Franklin County, Ohio Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Franklin County, Ohio ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Franklin County, Ohio
Map
Map of Ohio highlighting Franklin County
Location in the state of Ohio
Map of the U.S. highlighting Ohio
Location of Ohio in the U.S.
Courthouse
Oh-franklin-cogovtcntr.jpg
Address Franklin County Government Center
373 South High Street, 23rd Floor
Columbus, OH 43215
Franklin County Website


Franklin County, Ohio Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1908 1803 1908 1803 1800 1805 1820
Statewide registration for births and deaths started in 1908. General compliance year is unknown.
  • Parent Counties: Formed from Ross and Wayne Counties and unorganized land in 30 March 1803.[2]
  • County Seat: Columbus

Description[edit | edit source]

The county was named after Benjamin Franklin. It's county seat is Columbus and was founded April 30, 1803. It is located in the Mid-central area of the state.[3]

Places/Localities[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. Hometown Locator The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county: [4]

Cities
Villages
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places
Townships


Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]

Delaware County  • Licking County  • Fairfield County  • Pickaway County  • Madison County  • Union County

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

  • Parts set off in a series of divisions:
    • 20 February 1805: Champaign
    • 10 February 1808: Delaware
    • 12 January 1810: Pickaway
    • 16 Febrary 1810: Madison
    • 10 January 1820: Union

For animated maps illustrating Ohio county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Ohio County Boundary Maps" (1788-1888) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

The 1820 US Federal Census is missing for Franklin County.

1879 A courthouse fire may have damaged or destroyed some records. For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:


Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

For an extensive list of resources for Bible Records see Ohio Bible Records.

Biography[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.

Online Grave Transcripts Published Grave Transcripts County Cemetery Directories

Findagrave.com

Family History Library

Findagrave.com

Interment.net

WorldCat

Names in Stone

USGW Tombstones

Billion Graves

Billion Graves
OHGenWeb Tombstone Photos

Ohio Gravestones

See Ohio Cemeteries for more information.

Census[edit | edit source]

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1810 3,486
1820 10,292 195.2%
1830 14,741 43.2%
1840 25,049 69.9%
1850 42,909 71.3%
1860 50,361 17.4%
1870 63,019 25.1%
1880 86,797 37.7%
1890 124,087 43.0%
1900 164,460 32.5%
1910 221,567 34.7%
1920 283,951 28.2%
1930 361,055 27.2%
1940 388,712 7.7%
1950 503,410 29.5%
1960 682,962 35.7%
1970 833,249 22.0%
1980 869,132 4.3%
1990 961,437 10.6%
2000 1,068,978 11.2%
2010 1,163,414 8.8%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Ohio denominations, view the Ohio Church Records wiki page.

Lutheran[edit | edit source]

Christ Lutheran Church, Columbus

  • Records of Christ Lutheran Church, Columbus, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Gehanna

  • Records of the American Lutheran Church, Gehanna, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Finding Church Records at Other Repositories

  • various years - St. Mary's Church contact information for look ups at St. Mary's. Courtesy OhioGenWeb

Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Franklin County, Ohio Church Records in online catalogs like:

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Archives, Libraries, and Museums
Biographies
Church Records
Cemetery Records
Court Records
Histories
Immigration/emigration/migration
Maps
Newspapers
Societies

Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Genealogy[edit | edit source]

History[edit | edit source]

  • Named for Benjamin Franklin.
  • The county was created just 2 months after Ohio became a state.
  • The county originally extended all the way to Lake Erie before the divisions.

Local histories are available for Franklin County, Ohio Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Ohio Local Histories.

Local History[edit | edit source]

Land and Property[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Ohio Land and Property for additional information about early Ohio land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Finding More Land Records[edit source]

Additional land records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Franklin County, Ohio Genealogy Land and Property Records in online catalogs like:


Maps[edit | edit source]

Union CountyDelaware CountyLicking CountyFairfield CountyPickaway CountyMadison CountyOH FRANKLIN.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Military[edit | edit source]

Revolution, 1775-1783[edit | edit source]
Civil War, 1861-1865[edit | edit source]

Civil War service men from Franklin County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Franklin County.

- 1st Regiment, Ohio Cavalry, Companies F and K
-1st Regiment, Ohio Heavy Artillery, Company C
- 113th Regiment, Ohio Infantry , Companies B, C, H, and I
  • Franklin County, Ohio Civil War Military Roster. (Austin, Minnesota : Ohio Genealogy Center, c1984). Libraries with book. FHL book 977.156 M2f
  • Histories of the large companies from Franklin County can be found in William Brothers, History of Franklin and Pickaway Counties, Ohio (Indiana: Unigraphic, 1974).
World War I[edit | edit source]

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Franklin County, Ohio Genealogy newspapers may contain genealogical value including obituaries, births, marriages, deaths, anniversaries, family gatherings, family travel, achievements, business notices, engagement information, and probate court proceedings.

To access newspapers, contact public libraries, Ohio Genealogical Society chapters, college or university libraries, the Library of Congress, Google News, or the Ohio Historical Society. The Ohio Genealogical Society Obituary Database is another source of newspaper information.

For more Ohio newspaper information see the Newspaper Guides on the wiki page Ohio Newspapers.


Online Newspapers


 Online Newspaper Abstracts
 Newspaper Extracts and Abstracts in Book Form
 

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate[edit | edit source]

From 1797 or the creation of the county, probate records were held by the Court of Common Pleas. After 1852, records are held by the {{{1}}} County Probate Court. Records include wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (1867-1908 only). The records may give the decedent's date of death, name of spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

See Ohio Probate Records for information about how to use probate records. Online Probate Records

Finding More Probate Records[edit source]

Additional probate records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Franklin County, Ohio Genealogy Probate Records in online catalogs like:

Public Records[edit | edit source]

Repositories[edit | edit source]

Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Franklin County Courthouse
3695 High Street
Columbus, OH 43215
Phone: 614.645.3600 

Probate Court has birth and death records before 1908,
marriage and probate records; Clerk Court has divorce
and court records from 1803; County Auditor has land records[5]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the

FHC directory. Put your town name in the top search box.

Libraries[edit | edit source]
Museums[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]
Online Genealogy Research Groups[edit | edit source]

Taxation[edit | edit source]

Finding More Tax Records

Additional tax records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Franklin County, Ohio Genealogy Tax Records in online catalogs like:

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Marriages were usually recorded from the formation of the county and are held at the office of the County Probate Court. Divorce records are located with the county Clerk of Courts.

Any existing birth and death records from 1867 through December 19, 1908 are located at the County Probate Court. The Ohio Department of Health has birth records filed after December 20, 1908 and death records filed after January 1, 1954, while the Ohio History Connection houses death records from December 20, 1908 through December 31, 1953.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Online Birth Indexes and Records

Original Birth Records on Microfilm

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Online Marriage Indexes and Records


Original Marriage Records on Microfilm

Death[edit | edit source]

Online Death Indexes and Records

Original Death Records on Microfilm

go to Hint: Entering name of the county, will narrow the search.

Finding More Vital Records

Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Franklin County, Ohio Genealogy Vital Records in online catalogs like:

Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Franklin County, Ohio Genealogy Vital Records in online catalogs like:

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Franklin County, Ohio. Page 540-547 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 531-533.
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
  3. http://genealogytrails.com/ohio/franklin/ accessed 2/16/2017
  4. Wikipedia contributors, "Franklin County, Ohio," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Franklin_County,_Ohio, accessed 12 November 2018.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Franklin County, Ohio. Page 542 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.