Fulton County, Georgia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Fulton County, Georgia)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Georgia
Fulton County

Guide to Fulton County, Georgia ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Atlanta
Organized: December 20, 1853
Parent County(s): DeKalb, Campbell[1]
Neighboring Counties
Cherokee  • Clayton  • Cobb  • Coweta  • DeKalb  • Douglas  • Fayette  • Forsyth  • Gwinnett
See County Maps
Courthouse
Fulton County Georgia Courthouse.jpg
Location Map
Georgia Fulton County Map.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

The County was named for Hamilton Fulton. The County is located in the north central area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse

Fulton County Courthouse
136 Pryor Sreet SW
Atlanta, GA 30303-3405
Phone: 404-730-5300
Fulton County Website

Probate Court has marriage and probate records.
Clerk of the Superior Court has divorce, court and land records from 1854.[3]

Fulton County, Georgia Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1919 1854 1919 1854 1854 1854 1820
Statewide registration of births and death began in 1919. General compliance for births by 1928 and deaths by 1922.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.[5]

Boundary Changes

  • 1853--Fulton County was created December 20, 1853 from DeKalb, Campbell and Milton (became part of Fulton County in 1932) Counties.
  • County seat: Atlanta[6]

For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in Fulton County, Georgia:

History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Fulton, Georgia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Georgia Cemeteries for more information

The following web site may have additional information on Fulton County cemeteries.

Census Records

Records from the Atlanta History Center

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.

Baptist

  • Semi-centennial History of the Second Baptist Church of Atlanta, Georgia, November 27-30, 1904. Atlanta: Foote & Davies Co., Printers, Binders, 1904?. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
  • Nancy Creek Minutes and Memberships 1824-1833 Georgia Pioneers ($)
  • First Baptist church of Atlanta Georgia Pioneers ($)
  • Druid Hills Baptist Church of Atlanta Georgia Pioneers ($)
  • Trinity Methodist Churchof Atlanta Georgia Pioneers ($)

LDS
LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • Atlanta
  • East Point
  • Roswell
  • Webb Bridge

County Records

Court Records

Directories

  • 1867 Barnwell, V. T. Barnwell's Atlanta City Directory, and Strangers' Guide: Also, A General Firemen's, Church, Masonic, and Odd-fellows' Record. Atlanta: Intelligencer Book and Job Office, 1867. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
  • 1889 Atlanta City Directory, 1889. Atlanta, GA: R. L. Polk and Co., 1889. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
  • 1890 Atlanta City Directory, 1890. Atlanta, GA: R. L. Polk and Co., 1890. Digital version at Ancestry ($).

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

African Americans

  • 1866-1878 Fulton County Colored Marriage Book A Index 1866-1878. Batch M712894 at FamilySearch.
  • 1878-1884 Fulton County Colored Marriage Book B Index 1878-1884. Batch M712895 at FamilySearch.
  • 1884-1889 Fulton County Colored Marriage Book C Index 1884-1889. Batch M712896 at FamilySearch.
  • 1889-1893 Fulton County Colored Marriage Book D Index 1889-1893. Batch M712897 at FamilySearch.
  • 1893-1895 Fulton County Colored Marriage Book E Index 1893-1895. Batch M712898 at FamilySearch.
  • 1904-1928 Atlanta Independent - an African-American newspaper; full-text digital issues in Google News Archive.

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Fulton County, Georgia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.

  • Allen, Ivan. Atlanta from the Ashes. Atlanta, Ga.: Ruralist Press, 1929. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
  • Allen, Ivan. The Atlanta Spirit: Altitude + Attitude. Atlanta, Ga.: I. Allen-Marshall Co., 1948. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
  • Atlanta, A City of the Modern South. New York: Smith & Durrell, c1942. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
  • Atlanta Centennial Year Book: 1837-1937. Atlanta?: G. Murphy, 1937. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
  • Clarke, Edward Young. Atlanta Illustrated: Containing Glances at Its Population, Business, Manufactures, Industries, Institutions, Society, Healthfulness, Architecture, and Advantages Generally, with 150 Ullustrations and a Lithographic Map of the City. Atlanta, Ga.: J.P. Harrison & Co., 1881. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
  • Cooper, Walter G. Official History of Fulton County. Atlanta: W.W. Brown Pub. Co., c1934. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
  • Hand Book of the City of Atlanta: A Comprehensive Review of the City's Commercial, Industrial and Residential Conditions. Atlanta, Ga.: Southern Industrial Pub. Co., 1898. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
  • Hornady, John R. Atlanta, Yesterday, Today and Tomorrow. unknown: American Cities Book Co., 1922. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
  • History of Atlanta, Georgia: With Illustrations and Biographical Sketches of Some of Its Prominent Men and Pioneers. Syracuse, N.Y.: D. Mason & Co., 1889. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
  • Ivey, John E. Building Atlanta's Future: by John E. Ivey, Jr., Nicholas J. Demerath, Woodrow W. Breland. Chapel Hill: University of North Carolina Press, c1948. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
  • Martin, Thomas H. Atlanta and Its Builders: A Comprehensive History of the Gate City of the South. Atlanta: Century Memorial Pub. Co., 1902. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
  • Pioneer Citizens' History of Atlanta: 1833-1902. Atlanta, Ga.: Pioneer Citizens' Society of Atlanta, 1902. Digital version at Ancestry ($).

