French Guiana, France Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
French Guiana Wiki Topics
Flag of French Polynesia.svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
French Guiana Background
Local Research Resources
South America
French Guiana
Guide to French Guiana ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

Country Information

French Guiana is an overseas department and region of France in South America bordered by Brazil and Suriname. The official language is French.[1]

History

The first French effort to colonize Guiana, was in 1763 and failed when tropical diseases and the climate killed all but 2,000 of the initial 12,000 settlers.
Its infamous Île du Diable (Devil's Island) was the site of a small prison facility, part of a larger penal system by the same name, which consisted of prisons on three islands and three larger prisons on the mainland, and which was operated from 1852 to 1953.
The territory of Inini consisted of most of the interior of French Guiana when it was created in 1930. It was abolished in 1946, when French Guiana as a whole became an overseas department of France.
[1]

Getting Started

Getting Started with French Guiana Research

Links to articles on getting started with French Guiana research.

French Guiana Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in French Guiana research.

Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

French Guiana, France Map

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in French Guiana.

Guyane administrative.PNG

Jurisdictions

French Guiana is divided into 2 arrondissements, 19 cantons (not shown here), and 22 communes:

Arrondissement of
Saint-Laurent-du-Maroni

  1. Awala-Yalimapo
  2. Mana
  3. Saint-Laurent-du-Maroni
  4. Apatou
  5. Grand-Santi
  6. Papaïchton
  7. Saül
  8. Maripasoula

Arrondissement of
Cayenne

  1. Camopi
  2. Saint-Georges, French Guiana|Saint-Georges
  3. Ouanary
  4. Régina
  5. Roura
  6. Saint-Élie
  7. Iracoubo
  8. Sinnamary
  9. Kourou
  10. Macouria
  11. Montsinéry-Tonnegrande
  12. Matoury
  13. Cayenne
  14. Remire-Montjoly

Online Church Records and Civil Registration

The vast majority of your research will be in church records and civil registration. Fortunately, these records are available online from the archives of each department.

Learning to Read Enough French to Do Genealogy

It's easier than you think! You do not have to be fluent in French to use these records, as there is only a limited vocabulary used in them. By learning a few key phrases, you will be able to read them adequately. Here are some resources for learning to read French records.

There is a three-lesson course in reading handwriting in old French records:

These lessons focus on reading church record and civil registration records:

Another resource is the French Records Extraction Manual, Full Manual. Much more is covered, but these first four lessons are especially useful.

Finding Church Records and Civil Registration Online

Each Department of France has archives that provide digitized images of these records.
Here is the website for the Department Archives of Guyane, where you will find these records.
National Overseas Archives, Guyane

FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in researching your family.


References

  1. Wikipedia contributors, “French Guiana,” in ‘’Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,’’ https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/French_Guiana, accessed 29 April 2016.