Frontenac County, Ontario Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Frontenac County, Ontario)
Jump to: navigation, search
Ontario Research Topics
Ontario Flag.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Ontario Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources
Ontario
Frontenac County

Guide to Frontenac County ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

Map of Ontario Frontenac.png

{{{link}}} Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Online Gazetteers

Civil Registration

Birth

Marriage

Death


Writing for a More Recent Birth, Marriage, or Death Record

  • ServiceOntario, Birth Records is the only government-authorized source for obtaining birth certificates. Go to the section entitled "Order a Birth Search". This is the most economical, searches the widest time period, and allows searches for people not immediately related. A letter of information is provided rather than a certificate.
  • ServiceOntario, Marriage Records offers a marriage search option and a historical certificate option.
  • ServiceOntario, Death Records offers a death search option and a historical certificate option. Also official death certificates are available to a wider range of relatives than birth and marriage certificates.

FamilySearch Library Microfilmed Records

Some of the church/civil records have been microfilmed by FamilySearch.These microfilms may be available for viewing at Family History Centers around the world. To find a microfilm:

a. Click on records for Canada, Ontario, Frontenac County. You will see a list of available records for the county.
b. You will also see above the list the link Places within Canada, Ontario, Frontenac County. This will take you to a list of towns in the counties, which are links to records for the specific town.
c. Click on any topic. Click on the blue links to specific record titles.
d. Some combination of these icons will appear at the far right of the microfilm listed for the record. FHL icons.png. The magnifying glass indicates that the microfilm is indexed. Clicking on the magnifying glass will take you to the index. Clicking on the camera will take you to an online digital copy of the microfilm.

Census Records


Year Census Links

1800-1842

Ontario and Nova Scotia Census, 1800-1842

Ancestry $

1851

Canada Census, 1851

Archives of Canada
FamilySearch
Ancestry $

1861

Census of Canada, 1861

Archives of Canada
FamilySearch
Ancestry $

1871

Census of Canada, 1871

Archives of Canada
FamilySearch
Ancestry $

1881

Census of Canada, 1881

Archives of Canada
FamilySearch
Ancestry $

1891

Census of Canada, 1891

Archives of Canada
FamilySearch
Ancestry $

1901

Census of Canada, 1901

Archives of Canada
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com $

1911

Census of Canada, 1911

Archives of Canada
FamilySearch
Ancestry $

1921

Census of Canada, 1921

Ancestry $

Church Records

Church records can include baptisms, marriages, burials, membership lists, financial business, and other records for a particular congregation. They may be available online or on microfilm, but frequently they are still with the local church or in centralized archives by religion. The Canadian census records asked for the religion of those listed, so you will be able to narrow down which archives to consult. For help with writing a letter requesting copies of records, see Letter Writing Guide for Genealogy.

Online Church Records

These records are incomplete.

($).

Cemetery Records

See, Ontario Cemeteries for information on cemetery record collections not yet digitized, but available in published sources and on microfilm.

Online Cemetery Records

Populated Places Table


1 2 3 4 5

POPULATED PLACE

FORMER NAME, if applicable TYPE

FHL  CATALOG

WIKIPEDIA

 Arden       Link   Link
 Ardoch        Link     Link
 Barrie   Township     Link     Link
 Barriefield        Link   Link
 Battersea      Link   Link
 Bedford   Township   Link   Link
 Bellrock      Link   Link
 Brewers Mills         Link    Link
 Cataraqui         Link   Link
 Claredon     Township    Link   Link
 Cloyne           Link   Link
 Cushendall       Link   Link
 Desert Lake          Link   Link
 Donaldson          Link  Link
 Garden Island        Link      Link 
 Godfrey       Link   Link
 Harlowe       Link    Link
 Harrowsmith       Link  Link
 Henderson       Link   Link
 Hinchinbrooke     Township     Link   Link
 Howe Island    Township     Link  Link
 Inverary       Link   Link
 Joyceville       Link   Link
 Kennebac    Township    Link   Link
 Kingston       Link   Link
 Kingston Mills        Link  Link
 Kingston   Township     Link   Link
 Latimer       Link  Link
 Loughborough   Township     Link   Link
 Marysville         Link  Link
 Miller   Township    Link  Link
 Mountain Grove       Link   Link
 Murvale       Link   Link
 Oconto        Link   Link
 Olden   Township     Link   Link
 Ompah       Link   Link
 Oso   Township   Link   Link
 Palmerston   Township     Link   Link
 Parham      Link   Link
 Piccadilly        Link   Link
 Pittsburgh      Township     Link   Link  
 Plevna       Link   Link
 Portland     Township    Link   Link
 Portsmouth      Link   Link
 Railton         Link   Link
 Robertsville        Link   Link
 Simcoe Island         Link   Link
 Storrington     Township     Link   Link
 Sydenham       Link   Link
 Verona       Link   Link
 Wagarville       Link  Link
 Wilmer       Link   Link
 Wolfe Island        Link   Link
 Wolfe Island    Township  Link   Link
 Zealand       Link   Link
 ANY NEW LOCATIONS IN FHL CATALOG???       Link  

Websites

The Forebears website will give you an extensive list of websites that could have information for people who lived in this county. Some sites cover just the county, some cover all of Ontario, and some cover all of Canada. Some sites are databases of names and facts about people; other sites cover background information such as maps, history, geography, or genealogy strategies and methods for the region.

History

before 1788
See the descriptions and links on the Ontario GenWeb site.


1788 - 1792
The area we now call Frontenac County was part of a large portion of eastern Ontario known as Mecklenburg District. Sometimes it is spelled Mecklenburgh.


1792 - 1849
The name of the area was Midland District. See the exhibit called The Changing Shape of Ontario on the Archives of Ontario website.


1849 - 1998
Frontenac County was comprised of eighteen townships. Most genealogy resources are organized under the names of these townships:

  • Barrie Township
  • Bedford Township
  • Clarendon Township
  • Hinchinbrooke Township
  • Howe Island
  • Kennebec Township
  • Kingston Township
  • Loughborough Township
  • Miller Township
  • North Canonto Township
  • Olden Township
  • Oso Township
  • Palmerston Township
  • Pittsburgh Township
  • Portland Township
  • South Canonto Township
  • Storrington Township
  • Wolfe Island

If you know the name of the town or village, but not the township, use the Ontario Locator.


1998 - present
In 1998, Frontenac County was reorganized into four municipal townships:

  • Township of North Frontenac
  • Township of Central Frontenac
  • Township of South Frontenac
  • Township of Frontenac Islands

Because the reorganization took place so recently, most of the genealogy resources are still organized according to the old township system.

Newspapers & Obituaries

1820 Kingston Chronicle

1830 - 1832 Kingston Chronicle

1833- 1845 Chronicle & Gazette

1849 Daily British Whig


See also - Newspapers and Obituaries in the Province of Ontario Resources - Newspapers.