Frederick County, Maryland Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Frederick County, Maryland)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Maryland
Frederick County

Guide to Frederick County, Maryland ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Frederick
Organized: June 10, 1748
Parent County(s): Prince George's[1]
Neighboring Counties
Carroll  • Howard  • Montgomery  • Washington  • Adams (PA)  • Franklin (PA)  • Loudoun (VA)
See County Maps
Courthouse
Frederick County Courthouse Frederick, Maryland.jpeg
Location Map
MD Frederick map.png
Adoption
Frederick Calvert

County Information

Description

The County has Frederick as its seat and the County was created June 10, 1748. The County is located in the north central area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse

Frederick County Courthouse
12 East Church Street/100 W Patrick Street
Frederick, MD 21701
Phone: 301-600-9000
Frederick County Website

Clerk of the Circuit Court has marriage records from 1778, probate records from 1744 and land records from 1748.[3]

Frederick County, Maryland Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1898 1778 1898 1748 1748 1776

Record Loss

  • There were two major fires, but no major loss of records in either fire.

Boundary Changes

Populated Places

The following are locations in Frederick County, Maryland:

Cities

Towns

  • Burkittsville
  • Emmitsburg
  • Middletown
  • Mount Airy
  • Myersville
  • New Market
  • Thurmont
  • Walkersville
  • Woodsboro

Communities

  • Adamstown
  • Graceham
  • Ijamsville
  • Jefferson
  • Knoxville
  • Ladiesburg
  • Lewistown
  • Libertytown
  • Lake Linganore
  • Monrovia
  • New Midway
  • Point of Rocks
  • Rocky Ridge
  • Sabillasville
  • Sunny Side
  • Tuscarora
  • Urbana
  • Wolfsville

Village

  • Rosemont

Census Districts

  • Ballenger Creek
  • Braddock Heights
  • Clover Hill
  • Discovery-Spring Garden
  • Green Valley
  • Linganore-Bartonsville

History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Frederick County, Maryland online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Maryland Cemeteries for more information

 

Holdcraft's tombstone inscriptions have been published in:

Holdcraft, Jacob Mehrling. Names in Stone: 75,000 Cemetery Inscriptions from Frederick County, Maryland. Two Volumes. Reprinted as More Names in Stone. Baltimore, Maryland: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1985. (Family History Library book 975.287 V3h 1985)

Census Records

For tips on accessing Frederick County, Maryland Genealogy census records online, see: Maryland Census.

Provincial Census of 1776, Frederick County; Including Lower Potomac Hundred, August 22, 1776; George Town Hundred, August 22, 1776; [Unnamed] Hundred, including present Montgomery County, 1776; Elizabeth Hundred, July 22, 1776 (24 pages of facsimile reproductions); Sugar Land Hundred, September 2, 1776; North West Hundred, September 2, 1776 is available online, see pages 177-257 of:

  • Brumbaugh, Gaius Marcus. Maryland Records: Colonial, Revolutionary, County and Church from Original Sources. Vol. 1. Baltimore, Md.: Williams & Wilkins Company, 1915. Digital version at Google Books.

Federal Census reports available 1790-1930 including slave and veterans schedules.

Church Records

  • 1668-1995 Maryland, Church Records, 1668-1995 at FamilySearch — index
  • Guide to Maryland Religious Institutions is not intended to be a complete listing of all Religious institutions in Maryland. It was originally based upon the churches recorded by the Federal Works Progress Administration during a records survey conducted from 1935 to 1941. It has been expanded by later acquisitions from religious organizations to the Maryland State Archives. The following records from their collection have been digitized and made available to view for free online:
  • Roman Catholic, St. Joseph's Church, Emmitsburg, Md. (various records, including deaths 1843-1879, confirmations, first communions, liber status animarium [church census] 1843, 1860, etc.)

Baptist
Early Baptist churches (with years constituted):

  1. Antitun (1750)[5]
  2. Connecocheague (1743)[5] Tunker and Mennonist chapels at Connecocheague.
  3. Middle Creek (about 1747)[5]
  4. Monacacy (1749)[5]
  5. Piper Creek (1751)[5]

Church of England

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

  • Russell, George Ely. "Frenchmen Early in Frederick County, Maryland," The Genealogist, Vol. 15, No. 2 (Fall 2001):225-255.

