Fray Mamerto Esquiú, Catamarca, Argentina Genealogy
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Guide to Department of Fray Mamerto Esquiú ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, church records, parish registers, and civil registration.
History[edit | edit source]
- Around 1600 the Spanish settlers settled and started the first towns. The initial territorial distribution was called Piedra Blanca and was much more extensive.
- Later it was subdivided into three parts; one of them retained the name of Piedra Blanca and the other two formed the current departments of Ambato and Paclín.
- In 1934 the name of Fray Mamerto Esquiú was imposed on Piedra Blanca.
- The department of Fray Mamerto Esquiú has a population of approximately 12,000 people. 
Parish Records[edit | edit source]
- Registros parroquiales, 1794-1939 - Click on the link to see the records’ availability.
Census Records[edit | edit source]
- Primer Censo Nacional, 1869 : Piedra Blanca, actualmente Fray Mamerto Esquiú (Departamento), Catamarca - Click on the link to see the records’ availability.
- 2º Censo Nacional, 1895 : Fray Mamerto Esquiú (Departamento), Catamarca - Click on the link to see the records’ availability.
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
- Cementerio San Jose de Piedra Blanca
Municipalities[edit | edit source]
- Fray Mamerto Esquiú
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia Collaborators, "Departamento Fray Mamerto Esquiú," In Wikipedia: The Free Encyclopedia, https://es.wikipedia.org/wiki/Departamento_Fray_Mamerto_Esqui%C3%BA. Visited October 23, 2017.