Friezeland, Yorkshire Genealogy
Guide to Friezeland, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Saddleworth Gilbert Union|
|Parish registers: None|
|Bishop's Transcripts: None|
|Rural Deanery||Ashton Under Lyne|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
Part of this parish is in Cheshire. See also Friezeland, Cheshire.
Parish History[edit | edit source]
Friezeland Christ Church is an Ecclesiastical Parish partly in the county of Cheshire and mostly in Yorkshire, created in 1848 from Saddleworth Ecclesiastical Parish and Lydgate Ecclesiastical Parish (both in Yorkshire) and Stalybridge St Paul Ecclesiastical Parish (in Cheshire).
FRIEZLAND, a chapelry in the parishes of Mottram and Rochdale, Lancashire and W. R. Yorkshire; at the backbone of England, near Greenfield r. station, 4½ miles W by S of Oldham. It was constituted in 1848; and its post town is Greenfield, under Manchester. Pop., 2, 191. 
Friezland is a hamlet in Saddleworth, in the Metropolitan Borough of Oldham, Greater Manchester, England. It is situated four miles east of the town of Oldham. The chapelry of Friezland was at one time in the parish of Rochdale.
Historically a part of the West Riding of Yorkshire, Friezland lies between the village of Grasscroft and nearby town of Mossley.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Online Records[edit | edit source]
Online data content from chapelry registers of Friezland exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|IARC = Archive.org|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|ANC = ancestry.co.uk (£)|
|HATH = HathiTrust.org|
|JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)|
|FRIEZLAND CHAPELRY (1***) Online Records|
For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Warrington-Padgate Christ Church and comprising the whole ancient parish of Rochdale to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the ROCHDALE PARISH page.
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Church of England. Chapelry of Friezland (Lancashire), Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah : Salt Lake City, Utah, 1990 on 2 microfilm reels. Microreproduction of original records housed at the Central Library, Oldham.
Manchester Archives Central Library call nos.: L262/DRO 1-
Baptisms, 1849-1974. Burials, 1850-1934. Marriages, 1889-1908. FHL BRITISH Film 1656443 Items 1 - 4
Baptisms, 1849-1931 (another filming). Marriages, 1850-1889. Burials, 1850-1934. FHL BRITISH Film 1408572 Items 7 - 9
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
[edit | edit source]
Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York has primary jurisdiction. Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with this court. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records and scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish to see other courts.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
■England Jurisdictions 1851
■Vision of Britain
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales1870-72. Date accessed: 11 November 2013