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

  • Colonial families - Genealogical Index to Frederick County, Md.: The First Hundred Years (4 vols., 2076 pages). Contains 200,000 entries; Available at: New England Historic Genealogical Society Library in Boston, Mass.; the Genealogical Society of Pennsylvania; the National Genealogical Society Library; the Maryland Genealogical Society; the Frederick County, Maryland Public Library; the Carroll County, Maryland Public Library; and the Lancaster Mennonite Historical Society.[6]
  • Russell, George Ely. "Frenchmen Early in Frederick County, Maryland," The Genealogist, Vol. 15, No. 2 (Fall 2001):225-255. [Includes the following families: Appollo, Bellameaude de la Vincendiere, Boisneuf, Chevalier de Petray, de Heaulme, de la Marche, Denoue, Eckman, Huguest de Court, Josse, Julian, LaBeron, Louie, Marcilly, Puzenot, St.-Martin de Bellevue, Seguin, Zins.]
  • [Baker] Hurley, William Neal. Baker Families of Maryland. Bowie, Md.: Heritage Books, Inc., 2001. FHL Book 929.273 B167Hwn.
  • [Beckwith] See de Hinojosa.
  • [Bowell] Bowell, Lillian and William Bowell. A Bowell Family History. St. Paul, Minn.
  • [Butcher] Brown, Nancy Clark. "Are You Related To...Loretta Webb Lynn," The Appalachian Quarterly, Vol. 12, No. 4 (Dec. 2007):4-22. FHL Book 975.5743 D25a v. 12.
  • [Chapline] Dare, Maria J. Liggett. Chaplines from Maryland and Virginia. Washington, D.C.: M.J.L. Dare, 1902. FHL Film 896749 Item 3; digital version at Internet Archive.
  • [Chilton] Dorman, John Frederick. "The Chilton Families of Virginia and Maryland," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 11, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1967):71-78; Vol. 11, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1967):121-125; Vol. 11, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1967):167-174; Vol. 12, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1968):15-18; Vol. 12, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1968):83-86; Vol. 12, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1968):109-113; Vol. 12, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1968):169-175; Vol. 13, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1969):32-36; Vol. 13, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1969):65-71; Vol. 13, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1969):177-180; Vol. 14, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1970):15-22; Vol. 14, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1970):75-82; Vol. 14, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1970):123-128; Vol. 14, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1970):165-168; Vol. 15, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1971):32-41; Vol. 15, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1971):122-124; Vol. 15, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1971):259-264; Vol. 16, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1972):301-306. To locate digital pages use search form at American Ancestors ($); first select Virginia Genealogist, The from the Database list. Then select Volume number. FHL Book 975.5 B2vg v. 11 - v. 16.
  • [DeButts] Russell, George Ely. "DeButts Family of Maryland and Virginia," The Genealogist, Vol. 12, No. 2 (Fall 1998):131-188.
  • [de Hinojosa] Hoff, Henry B. "Alexander de Hinojosa and His Descendants in Maryland," The American Genealogist, Vol. 79, No. 4 (Oct. 2004):260-273.
  • [Devilbiss] Harris, Mrs. Norris. "The Devilbiss Family of Frederick County, Md.," The Maryland and Delaware Genealogist, Vol. 30, No. 4 (Fall 1989):144-145; Vol. 31, No. 1 (Winter 1990):28-29. FHL US/CAN Book 975 B2m.
