Fulton County, Arkansas Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Arkansas
Fulton County
 

Guide to Fulton County, Arkansas ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Salem
Organized: December 21, 1842
Parent County(s): Izard[1]
Neighboring Counties
Baxter  • Howell (MO)  • Izard  • Oregon (MO)  • Ozark (MO)  • Sharp
See County Maps
Courthouse
ArkansasFultonCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Ar-fulton.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

The county was named for William Fulton. The County Seat is Salem and was founded December 21, 1842. It is located in the northeast of the state.[2]

County Courthouse

Fulton County Courthouse
PO Box 278
123 S. Main
Salem, AR 72576-0278
Phone: 870.895.3310
Fulton County Website

County Clerk has marriage records form 1887, divorce, land, probate and court records from 1891.[3]

Fulton County, Arkansas

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1914* 1887 1914* 1891 1891 1891 1830
*State birth and death records began in 1914. Limited compliance until 1920's

Record Loss

  • 1870 - A fire destroyed most county records.

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes

  • 1842--Fulton County was created 21 December 1842 from Izard County. 
  • County seat: Salem[5]

For animated maps illustrating Arkansas county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arkansas County Boundary Maps" (1813-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[6]

Cities
Towns
Unincorporated communities
Townships
  • Afton
  • Benton
  • Big Creek
  • Cleveland
  • Fulton
  • Mammoth Spring
  • Mount Calm
  • Myatt
  • Pleasant Ridge
  • South Fork
  • Strawberry
  • Union
  • Vidette
  • Washington
  • Wilson


History Timeline

Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were taken from the Fulton County page on the website, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History and Culture. [7]

  • 1830s - The first legally recognized white resident of Fulton County, William P. Morris, used his land grant to acquire 160 acres in the present Salem area.
  • 1842 December 21 - Fulton County was created , by the state legislature, carving out part of Izard County and present-day Baxter County.
  • 1869-1865 - The American Civil War made a huge impact on Fulton County. Settlers who lived in the rocky uplands of the county did not own slaves, but the settlers living along the fertile valleys of the rivers and creeks did.
  • 1865-1868 - Fulton County residents lived in a guerrilla warfare state for the next three years. Bands of thieves known as “bushwhackers” and “jayhawkers” roamed the area, raiding local farms, and terrorizing the citizens; they also burned the county courthouse, destroying land and census records.
  • 1940s - Industrialization in other parts of the United States attracted Fulton County youth to leave home in search of economic opportunities.

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Fulton, Arkansas online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Arkansas Cemeteries for more information

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1850 1,819
1860 4,024 121.2%
1870 4,843 20.4%
1880 6,720 38.8%
1890 10,984 63.5%
1900 12,917 17.6%
1910 12,193 −5.6%
1920 11,182 −8.3%
1930 10,834 −3.1%
1940 10,253 −5.4%
1950 9,187 −10.4%
1960 6,657 −27.5%
1970 7,699 15.7%
1980 9,975 29.6%
1990 10,037 0.6%
2000 11,642 16.0%
2010 12,245 5.2%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Church Records

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

African Americans

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Local Histories

Local histories are available for {{{1}}} County. They may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. Click for a brief Timeline History of the county. For more about local histories, see Arkansas Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Baxter CountyHowell CountyHowell CountyOregon CountyIzard CountySharp CountyAR FULTON.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration

Military Records

Civil War

Regiments. Men in Fulton County served in various regiments and companies. Those listed below were specifically formed in this county:

- 7th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate)  [8]
- 14th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Powers') (Confederate)
- 27th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Company B (new)

Online Records

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Finding More Arkansas Newspapers Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Fulton County, Arkansas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Vital Records

Birth

Birth Records reveal
Yes or Maybe
 Y  M
Name of Child Green check.png  
Birth Date and Place Green check.png  
Parent's Names Green check.png  
Mother's Maiden Name   Green check.png
Parent's Ages Green check.png  
Father's Occupation Green check.png  
Current Residence Green check.png  
Name of Doctor or Midwife Green check.png  

In 1877, a few county and city clerks[9] started keeping birth and death records.

In 1914, the state law required all county clerks to record births and forward them to the state.

ArrowGreen.svg.png
See also: • Arkansas Online Genealogy Records, • How to Find Arkansas Birth Records and • Arkansas Vital Records—Birth.

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

Websites

  • ARGenWeb. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
  • USGenWeb Archives. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • RootsWeb. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • Linkpendium. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • CyndisList. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • FamilySearch Catalog - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records

Research Guides

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Fulton County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fulton_County,_Arkansas
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Fulton County, Arkansas. Page 67 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 65.
  5. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "Fulton County, Arkansas," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fulton_County,_Arkansas, accessed 14 September 2018.
  7. Sarah E. Simers, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture, (http://www.encyclopediaofarkansas.net/encyclopedia/entry-detail.aspx?entryID=769&type=Category&item=Counties&parent=Counties%2c+Cities%2c+and+Towns&grandparent= : accessed January 13, 2016), “Fulton County.”
  8. Desmond Walls Allen, The Seventh Arkansas Confederate Infantry, (Conway, Arkansas: Arkansas Research, c1988) FHL book 976.7 M22adw
  9. such as Sebastian County (Fort Smith) and Pulaski County (Little Rock) (No entry in FamilySearch Catalog found for Pulaski County nor for Little Rock, Aug 2014)
  10. FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," in FamilySearch Wiki.
  11. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/0d/Igiarkansasem.pdf.