Frome St John the Baptist, Somerset Genealogy
Guide to Frome St John the Baptist, Somerset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Frome St John the Baptist, Somerset|
St John the Baptist Church Frome Somerset
|Poor Law Union||Frome|
|Parish registers: 1558|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1598|
|Diocese||Bath and Wells|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Wells|
|Location of Archive|
|Somerset Archives and Local Studies|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
Frome (St John the Baptist) is an Ancient parish and the first church on the site was founded in 685 AD by St Adhelm with subsequent medieval replacement subjected to restorations. FROME (Holy Trinity) was formed a chapelry by the year 1838. Christ Church, also erected as a chapelry was formed in the year 1818. St Mary's Chapel, Innox Hill, was built in 1863--all of which subdivided the ancient parish of St John the Baptist. There are places of worship for Baptists, the Society of Friends, Independents, Wesleyans, Primitive Methodists, and Presbyterians. The poor law union of Frome comprises 29 parishes or places.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Frome St John the Baptist, Somerset Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FREG = FreeREG - free|
|JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)|
|MARR = Somerset Marriages (findmypast) - (£)|
|NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)|
|SOPC = Somerset Online Parish Clerks - free|
|FROME ST JOHN THE BAPTIST PARISH Online Records|
Frome Workhouse registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FROME WORKHOUSE Online Records|
Frome St Mary registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FROME ST MARY Online Records|
Frome Woodlands registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FROME WOODLANDS Online Records|
East Woodlands near Frome registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|EAST WOODLANDS NEAR FROME Online Records|
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
| This section requires expansion with:
any unique information, such as the census for X year was destroyed.
Poor Law Unions
[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 20 September 2013
- 'Somerset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 16 October 2013.
- 'Somerset Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 18 October 2013.
- 'Somerset Marriages', findmypast (WayBack Machine), accessed 30 April 2014.
- 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 17 October 2013.
- Somerset Online Parish Clerks Genealogy, accessed 22 October 2013.