  • [Dick] Hoffman, Muriel M. History of Peter and Christina Shutt Dick Family: Frederick County, Maryland, Wilkes County, North Carolina, Muhlenberg County, Kentucky, Simpson County, Kentucky, Sangamon County, Illinois, Cass, County, Illinois. Anchor, Ill.: Hoffman, 1970. FHL Book 929.273 D55h
  • [Firestone] Russell, George Ely. "Founders of the American Firestone Family," National Genealogical Society Quarterly, Vol. 52, No. 4 (Dec. 1964):241-244. FHL Collection 973 B2ng v. 52
  • [Fluck] Andersen, Patricia Abelard. "Jacob Fluck of Middletown, Frederick County, Maryland, and His Flook and Fluke Descendants," National Genealogical Society Quarterly, Vol. 72 (1984):163-190; Vol. 73 (1985):319-320. Digital version at National Genealogical Society website ($); FHL Book 973 B2ng v. 72 (1984)-v. 73 (1985).
  • [Getzendanner] Getzendanner, David. Thomas Getzendanner of Maryland and South Carolina; His Descendants: The Getson and Danner Families of Alabama, Mississippi, Tennessee, Arkansas, and Texas. Salem, Ore.: D. Getzendanner, 1993. FHL Book 929.273 G335get
  • [Hoover] Hayden, Richard A. "Using Relationships to Establish Origins: Casper and Catherine Hoover of Pennsylvania and Maryland," National Genealogical Society Quarterly, Vol. 91, No. 4 (December 2003):298-313. FHL Collection 973 B2ng v. 91
  • [Lamar] Lamar, William Harmong, "Thomas Lamar of the Province of Maryland, and a Part of His Descendants," Publications of the Southern History Association, Vol. 1, No. 3 (Jul. 1897):203-210. Digitized by Internet Archive.
  • [Levy] Bush, Kathryn L. and Lewis Michael Bush. The Levy Story: Some Descendants of David Levy, Revolutionary Soldier of Frederick, Maryland: A Genealogy of Levy, Hinkley, Kinsey, Etchison, Bush, Blaho, Istvan and Related Families. Panama City, Fla.: Curry Printing, c2002. FHL Fiche 6005360. Digital version at Family History Archives - free. Perhaps the David Levi transported from London in 1756, see Old Bailey Online.
  • [Maynard] Dorman, John Frederick. "Maynard Family of Frederick County, Maryland," National Genealogical Society Quarterly, Vol. 48 (1960):187-195.
  • [Nead] Wurstner, Betty Miller. Genealogy of the Matthias Nead Family in America, 1752-1973. Typescript, Dunbar Library, Wright State University, Dayton, Ohio. Copy: FHL Film 1871571 Item 21.
  • [Prather] Lewis, Olan R. The Thomas Prather Family. Lakeport, Calif.: O.R. Lewis, 1988. FHL Book 929.273 A1 no. 5324.
  • [Price] Harris, Mrs. Norris. "The Price Family of Frederick County, Md.," The Maryland and Delaware Genealogist, Vol. 31, No. 1 (Winter 1990):26-27; Vol. 31, No. 2 (Spring 1990):70. FHL US/CAN Book 975 B2m.
  • [Schaun] Jones, Anthony. Peter Schaun. Dallas, Texas: privately published, 1981. FHL Book 929.273 Sch19j.
  • [Shultz] Bushman, Katherine G. Shultz of Augusta County, Virginia: Being A Supplement to the Material Recorded in The Genealogical Record of the Schwenkfelder Families, Edited by Samuel K. Brecht, 1923. Staunton, Va.: K.G. Bushman, 1974. FHL Book 929.273 Sh92bk.
  • [Slusher] King, Hatcher and Alta King. Turman and Slusher Genealogy, 1757-1974: Christopher Slusher Sr., Wife, Eva, Lebanon County, Pennsylvania, Fredrick, Washington counties, Maryland, Montgomery, Floyd counties, Virginia. MSS. Microfilmed 1974-1975: FHL Collection.
  • [Whitmore] Nycum, H.C. and Norman Niccum. "Whitmore Family of Frederick County, Maryland," National Genealogical Society Quarterly, Vol. 52 (1964):85.
  • [Williams] Birch, Nicki Peak. "Tracking Basil Williams of Maryland and Pennsylvania Through Changing Residences and Multiple Marriages," National Genealogical Society Quarterly, Vol. 96, No. 1 (March 2008):23-37. FHL Collection 973 B2ng v. 96

