Fort Bridger Indian Agency (Wyoming)
United States American Indians Utah Wyoming Indians of Utah Indians of Wyoming Fort Bridger Indian Agency (Wyoming) Guide to Fort Bridger Indian Agency (Wyoming) ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.
Indian Tribes Associated With This Agency[edit | edit source]
History[edit | edit source]
The Fort Bridger Agency was established by 1855 and was originally located in Provo, Utah. In 1861 it moved to Fort Bridger in what became Wyoming. The Fort Bridger Agency, with primary jurisdiction over the Shoshoni and Bannock Indians, operated under the Utah Superintendency until 1869 when it was transferred to the newly formed Wyoming Superintendency. It became the Shoshone and Bannock Agency.
Records[edit | edit source]
Agencies and subagencies were created as administrative offices of the Bureau of Indian Affairs and its predecessors. Their purpose was (and is) to manage Indian affairs with the tribes, to enforce policies, and to assist in maintaining the peace. The names and location of these agencies may have changed, but their purpose remained basically the same. Many of the records of genealogical value (for the tribe and tribal members) were created by and maintained by the agencies.
References[edit | edit source]
- American Indians: A Select Catalog of National Archives Microfilm Publications. Washington DC: National Archives Trust Fund Board, National Archives and Records Administration, 1998.
- Hill, Edward E. (comp.). Guide to Records in the National Archives of the United States Relating to American Indians. Washington DC: National Archives and Records Service, General Services Administration, 1981.
- Hill, Edward E. The Office of Indian Affairs, 1824-1880: Historical Sketches. New York, New York: Clearwater Publishing Company, Inc., 1974.
- Historical Sketches for Jurisdictional and Subject Headings Used for the Letters Received by the Office of Indian Affairs, 1824-1880. National Archives Microcopy T1105.
- Preliminary Inventory No. 163: Records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs. Washington DC: National Archives and Records Services. Available online