Götene Parish, Skaraborg, Sweden Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Sweden
Skaraborg County
Götene

Guide to Götene Parish, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Götene Church

History

Götene Municipality is a municipality in Västra Götaland County in western Sweden and its seat is located in the town of Götene.
When the first Swedish local government acts went into force in 1863, 20 rural municipal entities, each corresponding to a parish of the Church of Sweden, were created in the area. The municipal reform of 1952 grouped them into three new, larger, units. These were united in 1967 to form the present municipality.
[1]

Götene Parish, Skaraborg, Sweden Genealogy
Jurisdictions
Stift add here
Pastorat add here
Län Skaraborg
Landskap Västergötland
Härad add here
Tingslag add here
Domsaga add here
Fögderi add here
Kommun add here
Militär indelning add here


Place Names

Alnemossen, Alnemossen Prästgården, Alnersåsen

Backgården, Bengtstorp, Bisdråg, Bostället, Brobergstorp

Dyhålet

Ellasgården Hustru

Fattigstugan, Föresled, Föret

Gatan, Gömmet

Hagen, Holmen, Hustru Ellasgården, Hälde, Hästhagen

Jonsled Per, Jonstorp

Karlstorp, Klockarebolet, Knäfalla

Liljeholm, Lillebacken

Mullbrotorp, Månstorp

Nils Tolsgården, Nilsgården

Per, Noltorp, Nolåsen, Nybygget, Pellagården, Per Jonsled, Per Nilsgården, Prästgården, Prästgården Alnemossen

Rävalyckan

Sandtorp, Siggetorp, Skegatelen, Slottan, Stenbacken, Stensholmen

Tolsgården Nils

Västerby

Ågarden, Åsen


Sweden 1951 Place Names Register and the Swedish Parish Pages list in this Wiki will give you searchable lists of places, particularly parishes and the farms within those parishes.

  • Surrounding Parishes


Collections

Census Records

Church Records

Online Database Church Records

The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these five sites (see links to specific collections below). Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital, Ancestry.com, and MyHeritage.com are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.)

Help Using ArkivDigital: Online Databases for Sweden

These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:

Family History Library Records

Click Sweden, Skaraborg Records for a full listing of microfilmed records (some digitized online) at the Family History Librarythat may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.
Click on "Places within Sweden, Skaraborg and then select your parish.

Military Records

Related Sources

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Help Reading Swedish Records

Help Reading Old Handwriting

Help With Research Objectives and Strategies

Sweden Research Strategies


References

Götene, Husförhörslängd 1818-1852