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Through a Joint eGovernment Service of the Maryland Judiciary and the Maryland State Archives, free images and indexes of the complete series of Frederick County Deed Books (1748-present) have been uploaded to their website: A Digital Image Retrieval System for Land Records in Maryland. (Requires free registration.)

Local Histories

The History of Frederick County by T.J.C. Williams, in two volumes.

The Diary Of Jacob Engelbrecht, in two volumes.

Maps and Gazetteers

Mdfrederick.jpg

Migration

Military Records

Revolutionary War

Frederick County men served in the 6th Maryland Regiment[7] and the 7th Maryland Regiment.[8]

  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. 1841. Digital version at Google Books. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. See Maryland, Frederick County on page 127.

The 1778 Oath of Fidelity lists for Frederick County have been published in:

  • Brumbaugh, Gaius Marcus. Revolutionary Records of Maryland. Washington, D.C.: R.H. Darby Print., 1924. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free.

War of 1812

  • List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. See Vol. 5, Maryland, Frederick County, pp. 146-149. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Frederick served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Frederick:

- 1st Regiment, Maryland Cavalry, Potomac Home Brigade , Companies A, B, C, D, E, F, G, H, I, K, L and M.
- 1st Regiment, Maryland Infantry, Potomac Home Brigade, Companies A, B, D, G, I and K.
- 3rd Regiment, Maryland Infantry, Potomac Home Brigade Companies G and K.
- 3rd Regiment, Maryland Cavalry, Company I.
- 4th Regiment, Maryland Infantry, Potomac Home Brigade, Company C.
- 5th Regiment, Maryland Infantry, Company E.
- 6th Regiment, Maryland Infantry, Company D.
- 7th Regiment, Maryland Infantry, Companies B, E and G.
- 8th Regiment, Maryland Infantry, Company E.

Civil War Battle
The following Civil War battles were fought in Frederick County.

  • September 14, 1862 - South Mountain, also known as Crampton's, Turner's, and Fox's Gaps[9]
  • July 9, 1864 - Monocacy, also known as the Battle that Saved Washington[10]
Map showing Civil War battles in Maryland.

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Other Records

Voting Records

Poll List of Presidential Election, November 9-12, 1796, Frederick County, Md., (1,917 voters are identified) is available online, see pages 271-295 in:

  • Brumbaugh, Gaius Marcus. Maryland Records: Colonial, Revolutionary, County and Church from Original Sources. Vol. 1. Baltimore, Md.: Williams & Wilkins Company, 1915. Digital version at Google Books.

Periodicals

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

Register of Wills Address

School Records

Tax Records

  • 1733 Russell, Donna Valley. "1733 Taxables," Western Maryland Genealogy, Vol. 3, No. 3 (July 1987):99-103.
  • 1760-1761 "Frederick County Rent Rolls, 1760-61," Western Maryland Genealogy, Vol. 2, No. 3 (July 1986):111-114.
  • 1761 "Taxables in Sugarland Hundred, Frederick Co., 1761," Western Maryland Genealogy, Vol. 6, No. 3 (July 1990):103-105.
  • 1761 "Taxables in the Old Town, Frederick Co., 1761," Western Maryland Genealogy, Vol. 6, No. 3 (July 1990):106.
  • 1768-1769, 1771-1772 Wright, F. Edward. Early Lists of Frederick County, 1765-1775. Silver Spring, Md.: Family Line Publications, 1986. Rent.
  • 1771, 1777 Russell, George Ely. "Carrollton Manor Rent Rolls, 1771 and 1777," Western Maryland Genealogy, Vol. 5, No. 3 (Jul. 1989):98-102.
  • 1798 "1798 Frederick County Assessments," Western Maryland Genealogy, Vol. 7, No. 1 (Jan. 1991):21-25; Vol. 7, No. 2 (Apr. 1991):60-67; Vol. 9, No. 4 (Oct. 1993):158-165; Vol. 10, No. 1 (Jan. 1994):20-30; Vol. 10, No. 2 (Apr. 1994):80-81; Vol. 10, No. 3 (Jul. 1994):129-133; Vol. 10, No. 4 (Oct. 1994):182-186; Vol. 11, No. 1 (Jan. 1995):15-22; Vol. 11, No. 2 (Apr. 1995):66-74; Vol. 11, No. 3 (Jul. 1995):128-135; Vol. 11, No. 4 (Oct. 1995):162-169.

Vital Records

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

  • Maryland Room/Frederick County Public Libraries
    110 E. Patrick St.
    Frederick, MD 21701
    Phone: 301-600-1368
    Fax: 301-600-2905
    Email: mdroom@fcpl.org
    Website

Museums

Societies

Websites

Research Guides

  • Andersen, Patricia Abelard. “Research in Frederick County.” Maryland Genealogical Society Journal 52, no. 1 (2011): 75-88.
  • Russell, Donna Valley. Frederick County, Maryland, Genealogical Research Guide. Middletown, Md.: Catoctin Press, 1987.

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Maryland.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Frederick," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Frederick_County,_Maryland."
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Maryland.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Maryland.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. 5.0 5.1 5.2 5.3 5.4 Morgan Edwards, Materials Towards a History of the Baptists in the Provinces of Maryland Virginia North Carolina South Carolina Georgia (1772). Digitized by SCDL Collections - free.
  6. Book Review, Western Maryland Genealogy, Vol. 9, No. 3 (Jul. 1993):139.
  7. Wikipedia contributors, "6th Maryland Regiment," http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/6th_Maryland_Regiment, accessed 31 May 2012.
  8. Wikipedia contributors, "7th Maryland Regiment," http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/7th_Maryland_Regiment, accessed 31 May 2012.
  9. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 7 August 2012)
  10. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 2 August 2012)
Retrieved from "http://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/index.php?title=Frederick_County,_Maryland_Genealogy&oldid=3277587"