To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Garrett County, Maryland Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Garrett County, Maryland)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Garrett County, Maryland ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Oakland
Organized: November 4, 1872
Parent County(s): Allegany[1]
Neighboring Counties
Allegany  • Fayette (PA)  • Somerset (PA)  • Grant(WV)  • Mineral(WV)  • Preston(WV)  • Tucker(WV)
See County Maps
Courthouse
Garrett County Courthouse Oakland, Maryland.jpeg
Location Map
MD Garrett map.png
Adoption
John Work Garrett

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named for John Work Garrett. The County is located in the northwest area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Garrett County Courthouse
203 South Fourth Street, Room 207
Oakland, MD 21550
Phone: 301-334-8970
Garrett County Website

Clerk Circuit Court has marriage, divorce, land and court records from 1872, military records from 1942, and naturalization records 1908-1929.
Register of wills has probate records. [3]

Garrett County, Maryland Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1898 1872 1898 1872 1872 1872 1790
Statewide registration for births and deaths started in 1898. General compliance by the 1910s.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

  • Last county created in the state, 4 November 1872, from west part of Allegany County.
  • County seat: Oakland[5]

For animated maps illustrating Maryland county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Maryland County Boundary Maps" (1637-1997) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[6]

Towns
Unincorporated communities
  • Herrington Manor
  • Hi-Point
  • High Point
  • Hoyes
  • Hoyes Run
  • Kaese Mill
  • Kearney
  • Keeler Glade
  • Kempton
  • Kendall
  • Keysers Ridge
  • Lake Ford
  • Locust Grove
  • McComas Beach
  • McHenry
  • Merrill
  • Mineral Spring
  • Mitchell Manor
  • New Germany
  • North Glade
  • Piney Grove
Census-designated places


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Garrett County, Maryland online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Maryland Cemeteries for more information

 

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For tips on accessing Garrett County, Maryland Genealogy census records online, see: Maryland Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1880 12,175
1890 14,213 16.7%
1900 17,701 24.5%
1910 20,105 13.6%
1920 19,678 −2.1%
1930 19,908 1.2%
1940 21,981 10.4%
1950 21,259 −3.3%
1960 20,420 −3.9%
1970 21,476 5.2%
1980 26,498 23.4%
1990 28,138 6.2%
2000 29,846 6.1%
2010 30,097 0.8%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Federal Census reports available 1880-1930.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

  • 1668-1995 Maryland, Church Records, 1668-1995 at FamilySearch — index
  • Guide to Maryland Religious Institutions is not intended to be a complete listing of all Religious institutions in Maryland. It was originally based upon the churches recorded by the Federal Works Progress Administration during a records survey conducted from 1935 to 1941. It has been expanded by later acquisitions from religious organizations to the Maryland State Archives.

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Through a Joint eGovernment Service of the Maryland Judiciary and the Maryland State Archives, free images and indexes of the complete series of Garrett County Deed Books (1872-present) have been uploaded to their website: A Digital Image Retrieval System for Land Records in Maryland. (Requires free registration.)

Other Garrett County land resources include:

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Allegany CountySomerset CountyFayette CountyPreston CountyTucker CountyGrant CountyMineral CountyMD GARRETT.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

War of 1812[edit | edit source]

  • List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. [See Vol. 5, Maryland, Garrett County, p. 149. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.]

Civil War[edit | edit source]

Regiments. Service men in Garrett served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Garrett:

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Online Probate Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries[edit | edit source]

  • Ruth Enlow Library
    Oakland (Main) Library
    6 North Second Street
    Oakland, MD 21550
    Phone: 301-334-3996
    Fax: 301-334-4152
    Email: genealogy@relib.net
    Website
  • Western Maryland Regional Library
    101 Tandy Drive
    Hagerstown, MD 21740
    Phone: 301-739-3250 ext 553
    Email: whilbr@wmrl.info
    Website

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

  • Russell, Donna Valley. Allegany and Garrett Counties, Maryland, Genealogical Research Guide. New Market, Md.: Catoctin Press, 1996.

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Maryland.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Garrett," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Garrett_County,_Maryland."
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Harford, Maryland page 317, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Garrett County, Maryland. Page 317-318 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 308-309.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Maryland.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "Garrett County, Maryland," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Garrett_County,_Maryland; also in HomeTownLocator, https://www.hometownlocator.com/, accessed 23 August 2018.