To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Fujian, China Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
China Wiki Topics
Beginning Research
Record Types
China Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources
Moderator
The FamilySearch moderator for China is Twlisa and Chincm

Guide to Province of Fuijan 福建 family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Province of Fuijan
China ORP.png

Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg


Contents

History[edit | edit source]

In 1683, the Qing dynasty conquered Taiwan and annexed it into the Fujian province, as a Taiwan Prefecture. Settlement of Taiwan by Han Chinese followed. Today, the majority of people in Taiwan are descendants of Hokkien people from Southern Fujian. Fujian arrived at its present extent after Taiwan was developed into an independent province starting in 1885. In just ten more years, the Qing ceded Taiwan to Japan via the Treaty of Shimonoseki after losing the First Sino-Japanese War in 1895.
Since the late 1970s, the economy of Fujian along the coast has greatly benefited from its geographic and cultural proximity to Taiwan. The development has been accompanied by a large influx of population from the over-populated areas in the north and west.
[1]

  • China Daily for an article titled "In the Footsteps of Forbears. The article is about a Henan group that retraced the route of Tang Dynasty soldiers who settled Fujian.
  • Message Board for Surnames in Huang, Hui-an, Fujian, China.