Forsyth County, Georgia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Georgia
Forsyth County

Guide to Forsyth County, Georgia ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

Forsyth County, Georgia
Map
Map of Georgia highlighting Forsyth County
Location in the state of Georgia
Facts
Founded December 3, 1832
County Seat Cumming
Courthouse
Address Forsyth County Courthouse
100 W Courthouse Square
Cumming, GA 30040-0128
Phone: 770.781.2120
Forsyth County Website


County Information

Forsyth County, Georgia Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Forsyth County, Georgia Genealogy Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate

1833

1840
1832
1832

County Courthouse

Forsyth County Courthouse
100 W Courthouse Square
Cumming, GA 30040-0128
Phone: 770.781.2120

Clerk of Courts has land records from 1830s, as well as divorce and court records. Probate Court has birth, marriage, death and probate records.[1]

Clerk of Superior Court
100 Courthouse Square, Suite 010
Cumming, GA 30040
Telephone: (770) 781-2120
Fax: (770) 886-2858

Probate Court of Forsyth County
112 West Maple Street Suite 101
Cumming, GA 30040
Telephone: 770-781-2140

History

Parent County

1832--Forsyth County was created 3 December 1832 from Cherokee County.
County seat: Cumming [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

Fire.png
1973 The courthouse at Cumming burned the evening of 5 November 1973. Loose papers from the Superior Court, Ordinary Court, tax commissioner, and Justice of the Peace were lost. Most county records were in a vault and remained safe.[3]

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Cherokee County  • Dawson County  • Fulton County  • Gwinnett County  • Hall County

Error: Image is invalid or non-existent.


Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

American Indians

Shadburn, Donald L. Pioneer History of Forsyth County, Georgia. The Cottonpatch Press, Cumming, GA. C. 2006

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Forsyth, Georgia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Georgia Cemeteries for more information

The following web site may have additional information on Forsyth County cemeteries.

Census

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.

Court

Genealogy

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Forsyth County, Georgia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.

Maps

Gaforsyth.jpg

Military

  • Georgia Military - USGenWeb Archives Project
Civil War

Online Records

Regiments. Service men in Forsyth County, Georgia Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Forsyth County, Georgia Genealogy:


- 14th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company E
- 21st Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company E
- 22nd Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company E
- 43rd Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Companies E and I
- Georgia USGenWeb Archives Project
  • Bagley, Garland C. 1985. History of Forsyth County, Georgia. Easley, S.C.: Southern Historical Press. (page 383-494: note; has muster rolls of company and regiment not shown above) 975.8265 H2b V. 1-2
  • Shadburn, Don L., and Ted O. Brooke. 1997. Crimson and sabres: a Confederate record of Forsyth County, Georgia. Cumming, Ga. (P.O. Box 3121, Cumming 30028-6515): D.L. Shadburn. (Entire Book) 975.8265 M2s digital version

Naturalization

Newspapers

Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Forsyth County, Georgia Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Occupations

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

Colonial courts kept some early probate records.  From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records.  The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.

Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online..

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia. See also How to order Georgia Vital Records

Birth
Marriage Records
Death Records
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Forsythe County, Georgia. Page 155 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 32. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  4. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/57/Igigeorgiael.pdf.