To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Gørlev Parish, Holbæk, Denmark Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Gørlev, Holbæk, Denmark ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Gørlev Runic Stones

History[edit | edit source]

The countryside around Gørlev - and Kalundborg Municipality in general -, is home to a number of interesting prehistoric sites, including Stone Age passage graves and various Bronze Age mounds. The passage grave of Rævehøj (Fox-hill) near the hamlet of Dalby, is known for its rare rock carvings.[1] As many other stone age constructions, it was also used throughout the Bronze Age as well.


In Gørlev Church's entryway are two Viking Age runestones, Gørlevstenene (The Gørlev Stones), showing the entire runic alphabet known as the younger futhark. The first runestone is dated to the early 9th century, [2] and was found on the spot in May 1921 by a bricklayer working at the church. The second runestone is dated to c. 1000, and was found in 1965 under the church tower. [3] The only runestones in Denmark more significant than these are the Jelling stones, erected by King Harold Bluetooth c. 965 in the town of Jelling, the old Viking capital of Scandinavia.


The nearby marshlands of Maglemose, also known as Mullerup Mose (Mullerup Marsh), is a large wetland area, which includes the lake of Tissø. Here, archaeological evidence of international importance was excavated in the years 1900 and 1902, revealing and defining the Mullerup or Maglemosian Culture that roamed Northern Europe in the Mesolithic Stone Age. They used Maglemose and the surrounding area as a summer camp for hunting and fishing. Maglemose is the oldest site of its type in the Nordic countries, and the findings bettered the understanding of the Nordic Stone Age cultures and Denmark's earliest history in particular. Two memorials commemorate the discovery site. [4]


The priest's farmhouse in Gørlev burned on 7 July 1762. Nevertheless parish records still survive as early as 1680 for both Gørløse and its annex, Bakkendrup.

Gørlev Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift (diocese) Roskilde (Catholic) (Pre-1022-1537), Sjælland (1537-1922), Roskilde (1922-Present)
Pastorat (chapelry) Gørlev-Bakkendrup (Early-Post-2000), Gørlev-Svallerup-Bakkendrup (Post-2000-Present)
Len -1662 Add here
Amt (county) 1662 - 1793 Sæbygaard
Amt (county) 1794 - 1970 Holbæk
Herred (district) Løve
Kommune (municipality) Gørlev- Bakkendrup
1788 – 1793 Lægd number 13
1794 – 1869 Lægd number 74
1870 – Udskrivningskred /Lægd number 2/339
Gods (estate) Nordruplund gods; Selchausdal gods; Bøstrup gods; Helsingegård gods


Place Names[edit | edit source]

Gørlev, Gørlev Mose, Gørlev, Lb.,

Jødeland,

Kvægsholm,

Lunden ved Tissø,

Ornum, Ornum, Hse.,

Rye, Rye Mark, Rye Mose, Rye, Lb.,

Slibestenen,

Ulstrup,

Ågerup Mølle, Ågaard, Ågaard, Hgd.


To see what kind of place it is you will need a Danish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes


Birth, Marriage, and Death Online Records[edit | edit source]

  • Free Online Database:
The vast majority of research you do in Denmark will be in church parish registers, which are held in the Danish State Archives available online at ARKIVALIERONLINE. Select your county and parish from the drop-down lists.
  • Help Reading Danish Records:
Denmark Parish Register Headings provides translated examples of parish headings. You will be able to interpret much of what is in the records using these headings. Danish Word List covers typical terms found in the records. Fixed and Moveable Feast Days for: Denmark will help you translate dates written in feast day form. Denmark surnames are patronymic and change every generation, so carefully study Denmark Names, Personal.
  • Help Reading Old Handwriting:
FamilySearch offers free online lessons about reading old Danish handwriting: Reading Scandinavian Gothic Handwritten Records Lesson 1: Scandinavian Gothic Letters, Lesson 2: Names, Words, and Dates, and Lesson 3: Handwritten Records
Gothic Script and examples (Danish)
Gothic script help links (Danish)
  • Knowing What to Look for Next:
To understand the best research strategies for these records, see Denmark Church Records Christenings Guide.


Collections[edit | edit source]

  • Lægdsruller, Danish Military Levying Rolls, is a census of men eligible to join military (1789-1932)
What's on Lægdsruller and Søruller
Danish Military Levying Rolls (Lægdsruller)

Related Sources[edit | edit source]

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg



Family History Library Records[edit | edit source]

Click Denmark, Holbæk Records for a full listing of records at the Family History Librarythat may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.
Click on "Places within Denmark, Holbæk" and then select your parish.

References[edit | edit source]

-Krabsen & Medici. "Krabsens Stednavnebase."
http://www.krabsen.dk/stednavnebase/,
-Trap, J. P., ed. Kongeriget Danmark, 4te ed. Vol.2, Holbæk Amt,
København: G. E. C. Gads Forlag, 1920