Franklin County, Georgia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Georgia
Franklin County

Guide to Franklin County, Georgia ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

Franklin County, Georgia
Map
Map of Georgia highlighting Franklin County
Location in the state of Georgia
Facts
Founded February 25, 1784
County Seat Carnesville
Courthouse
Address Franklin County Courthouse
Courthouse Square
PO Box 159
Carnesville, GA 30521
Phone: 706.384.2483
Franklin County Website


County Information

Franklin County, Georgia Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Franklin County, Georgia Genealogy Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate

1806

1790
1786
1786


County Courthouse

Franklin County Courthouse
Courthouse Square
PO Box 159
Carnesville, GA 30521
Phone: 706.384.2483

Clerk Superior Court has divorce and court records from 1900 and land records from 1860; some other records prior to 1850 are in the Georgia Archives.[1]

Clerk of Superior Court
9592 Lavonia Rd.
P.O. Box 70
Carnesville, GA 30521
Telephone: (706) 384-2514

Probate Court of Franklin County
7085 Highway 145, Suite A
Carnesville, GA 30521
Telephone: 706 -384- 2403
Fax: 706-384-2636

History

Parent County

1784--Franklin County was created 25 February 1784 from Cherokee Indian Lands.
County seat: Carnesville[2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.[3]

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Banks County  • Hart County  • Madison County  • Oconee County  • Stephens County

Error: Image is invalid or non-existent.


Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Franklin, Georgia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Georgia Cemeteries for more information

The following web site may have additional information on Franklin County cemeteries.

Census

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.

Court

Genealogy

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Franklin County, Georgia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.

Maps

Gafranklin.jpg

Military

  • Georgia Military - USGenWeb Archives Project
Civil War

Online Records

Regiments. Service men in Franklin County, Georgia Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Franklin County, Georgia Genealogy:

- 15th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company B
- 34th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company I
- 37th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company F
- 52nd Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company K
- Georgia USGenWeb Archives Project


  • Ledford, Karen Ann Thompson. These Men Wore Grey Genealogical, Military, and Interment Records of Confederate Soldiers. (Toccoa, Georgia: K.T. Ledford, c1998-c2001), 7 Volumes. Each volume contains bibliographical references and full-name index. Contents: v. 1. Franklin County -- v. 2. Habersham County --v. 3. Stephens County -- v. 4. Rabun County --v. 5. White County -- v. 6. Banks County -- v. 7. Jackson County. Book found at FHL 975.8 V3L and Other Libraries.
  • Tabor, Anna Belle Little. 1986. History of Franklin County, Georgia. Roswell, Ga. (P.O. Box 972, Roswell 30077): WH Wolfe Associates. (page 756) 975.8135 H2h
  • Blakely, Duchess B., Judy H. Hulsey, and Vivian B. Young. 2011. Remembering Franklin County Confederate soldiers & others --: 1861-2011. Lavonia, Georgia: United Daughters of the Confederacy. Lavonia Chapter no. 1216. (page 34-172) 975.8135 M2r
  • Franklin County (Georgia). Superior Court Clerk. 1964. Confederate roster, 1862-1865. Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah. film 363289

Naturalization

Newspapers

Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Franklin County, Georgia Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Occupations

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

Colonial courts kept some early probate records.  From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records.  The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.

Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).

The organization Strictly By Name provides free online indexes to early Franklin County probate records. They offer a record retrieval service to photocopy and transcribe microfilm copies of the original documents for a small fee. Available indexes:

  • 1786-1813 - Wills, Appraisements, Inventories 1786-1813 (digital images). See list of testators. Georgia Pioneers $
  • 1814-1824 - Wills and Estates, Book B, 1814-1824 (digital images). See list of testators. Georgia Pioneers $
  • 1824-1849 - Wills and Estates, Book C, 1824-1849 (digital images) Georgia Pioneers $
  • 1899-1900 - Wills 1899-1900 (digital images). See list o testators.  Georgia Pioneers $
  • 1848-1865 - Index to Wills 1848-1865 Georgia Pioneers $
  • 1814-1829 - Index to Wills, Inventories, Guardians 1814-1829 Georgia Pioneers $

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online..

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia. See also How to order Georgia Vital Records

Birth
Marriage Records
Death Records
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Savannah River Valley Genealogical Society

Family History Centers

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Franklin County, Georgia. Page 155 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 32. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  4. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/57/Igigeorgiael.pdf.