Free State Province, South Africa Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Free State, South Africa)
Jump to: navigation, search
South Africa Wiki Topics
Flag of South Africa.svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
South Africa Background
South Africa Ethnicities
Local Research Resources
Moderator

The FamilySearch moderator for the Netherlands is Daniel Jones.

South Africa
Province of Free State

Guide to Province of Free State family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Province of Free State
South Africa ORP.png
Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg


Historical Overview

History

Free Statia: reminiscences of a lifetime in the Orange Free State - Available on microfilm at the Family History Library and some Family history centers.

Localities

List of cities and towns in the Free State.

Maps and gazetteers

A comprehensive set of maps of the Free State, South Africa.

Records

Cemeteries

Bloemfontein (Hamilton) Was Cemetery grave listings

Free State, South Africa Cemeteries - War graves project.

Bethelem Cemetery - Van Heerden Family Tree listings

Grave yards in Free State (The Genealogical Society of South Africa)

Find A Grave records for Free State, South Africa

Census

Church records

Dutch Reformed Church (NGK)

The Dutch Reform Church records collection on FamilySearch includes records from 1848 to 1956.

Dutch Reformed Church (NHK)
Reformed Church (GK)
Methodist
Anglican
Catholic

Parish registers, Catholic Church, Mission, Tempe (Orange Free State), 1869-1930 - microfilm available at the Family History Library and some Family history centers.

Other

Civil Registration

Births, marriages, and deaths began to be registered in 1902.[1]

Deaths
Marriages

Immigration/Emigration

Genealogy

Land records

Orange Free State (South Africa). Registrar of Deeds, 1848-1934.

Orange Free State (South Africa). Land Board - Property claims, confiscations and forfeitures, 1853-1866.

Occupations


Probate records

See here for a description of what death notices are and where they are located.

School records

Tax records

Websites

Microfilm available at the Family History Library

Further Reading

References

  1. The Family History Department of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, “Family History Record Profile: Southern Africa,” Word document, private files of the FamilySearch Content Strategy Team, 1987-1998.