Gainford, Durham Genealogy
Guide to Gainford, Durham family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Teesdale|
|Registration District||Auckland; Darlington; Teesdale|
|Parish registers: 1560|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1763|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Durham Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
GAINFORD (St. Mary), a parish, in the unions of Teesdale, Darlington, and Auckland, chiefly in the SW, but partly in the SE, division of Darlington ward, S division of the county of Durham; comprising the chapelries of Barnard-Castle, Denton, and Whorlton, and the townships of Bolam, Cleatlam, Gainford, Headlam, Houghton-le-Side, Langton, Marwood, Morton Tinmouth, Piercebridge, Stainton with Streatlam, Summerhouse, and Westwick. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans. 
Gainford St Mary is an ancient parish and the present church is believed to have been built in the thirteenth century by the community of St Mary's Abbey, York. The earlier church on the site is referred to by Simeon of Durham as the burial place of Edw or Edwine in 801. He had entered the monastic community of Gainford as a former Northumbrian chief.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Gainford parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)|
|GAINFORD PARISH Online Records|
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
- Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections DDR/EA/PBT/2/110 1763-1851
- Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records. The transcripts include transcripts for 1843 for the parish of Denton, Durham
- The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.
- The Parish Registers for the period 1560-1980 are deposited at Durham County Record Office, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL (EP/Gai).
- FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)
Non Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
- Roman Catholic
- Wesleyan Methodist
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Gainford on GENUKI