To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Friezeland, Cheshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Friezeland, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

For more information and records see Friezeland, Yorkshire.

Friezeland, Cheshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Agbrigg; Macclesfield
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Ashton under Lyne
Registration District Ashton under Lyne; Saddleworth
Records begin
Parish registers: 1848
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ashton under Lyne
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

Friezeland see Saddleworth; Saddleworth is a hamlet, a chapelry, a township, and a district, in Rochdale parish and W R. Yorkshire. Saddleworth-with-Quick; is divided into four meres or quarters, called Friar mere, Lord's mere, Quick mere, and Shaw mere; contains the villages of Upper Mill, Dobcross Delph, and Greenfield, a number of hamlets, and parts of the villages of Lees, Besides the chapelry of Saddleworth, it contains the chapelries of Dobcross, Lydgate, and Friar-Mere, and parts of the chapelries of Friezland and Hay.[1]

Friezeland Christ Church is an Ecclesiastical Parish partly in the county of Cheshire and mostly in Yorkshire, created in 1848 from Saddleworth Ecclesiastical Parish and Lydgate Ecclesiastical Parish (both in Yorkshire) and Stalybridge St Paul  Ecclesiastical Parish (in Cheshire). Historically a part of the West Riding of Yorkshire, Friezland lies between the village of Grasscroft and nearby town of Mossley.

Friezland was, in earlier times, a hamlet in Saddleworth, in the Metropolitan Borough of Oldham, Greater Manchester, England. It is situated four miles east of the town of Oldham. The chapelry of Friezland at one time was in the parish of Rochdale.

Historically part of the Diocese of Chester until the creation of the Diocese Of Manchester.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Church records[edit | edit source]

Friezeland parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Cheshire Parish Registers, 1538-2000 (FamilySearch) - free
FS BTs = England, Cheshire Bishop's Transcripts, 1598-1900 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP Diocese PRs = Cheshire Diocese Of Chester Parish Registers (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Diocese BTs = Cheshire Diocese Of Chester Bishop's Transcripts (FindMyPast) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Friezeland Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-2000
1538-2000
1538-2000
FS BTs 1598-1900
1598-1900
1598-1900
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP Diocese PRs 1538-1911
1538-1910
1538-1911
FMP Diocese BTs 1576-1906
1576-1906
1576-1906
BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the Cheshire Archives and Local Studies.

Non Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]

None

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts[edit | edit source]
  • Ashton under Lyne

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

  • Ashton under Lyne

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records - FamilySearch Historical Records

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Date Accessed: 1 March 2013
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.