Gagnef Parish, Kopparberg, Sweden Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Sweden
Kopparberg County
Gagnef


Guide to Gagnef Parish, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Gagnef Church

History

Gagnefs and Mockfjärds Parishes was once together in one Parish.
Gagnef Municipality is a municipality in Dalarna County in central Sweden and its seat is located in the town of Djurås.
In 1971 old Gagnef was merged with Floda, forming the present municipality.
[1]


Gagnef Parish, Kopparberg, Sweden Genealogy
Jurisdictions
Stift Västerås
Pastorat Gagnef and Mockfjärd about 1620-
Län 1631-1640 Kopparberg, 1641-1646 Säter, 1647- Kopparberg
Landskap Dalarna
Härad not applicable
Tingslag -1915 Gagnef, 1916-1947 Leksand and Gagnef, 1948-1970 Nedansiljans domsaga
Domsaga 1687-1875 Östra, later called Österdalarne
Fögderi 1720-1881 Säters län, 1881-1917 Nedansiljan, 1918-1946 Västerdal, 1946-1966 Nedansiljan, 1967- Borlänge
Kommun 1863- Gagnef
Militär indelning Dal-regementet: Gagnefs Kompani, Extra Soldat-Roteringen, Dalregementet: Gagnefs kompani
NAD Ref Code SE/ULA/11214
National Archive SVAR link
Swedish Wikipedia link
SCB Congregation map link
Open Street map link


Place Names

Arfslindan,

Berggården, Björhof, Björka, Bodarna, Bomsarvet/Bumsarfvet, Borsheden, Bröttjärna, By, Bäsna, Bäsna Ofvanbäcken., Bäsna Utombäcken,

Capellansgården,

Djur/Jur, Djurmo/Jurmo, Djurås,

Ersholn,

Fors, Färmsnäs (Fermsnäs),

Gagnefsbyn, Gruvan/Grufvan, Gräf, Gråda, Grånäs, Gärde, Gästgivaregård, Gråda, Gröntuf, Gröntufs Norrgårdar, Gröntufs Sörgårdar

Hedin, Högberget, Högsweden, Hovänge (Hofänget),

Lindan, Lindbyn

Mjelgen/Mjälgen, Moje, Myrholn,

Nohlbäck, Nolanbyn, Nolåker/Nordåker, Nordanholn, Nordbäck, Norr Mockfjerd, Nysäl, Näset,

Prostgården,

Rista,

Scholmästaregården, Sifferbo, Skogen, Skolhuset, Svedjan, Sähl, Sör Mockfjerd,

Tansån, Tjärna,

Utanskog, Utby,

Wästanbäcken,

Västerfors, Västtjärna (Westtjärna),

Ytterbacka,

Öfverbacka/Överbacka, Österfors, Östtjärna,



Sweden 1951 Place Names Register and the Swedish Parish Pages list in this Wiki will give you searchable lists of places, particularly parishes and the farms within those parishes.

  • Surrounding Parishes


Collections

Census Records

Church Records

Online Database Church Records

The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these five sites (see links to specific collections below). Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital, Ancestry.com, and MyHeritage.com are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.)

Help Using ArkivDigital: Online Databases for Sweden

These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:

Family History Library Records

Click Sweden, Kopparberg Records for a full listing of microfilmed records (some digitized online) at the Family History Librarythat may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.
Click on "Places within Sweden, Kopparberg and then select your parish.

Military Records

Related Sources

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Help Reading Swedish Records

Help Reading Old Handwriting

Help With Research Objectives and Strategies

Sweden Research Strategies

References

Gagnef parish, Husförhörslängd 1836-1845, AI;19, 20, and 21, Ort register.

Riksarkivet. "Gagnef Församling." Nationell ArkivDatabas (NAD). March 2011 http://www.nad.ra.se/