To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Frue Parish, Rogaland, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Frue, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Frue Parish, see Hetland
Jurisdictions
Stift/Bispedømme/Diocese add here
Prosti add here
Len 1599-1660 Stavanger
Amt 1689-1919 1662-1682: Stavanger stiftamt,
1682-1919: Stavanger amt
Fylke 1919-Present Rogaland
Region add here
Prestegjeld Hetland
Kommune add here
Skifteretten add here
Tinglag Hetland
Fogderi Jæderen og Dalene
Sorenskriveri Jæderen
Skipreide add here



Church Books[edit | edit source]

Contain priest and sexton records from the parishes Hetland (Frue), Riska (Riskekverven) and Randaberg (Randeberg). They were separated from the combined Stavanger clerical district in 1849. Earlier church records are in the Cathedral church parish (Domkirken) in Stavanger city. Riskekverven (Riska) was separated from Frue and became its own parish in 1877.

Transcripts of church records of christenings 1688-1815 and births 1816-1839 for Stavanger including Hetland and Randaberg. These records are available on microfilm at the Family History Library.


Digital images of the church books are online at Digitalarket.
Hetland / Domkirken: 1816-1856

Hetland / Domkirken, Randaberg: 1816-1968

Stavanger / Domkirken, Frue: 1688-1877

Stavanger / Domkirken, Frue, Randaberg: 1688-1877

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Skatteliste (Taxlist) for Askø tinglaug 1816

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Land Records[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

1666-1822: Probate records will be in the Jæren og Dalane judicial district.

1823-1896: Probate records will be in the Jæren judicial district.

1823-1896: Clerical probate records will be in the Jæren Deanery.


The probate records usually contain the date of probate, name of the deceased, names of heirs, guardians and trustees, inventory lists, land and holdings, and other miscellaneous information.


Farm Book[edit | edit source]

There is no farm book for Frue (Hetland).