabulary used in them. By learning a few key phrases, you will be able to read them adequately. Here are some resources for learning to read French records.
French Genealogical Word List
French Handwriting.
  • There is a three-lesson course in reading French Records:
Reading French Handwritten Records Lesson 1: The French Alphabet,
Reading French Handwritten Records Lesson 2: Key Words and Phrases
Reading French Handwritten Records Lesson 3: Reading French Records

Websites

The Forbears website will give you an extensive list of websites that could have information for people who lived in this county. Some sites cover just the county, some cover all of Quebec, and some cover all of Canada. Some sites are databases of names and facts about people; other sites cover background information such as maps, history, geography, or genealogy strategies and methods for the region.