Foy, Herefordshire Genealogy
Guide to Foy, Herefordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Ross|
|Parish registers: 1570|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1661|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Hereford (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Herefordshire Record Office|
FOY (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Ross, partly in the hundred of Greytree, but chiefly in the Upper division of the hundred of Wormelow, county of Hereford, 3¾ miles (N.) from Ross, and on the road between Gloucester and Hereford 
Foy is an Ancient Parish which included Eaton Tregoes within the parish boundary; the hamlet and civil parish of Foy the civil parish includes Hole-in-the Wall and Old Gore within its boundary. Foy Wikipedia
The 13th century church of St Mary Foy has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building
See Foy St Mary
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records.
FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through theFHC Portalpage which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
Category:England Family History Centres to locate local Family History Centres in UK
Introduction to LDS Family History Centers to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.
Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)
The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Herefordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 255-259. Accessed and adapted 6 August, 2013.