To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Fountain County, Indiana Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Fountain County, Indiana)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Fountain County, Indiana ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

Fountain County, Indiana
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Indiana
Location of Indiana in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 20, 1825
County Seat Covington
Courthouse
Address Fountain County Courthouse
301 4th St; PO Box 183
Covington, IN 47932
Phone: 765.793.2192
Adopt-a-wiki page
Indiana Genealogical Society.JPG This page adopted by:
Indiana Genealogical Society
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today


Historical Facts[edit | edit source]

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1885 1827 1885 1830 1828 1830 1807
Statewide registration for births in 1907 and deaths in Oct 1899. General compliance by 1917.
  • Parent Counties: Formed December 20, 1826 from Montgomery/Wabash New Purchase[2]
  • County Seat: Covington [3]

Description[edit | edit source]

The county was named for James Fontaine 1757-1790 was an officer who served in American Revolutionary War and the Northern Indian War. It's county seat is Covington and was founded 1826.[4] It is located in the West central area of the state.[5]

Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]

Warren  • Tippecanoe  • Montgomery  • Parke  • Vermillion

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

For animated maps illustrating Indiana County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Indiana County Boundary Maps" (1790-1873) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business Records[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
INGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
INGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
Indiana Interment
Billion Graves
See Indiana Cemeteries for more information.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For tips on accessing Fountain County, Indiana Genealogy census records online, see: Indiana Census.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository.


For more information about these major repositories, see Indiana Church Records.


Finding More Church Records[edit source]

Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Fountain County, Indiana Genealogy Church Records in online catalogs like:


Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Histories[edit | edit source]

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Fountain County, Indiana Genealogy. County histories may include biographies; church, school and government histories; and military information.

  • Beckwith, H. W., P. S. Kennedy, and Thomas Fleming Davidson. 1970. History of Fountain County, together with historic notes on the Wabash Valley: gleaned from early authors, old maps and manuscripts, private and official correspondence, and other authentic sources. (Evansville, Ind: Unigraphic) 977.247 H2b FHL US/CAN Book FHL Collection    other libraries     INTERNET ARCHIVE
  • Portrait and biographical record of Montgomery, Parke and Fountain Counties, Indiana containing biographical sketches of prominent and representative citizens, together with biographies and portraits of all the presidents of the United States. (1893. Chicago: Chapman Bros.)    other libraries      INTERNET ARCHIVE

For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Indiana Local Histories.

Land and Property[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

After land was transferred from the government to private ownership, subsequent transactions were recorded at the courthouse, where records are currently housed.

See Indiana Land and Property for additional information about early Indiana land grants and patents.


Finding More Land Records[edit source]

Additional land records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Fountain County, Indiana Genealogy Probate Records in online catalogs like:


Maps[edit | edit source]

Warren CountyTippecanoe CountyMontgomery CountyParke CountyVermillion CountyIN FOUNTAIN.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Military Records[edit | edit source]

War of 1812[edit | edit source]

Moyer, Edward,Fountain County, Indiana Military (Veedersburg, Indiana: Fountain County Genealogy Society, c2009-2009 2 Volumes FHL Books 977.247Me

Mexican War, 1846-1848[edit | edit source]
Civil War[edit | edit source]

Civil War service men from Fountain County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Fountain County

Civil War Books

  • Salts, Walter. 1980. Fountain County, Indiana, draft call of 1864. (Indiana?: W. Salts?.) 977.2 A1 no. 218 FHL US/CAN Book  FHL Collection  other libraries
World War I (The Great War), 1914-1918[edit | edit source]
World War II, 1941-1945[edit | edit source]

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

In most counties in Indiana, probate records have been kept by the county clerk of the circuit court. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.


Online Records


Finding More Probate Records[edit source]

Additional probate records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Fountain County, Indiana Genealogy Probate Records in online catalogs like:

Public Records[edit | edit source]

School Records[edit | edit source]
Voter Registration[edit | edit source]

Repositories[edit | edit source]

Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Fountain County Courthouse
301 4th St; PO Box 183
Covington, IN 47932
Phone: 765.793.2192

County Health Department has birth and death records from 1885.
County Clerk has marriage records from 1827, divorce, probate
and court records from 1830.
County Recorder has land records from 1828. [6]

Archives[edit | edit source]
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Museums[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]

Fountain County Historical Society
PO Box 148
Kingman, IN 47952

Fountain County Genealogical Society
405 N. Mill St.
PO Box 273
Veedersburg, IN 47987-0273
Telephone Number: 765-397-3657
Telephone Number: 765-294-4954
E-mail: focogensoc@netscape.net
Website

Fountain County Historical Society
403 S. Brady St.
Attica, IN 47918-142

Fountain County Genealogy Society, Inc.
405 North Mill Street
PO Box 273
Veedersburg, IN 47987-0273
Telephone Number/fax: 765-294-4954
E-mail: focogensoc@netscape.net
Website

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the family history center directory.

Taxation[edit | edit source]

Indiana tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties.


For more information see the wiki page Indiana Taxation.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Birth Records[edit | edit source]
Marriage Records[edit | edit source]
Death Records[edit | edit source]

Finding Vital Records at Other Repositories

Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Fountain County, Indiana Genealogy Vital Records in online catalogs like:


Websites[edit | edit source]

Places[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Fountain County, Indiana. Page 211-218 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 208-211.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Wikipedia contributors, "Fountain County, Indiana" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fountain_County,_Indiana (accessed 10 May 2012).
  4. Genealogy Trails History Group, “Fountain County, Indiana Genealogy and History”, http://genealogytrails.com/ind/fountain/ accessed 3/28/2017.
  5. Wikipedia contributors, "Fountain County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fountain_County,_Indiana 3/28/2017.
  6. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Fountain County, Indiana 212 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.