Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia (FYROM) Genealogy
|Former Yugoslav Republic of |
Macedonia (FYROM) Genealogy Wiki Topics
|Local Research Resources|
Guide to FYROM (Macedonia) ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records,and military records.
Macedonia (FYROM) is a country in the Balkan peninsula in Southeast Europe. It is one of the successor states of the former Yugoslavia, from which it declared independence in 1991. It became a member of the United Nations in 1993, but, as a result of an ongoing dispute with Greece over the use of the name "Macedonia", was admitted under the provisional description the former Yugoslav Republic of FYROM (Macedonia)(sometimes abbreviated as FYROM and FYR Macedonia), a term that is also used by international organizations such as the European Union, the Council of Europe and NATO. Wikipedia
Getting Started with FYROM (Macedonia) Research
Links to articles on getting started with FYROM (Macedonia) research.
FYROM (Macedonia) Research Tools
Links to articles and websites that assist in FYROM (Macedonia) research.
Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia Map
FYROM (Macedonia) region is located on the Balkan peninsula in southeastern Europe. Its boundaries have changed considerably over time. Modern FYROM (Macedonia) region is divided by the national boundaries of Greece (Aegean Macedonia), the Republic of FYROM (Macedonia) (Vardar Macedonia), Bulgaria (Pirin Macedonia), Albania, Serbia. It covers approximately 67,000 square kilometres (25,869 sq mi) and has a population of 4.76 million. From the middle of the 4th century BC, the Kingdom of Macedon became the dominant power in Greece and the neighbouring regions; since then FYROM (Macedonia) has had a diverse history.
More FYROM (Macedonia) Research Tools
- Macedonia Genealogy Resources and Vital Records
- Macedonian Genealogy and Family History
- Kosovo Virtual Jewish History Tour
- Jewish Communities in Macedonia Prior to 1941
- Jewish Cemetery, Bitola, Municipality of Bitola, Macedonia
- Social Organization and Activity of the Jewish
- Jewish Cemetery Records
Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in resourcing your family.
- Facebook Communities - Facebook groups discussing genealogy research