Fredrikstad, Østfold, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Fredrikstad, Norway)
Jump to: navigation, search
Norway
Østfold County
Fredrikstad


Guide to Fredrikstad, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Church Records

Østre Fredrikstad , Vestre Fredrikstad and Glemmen made up the combined Fredrikstad parish until 1884. However the records for Østre and Vestre Fredrikstad were kept separate from 1871. In the FamilySearch Catalog the early records for Fredrikstad are under the Østre Fredrikstad clerical district.

The Family History Library has microfilm copies of the church books, 1717-1919.

Digital images are online at Digitalarkivet:

Fredrikstad: 1717-1731, 1750-1879

Census Records

1664-66 Census for Fredrikstad

1801 Census for Fredrikstad

1865 Census for Fredrikstad

1885 Census for Fredrikstad

1900 Census for Fredrikstad

1910 Census for Fredrikstad

Census Microfilm collection at FamilySearch

The 1865, 1875, 1900, 1910 census is also available omnline in a searchable database at the Norwegian Historical Data Centre.

Court Records

Land Records

Farm Books

Genealogy

Georgesen: family documents, 1877-1977

Joachim Sigfred Georgesen (b.1877) immigrated from Norway to Portland before 1908. In Norway he married Anne Constantin Carlsen, and they had at least one son (Clifford Fred Georgesen, 1908-1977). After Anne's death, Joachim married widow Catherine M.Johnson (d.1959) in 1943. Clifford Fred Georgesen served in the United States Army during World War II, and married twice. Includes certification of naturalization for Joachim (in Norwegian), and other family papers.  He was born in Skjervøy, Troms, Norway; his first wife was apparently born in Fredrikstad, Østfold, Norway

FHL Film # 1697300 item 9

Amundsen, O. Delphin; Nilsson, Britta Cecilia: Sogneprest til Fredrikstad hr. Lauritz Jensen Dahl, hans norske og Bohuslenske avstamning

FHL Film # 1224585 item 6

Olsen, Edward Gustave, 1908: One moment in time: the ancestry and life records of Edward Gustave Olsen

Probate Records

1676-1850: Probates may be found in Fredrikstad City judicial district.