Friarmere, Yorkshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Friarmere, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Friarmere, Yorkshire
Friarmere St. Thomas (Heights Chapel).jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Agbrigg
County Yorkshire, England Genealogy
Poor Law Union Rochdale
Registration District Saddleworth
Records begin
Parish registers: 1769
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ashton Under Lyne
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

Friarmere St Thomas is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Yorkshire, created in 1795 from  Rochdale St Chad, Lancashire Genealogy Ancient Parish.It was in the Rochdale deanery of the Diocese of Manchester from 1847.

The church is also known as Heights Chapel. A simple mid 18th century church on a hillside overlooking Delph. The church was built beginning in 1765, probably using the labor of the parishioners, who dubbed it 'Heights Chapel'. It was intended as a chapel of ease for parishioners unable to travel to the parish church at  Saddleworth, Yorkshire Genealogy.

St Thomas' is a very plain brick building, two storeys high, with a small stone bell-cote at the west end. It is very much in the style of a Georgian 'preaching church', with galleries on the west, north, and south, and a small east sanctuary lit by an Italianate window.

When a new church was built in Delph most of the interior furnishings were transferred there, leaving St Thomas' fairly bare. The modern Friarmere St Thomas parish is in the Saddleworth Team benefice, Oldham East Deanery , Rochdale Archdeaconry of the Diocese of Manchester

The church was deconsecrated and is now in the care of the Churches Conservation Trust who undertook building work during 2010

FRIERMERE, an ecclesiastical district, in the chapelry of Saddleworth, parish of Rochdale, Upper division of the wapentake of Agbrigg, W. riding of York, 1 mile (N.) from Delph. The church, dedicated to St. Thomas, is a plain edifice, consecrated in 1768. The dissenters have two places of worship. There are places of worship for Independents at Delph, Upper Mill, and Spring-head; and for Wesleyans at Delph, Upper Mill, and Bagulay.[1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Find Neighboring Parishes[edit | edit source]

Use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map

  • Type the name of the parish in the search bar
  • Click on the location pin on the map
  • Choose Options from the pop up box
  • Click "List Contiguous Parishes" to find the neighboring parishes

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Church Records[edit | edit source]

The Church of England (Anglican) became the official state religion in 1534, with the reigning monarch as its Supreme Governor.
Non-Conformist refers to all other religious denominations that are not the official state religion.

Church of England[edit | edit source]

Due to the increasing access of online records:

  • Individual parish coverage for databases in this table are inconsistent and should be verified
  • Dates in the following table are approximate

Hover over the collection's title for more information

Friarmere Online Parish Records
Collections
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes and images
Indexes only
Indexes and images
Indexes only
Indexes and images
Indexes only
FamilySearch Collections-Yorkshire
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
FamilySearch Parish Registers-Yorkshire
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Bishop's Transcripts - FamilySearch Catalog
1700s-1800s
-
1700s-1800s
-
1700s-1800s
-
FreeREG
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
Find My Past-Yorkshire ($)
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1800s
-
Find My Past Bishop's Transcripts-Yorkshire ($)
-
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Find My Past Banns-Yorkshire ($)
-
-
1600s-1800s
-
-
-
Ancestry Church of England (Early)-West Riding ($)
1500s-1800s
-
1500s-1800s
-
1500s-1800s
-
Ancestry Church of England (Late)-West Riding ($)
-
1800s-1900s
-
1800s-1900s
-
1800s-1900s
Ancestry-England & Wales, Birth, Christening, Marriage and Death Indexes ($)
-
1800s-1900s
-
1800s-1900s
-
1800s-1900s
Databases with Known Incomplete Parish Coverage
Boyd's Marriage Indexes-FMP (Free)
-
-
-
1500s-1800s
-
-
National Burial Index-FMP (Free)
-
-
-
-
-
1600s-1900s

Other Websites These databases have incomplete parish coverage.

Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]

Census Records[edit | edit source]


Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Rochdale Poor Law Union

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 263-266. Date accessed: 19 March 2013

http://www.visitchurches.org.uk/findachurch/st-thomas-friarmere/?region=Manchester for Churches Conservation Trust Web site for details of the church.

Oldham east Deaconry website http://www.manchester.anglican.org/churches/rochdale-archdeaconry/oldham-east.asp?Page=2

https://www.saddleworth-historical-society.org.uk/ Saddleworth Historical Society website