Forgue, Aberdeenshire, Scotland Genealogy
This is a guide to the history and major genealogical records of Scotland as they pertain to the parish of Forgue. To learn more about how to use these records to search for your ancestors, go to the Scotland: Research Strategies.
- 1 History
- 2 Census Records
- 3 Church Records
- 4 Civil Registration Records
- 5 Probate Records
- 6 References
FORGUE, a parish, in the district of Strathbogie, county of Aberdeen, 6½ miles (N. E. by E.) from Huntly. The name of this place was originally written Forrig, and is supposed to be derived from the Gaelic language. The parish is bounded on the north by the river Doveran. The church, situated upon a gentle eminence, is a neat, commodious, and substantial edifice, built in 1819, and containing 900 sittings. The members of the Free Church have a place of worship; there is a small episcopal chapel, and about seven miles from the church is a preaching station, belonging to Seceders.
The New Statistical Account of Scotland (pub. 1834-45) offers uniquely rich and detailed parish reports for the whole of Scotland, covering a vast range of topics including history, agriculture, education, trades, religion and social customs. The reports, written by the parish ministers, are available online at http://edina.ac.uk/stat-acc-scot/. Click on ‘Browse scanned pages’ then search the parish reports for your parish of interest. Also available at the Family History Library.
A census is a count and description of the population, taken by the government, arranged by locality and by household. Read more about census records.
Here is a list of the Family History Library microfilm numbers for the census records of Forgue as well as the library numbers for any surname indexes available:
|| FHL Film Number
|| Surname Indexes|
|| 6086502 (12 fiche)|
The 1901 and 1911 census of Scotland is indexed on www.scotlandspeople.gov.uk. To use it, you must register and pay a small access fee. All available censuses, 1841-1911, are indexed on this website. It may be easier for you to pay to use the website rather than access the separate indexes through the library.
The Established Church of Scotland was Presbyterian. Read more about church records.
Here are the pre-1855 records that exist for this parish.
Established Church–Old Parochial Registers
|Record Type||Years Covered||FHL Film Number|
Condition of Original Registers—
Index: For an index to these records, see Scotland’s People website, a pay-for-view website. The Scottish Church Records Index is also still available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. Some records may also be indexed in other FamilySearch collections for Scotland.
Births: Entries between August and December 1717 are illegible because of dampness or the fading of the ink. There are defective records about 1757–1761, and for 1777. A large number of leaves prior to 1783 are imperfect through want of care. There is a modern transcript of the portion from 1770 to 1819. Mothers’ names not recorded in the entries until 1802.
Marriages: There are transcribed entries of Proclamation Dues prior to 1807. There are two entries 1781–1782, three entries July 1788–June 1793, and five entries July 1796–August 1802. The records are blank November 1803–February 1806, and August 1807–June 1809, after which the record is one of Proclamations and marriages. Deaths: There are transcribed entries of Mortcloth Dues and no entries December 1792–January 1795.
Source: Key to the Parochial Registers of Scotland, by V. Ben Bloxham, pub. 1970. British Book 941 K23b.
Established Church—Kirk Session Records
The Kirk session was the court of the parish. The session was made up of the minister and the land owners and business men of the parish, chosen to serve on the session. The Kirk session dealt with moral issues, minor criminal cases, matters of the poor and education, matters of discipline, and the general concerns of the parish. Kirk session records may also mention births, marriages, and deaths.
Here is a list of the surviving Kirk session records for this parish:
Minutes 1637–1665, 1787–1796, 1854–1891
Accounts 1768–1771, 1781–1846
Minutes and Accounts 1667–1686, 1734–1772
Cash Book 1766–1772
Census and Ecclesiastical State of Lands in Parish 1836, 1854–1859
Other post-1855 records
Note: Available at the National Archives of Scotland, Edinburgh, record CH2/539
The Kirkyard of Forgue in Aberdeen has been indexed by the North-East Scotland Family History Society.
Family History Library
Online listing is available through the: Aberdeen and North-East Scotland Family History Society
Nonconformist Church Records
A nonconformist church is any church that is not the Established church. Read more about nonconformity in Scotland in the article on the Scotland Church Records Union List.
Forgue Associate Burgher Presbyterian Church
This congregation originated with persons in the district who were in favor of a movement known as the “Tabernacle Men”. They applied for supply of sermon from the Associate, Burgher Synod which was granted in 1806. A church was built in 1805. After the minister left in 1831, Forgue was supplied with sermon as a mission station until 1842. At that time the congregation became extinct.
Source: Annals and Statistics of the United Presbyterian Church, by Rev. William MacKelvie, D.D., pub. 1873. Film #477618. More details are given in the source.
There are no known records.
Forgue Free Church
This congregation was formed at the Disruption by those who adhered to the Free Church parish. A church and manse were erected in 1844. In 1843 the population of the parish was 2400 and in1900 it was 1100.
Membership: 1848, 400; 1900, 280
Source: Annals of the Free Church of Scotland, 1843–1900, ed. Rev. William Ewing, D.D., 2 vols. pub. 1914. Film #918572. More details are given in the source.
Various Minutes 1843–1883
Baptismal Register 1843–1849
Notes of Baptisms 1840–1864
Communion Rolls 1843, 1860–1910
Note: Available at the National Archives of Scotland, Edinburgh, record CH3/1044.
Forgue Episcopal Church
This congregation has probably existed since the Revolution. In 1715 the minister was deposed for supporting the Pretender, which so offended the parishioners that many were induced to leave the Established Church and join with the Episcopalians. The chapel was erected in 1795. Several other members resided in adjoining parishes. The congregation was abolished in the latter half of the 19th century.
Membership: 1795, 220; 1842, 180
Source: History of the Scottish Episcopal Church, by John P. Lawson, pub. 1843. A copy is not available in the Family History Library.
Christenings, Marriages, and Burials, 1830–1854
For more information write to:
Inverurie AB51 0AD
This rector has stewardship over Forgue today.
Civil Registration Records
Government or civil registration of births, marriages, and deaths (also called statutory records) began on January 1, 1855 in Scotland. Each parish has a registrar's office and large cities have several. The records are created by the registrars and copies are sent to the General Register Office in Edinburgh. Annual indexes are then created for the records for the whole country.
See the article on Scotland Civil Registration for more information and to access the records.
Forgue was under the probate jurisdiction of the Commissary Court of Aberdeen until 1823, and since then has been under the Sheriff's Court of Aberdeen. Probate records for 1513- 1901 are indexed online at www.scotlandspeople.gov.uk . You must register on the website but use of the index to probate records, called 'Wills & Testaments,' is free. You may then purchase a copy of the document or, if the document is before 1823, it will be on microfilm at the Family History Library. To find the microfilm numbers, search in the library catalog for the 'Place-names' of Aberdeem and the subject of 'Probate records.' Then click on the link to the records of the Commissariat of Aberdeen.
The library also has some post-1823 probate records for Aberdeen. Look in the library catalog for the 'Place-names' of Aberdeen and the subjects of 'Probate Records' and 'Probate Records - Indexes.'
Read more about Scotland Probate Records.
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Scotland (1846), pp. 499-514. Adapted. Date accessed: 12 June 2014.
Return to Aberdeenshire parish list.