Gais parish, Appenzell, Switzerland Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Europe Gotoarrow.pngSwitzerland Gotoarrow.pngAppenzell Ausserrhoden Gotoarrow.png Gais parish

Guide to Gais parish, Appenzell, Switzerland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Geography

Gais is located in the district of Appenzell Mittelland district.  Gais has an area of 21.2 square kilometers (8.2 square miles).  The area is used thusly:

49.1% agriculture
44.3% forests
6.2% settlement
.4% non-productive

Click here for a geographical map of Appenzell, including Gais.

History

The village of de Gais was first mentioned in 1272 as part of the Abbey of St. Gall.  By the 1300s, Gais was operating as an independent community.  By the 1400s the town was allied with Appenzell, and one of the most important battles of the Appenzell Wars, the battle of Stoss Pass, took place in Gais.  In 1667, the population was 1,870; by 1850, the population had risen to 2,470 and by 1900 was at 2,854.

Place Names

Locations within Gais

Anker
Au
Ballmoos
Bernbrugg
Betzenegg
Buchen
Buchstauden
Eggli
Erlengschwend
Forren

Gaiserau
Gerstern
Grüt
Heberig
Hofgut
Käsgaden
Kellersegg
Kloster
Lanzen
Moos

Möser
Mühlpass
Mühlweg
Obergais
Pfand
Riedle
Rietli
Rotenwies
Rothbach
Schachen bei Gais

Schwäbrig
Schwantlern
Sommersberg
Steinleuten
Stoss
Strahlholz
Zellwegg
Zweibrücken
Zwislen

Surrounding Parishes

Click here for a map showing Gais in relation to the rest of Canton Appenzell.

Altstätten (Sankt Gallen)
Appenzell (Appenzell-Innerrhoden)
Bühler
Eichberg (Sankt Gallen)
Rüte (Appenzell-Innerrhoden)
Schlatt-Haslen (Appenzell-Innerrhoden)
Trogen

Collections

Church Records

The parish records for Gais are now available online from the Appenzell State Archives. They are organized by volume. Click here to access these records.

The parish of Gais has existed since the fourteenth century.  Records held at the Family History Library include baptisms (Taufen) 1594-1875, and marriages (Heiraten) and deaths (Tote) 1620-1875.

Family books (Familienbuch) from the 19th century, found in four volumes, are available at the Cantonal Archive in Herisau, Switzerland.

Genealogies

(see here for article describing Swiss compiled genealogies)

The following genealogies have been researched for Gais families:

Eisenhut family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 193,470)
Frehner family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 128,007; see also FHL Film 193,471)
Holderegger family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 193,474)
Kern family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 193,476)
Kürsteiner family, by John Schiess
Müller family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Films 128,042 and 128,043)
Näf/Nef family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 128,035; see also FHL Film 193,480)
Preisig family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 128,084)
Schiess family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 128,044)
Schiess family, by John Schiess
Schmid family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 599,106; see also FHL Film 193,483)
Walser family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 193,486)
Zellweger family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 128,008)
Zuberbühler family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 128,036)

Civil Registration

Civil registration began in 1876.  Gais belongs to the Mittelland Appenzell civil registration district.  Records are only available in Switzerland.  For further information, contact the civil registry office at:

Zivilstandsamt Mittelland A.Rh.
Postfach 144
CH - 9055 Bühler AR

Tel: +41 71 791 70 91

email:za@buehler.ar.ch

Surnames

The following surnames held citizenship in Gais prior to 1875:

Auer
Bischofberger (extinct)
Biser
Bodenmann (extinct)
Bruderer
Eisenhut
Engler (extinct)
Enz (1873 from
   Herisau)
Fitzi
Frehner
Gingg
Gmünder
Gross (extinct)
Grunholzer

Haas
Heierli
Heim
Hofstetter
Holderegger
Höhener
Jakob
Kern
Kessler (extinct)
Knechtli
Koller
Krüsi
Küng
Kürsteiner

Laich/Leich (1815)
Langenegger
Lanker
Lendenmann/Lindenmann
Mädler (extinct)
Menet
Mösli
Nagel
Oberteufer (extinct)
Preisig
Rechsteiner
Rösch (extinct)
Scheuss
Schiess

Schläpfer
Schmid
Sonderegger
Walser
Weiler (extinct)
Weishaupt
Wetter
Wick
Widmer
Willi
Wirth (extinct)
Zellweger
Zuberbühler
Zürcher

Related Sources

The town's website (in German) can be found here.

Societies and Libraries

Cantonal Archive of Appenzell-Ausserrhoden (in German)

References

Register of Swiss Surnames

Registry of Appenzell-Ausserrhoden