Forshaga Parish, Värmland, Sweden Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Sweden
Värmland County
Forshaga

Guide to Forshaga Parish, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Forshaga Church

History

Forshaga Municipality is a municipality in Värmland County in west central Sweden and its seat is located in the town of Forshaga.
The first municipality named Forshaga was a market town which was detached from Grava in 1944. The local government reform of the 1970s made Forshaga a unitary municipality in 1971 and in 1974 Ullerud was added to it.
[1]

Forshaga Parish, Värmland, Sweden Genealogy
Jurisdictions
Stift Karlstad
Pastorat 1908(-11-01)-1919 Grava
1919(-05-01)- Forshaga
Län -1779 Närke och Värmland
1779- Värmland
Landskap Värmland
Härad 1908 - Karlstad
Tingslag 1908-1970 Mellansysslet
Domsaga 1908-1970 Mellansysslet
1971-2004 Karlstad
2005- Värmlands läns
Fögderi 1908-1946 Mellansysslet
1946-1966 Karlstad
Kommun 1908-1944 Grava landskommun
1944-1970 Forshaga köping
1971- Forshaga
Militär indelning lägg till
NAD Ref Code SE/VA/13120
National Archive SVAR link
Swedish Wikipedia link
SCB Congregation map link
Open Street map link


Place Names

Berg

Forshaga, Forsnor, Forsnäs

Grossbol, Grossbolstorp, Gräsbol, Gräsbolstorp

Hedås

Klarafors

Löved

Norra Skifed

Skiftorp, Sundstad, Södra Skifed

Öjenäs


Sweden 1951 Place Names Register and the Swedish Parish Pages list in this Wiki will give you searchable lists of places, particularly parishes and the farms within those parishes.

  • Surrounding Parishes


Collections

Census Records

Church Records

Online Database Church Records

The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these five sites (see links to specific collections below). Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital, Ancestry.com, and MyHeritage.com are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.)

Help Using ArkivDigital: Online Databases for Sweden

These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:

Family History Library Records

Click Sweden, Värmland Records for a full listing of microfilmed records (some digitized online) at the Family History Library, that may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.

Click on "Places within Sweden, Värmland and then select your parish.


Military Records

Related Sources

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Help Reading Swedish Records

Help Reading Old Handwriting

Help With Research Objectives and Strategies

Sweden Research Strategies

References:

Forshaga Husförhörslängd AIIa:1a and b, 1908-1914 Ortregister