Maps and Gazetteers

Cobb CountyCherokee CountyForsyth CountyGwinnett CountyDeKalb CountyClayton CountyFayette CountyCoweta CountyCarroll CountyDouglas CountyGA FULTON.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration

Military Records

Civil War

During the period of the Civil War, the area now known as Fulton County was composed of three counties; Campbell and Milton Counties became part of Fulton County in 1932.

Online Records

Regiments. Service men in Fulton County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Fulton County:
Campbell Area Campbell County, Georgia

- 10th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company I
- 19th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company C
- 21st Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company A
- 27th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company E
- 28th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company E
- 30th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Companies F, G and K
- 35th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Companies C and E
- 37th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company I
- 41st Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company K
- 56th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company A
- 1st Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), 2d Company C and Company D
- 1st Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Ramsey's) (Confederate), Company F
- 1st Regiment, Georgia Regulars (Confederate), Company L
- 7th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Companies B and K
- 8th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company F
- 9th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company F
- 19th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Companies A and B
- 20th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company F
- 21st Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company C
- 37th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company I and Company C, 3d Battalion
- 42nd Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Companies I and K
- 56th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company E
- 64th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Companies A, C, E and K
  • Hageness, MariLee Beatty. 1995. Confederate soldiers and their units, Fulton County, Georgia. [Anniston, Alabama]: M.B. Hageness. (Entire Book)975.8 A1no.139
  • Georgia. Court of Ordinary (Campbell County). 1965. Confederate pension roll, 1890-1928. Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah. film 422019
  • Georgia. Court of Ordinary (Milton County). 1965. Confederate pension roll, 1911-1929. Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah. film 422020
  • Cooper, Walter Gerald. 1978. Official history of Fulton County. Spartanburg, S.C.: Reprint Co. (page 114-189)975.823 H2c digital version

Milton Area Milton County, Georgia

- 22nd Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company E
- 25th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company C
- 42nd Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company C
- 56th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company G

Civil War Battle
The following Civil War battles were fought in Fulton County.


World War I

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

  • 1868, 1875-1876, 1895 The Constitution (Atlanta, Ga.). Digital version at Ancestry ($).
  • 1869-1906 Marriages from old newspapers Georgia Pioneers $
  • 1870-1924 The Atlanta Constitution (Atlanta, Ga.). Digital version at Ancestry ($).
  • 1876-1879 The Daily Constitution (Atlanta, Ga.). Digital version at Ancestry ($).
  • 1904-1928 Atlanta Independent - an African-American newspaper; full-text digital issues in Google News Archive; covers 1904-1928.

Obituaries

Other Records

Voting Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Colonial courts kept some early probate records.  From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records.  The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.

Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and all slaves up to age 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online.

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

  • Atlanta History Center
    130 West Paces Ferry Road NW
    Atlanta, GA 30305
    Phone: 404-814-4000
    Website

Societies

  • Atlanta History Center (Historical Society)
    130 West Paces Ferry Road NW
    Atlanta, GA 30305
    Phone: 404-814-4000
    Website
    Facebook

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Georgia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Fulton County, Georgia" in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fulton_County,_Georgia accessed 31 Oct 2018
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Georgia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Fulton County, Georgia. Page 151-163 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 155-160.
  5. Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 32. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  6. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Georgia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  7. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 13 August, 2012)
  8. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 13 August, 2012)
  9. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 13 August, 2012)
  10. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 13 August, 2012)
  11. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/57/Igigeorgiael.pdf.