Fundenhall, Norfolk Genealogy
Guide to Fundenhall, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Depwade|
|Parish registers: 1559|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1705|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Norfolk|
|Location of Archive|
|Norfolk Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
FUNDENHALL (St. Nicholas), a parish, in the union and hundred of Depwade, E. division of Norfolk, 4 miles (S. E.) from Wymondham. 
Ashwellthorpe and Fundenhall is a civil parish in the South Norfolk district of Norfolk Ashwellthorpe and Fundenhall Wikipedia
Fundenhall St Nicholas is an Ancient Parish in the Diocese of Norwich.
The church is now closed. An account of the closure and images are at Simon Knott's Norfolk Churches website.
The former church of Aswellthorpe and Fundenhall St Nicholas Church Lane Ashwellthorpe has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building
References are found in Francis Blomefield 'Hundred of Depwade: Thorp', An Essay towards a Topographical History of the County of Norfolk: volume 5 (1806), pp. 142-163. at British History Online in relation to nearby Thorp
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
- Depwade 1837-1935
- Ashwellthorpe 1936-1974
Church records[edit | edit source]
Fundenhall, Norfolk Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FREG = FreeREG - free|
|FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free|
|FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free|
|TIN = Tinstaafl Transcripts - free|
|Fundenhall, Norfolk Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Norfolk Record Office Reference PD 30/1-6, 22-24
This parish's registers do not appear on FamilySearch as no microfilm for the parish is held
A search of the FamilySearch Catalogue identifies the following Archdeacon's transcripts:
|Baptisms, burials and marriages 1725-1812
||FHL BRITISH Film |
1526807 Item 2
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Fundenhall on GenUKI
- for information about this redundant church
- for photographs and architecture of the building
- for listed building
- St Nicolas, Fundenhall Parish Church Images The Norfolk Churches Site
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 272-275.Date accessed: 25 September 2013.
- 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 24 February 2014.
- 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
- 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
- 'Norfolk Baptism Project 1813 to 1880,' Tinstaafl Transcripts, accessed 10 April 2014.