Forcett, Yorkshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Forcett, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Forcett, Yorkshire
Forcett St Cuthbert Yorkshire.jpg
Type England Jurisdictions
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred West Gilling
County Yorkshire, England Genealogy
Poor Law Union Richmond
Registration District Richmond
Records begin
Parish registers: 1596
Bishop's Transcripts: 1664
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Richmond
Diocese Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Commissary of the Archdeaconry of Richmond Eastern Deaneries - Richmond
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

FORCETT, a parochial chapelry, in the union of Richmond, wapentake of Gilling-West, N. riding of York; consisting of the townships of Barforth, Carkin, Eppleby, Forcett, and Ovington; and containing 656 inhabitants, of whom 123 are in the township of Forcett, 9 miles (E. by S.) from Darlington.[1]

FORCETT, a hamlet in Richmond district, and a parish partly also in Teesdale district, and all in N. R. Yorkshire. The hamlet lies on the N border of the county, 3½ miles S of Gainford r. station, and 7 N of Richmond. The parish contains also the hamlet of Carkin, and the townships of Eppleby, Barforth, and Ovington. The church is ancient and there is a Free Methodist chapel.[2]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Find Neighboring Parishes[edit | edit source]

Use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map

  • Type the name of the parish in the search bar
  • Click on the location pin on the map
  • Choose Options from the pop up box
  • Click "List Contiguous Parishes" to find the neighboring parishes

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

'The Church of England (Anglican) became the official state religion in 1534, with the reigning monarch as its Supreme Governor.
Non-Conformist refers to all other religious denominations that are not the official state religion.

Church of England[edit | edit source]

Due to the increasing access of online records:

  • Individual parish coverage for databases in this table are inconsistent and should be verified
  • Dates in the following table are approximate

Hover over the collection's title for more information

Forcett Online Parish Records
Collections
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes and images
Indexes only
Indexes and images
Indexes only
Indexes and images
Indexes only
FamilySearch Collections-North Riding
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
FamilySearch Marriage Bonds and Allegations-North Riding
1600s-1800s
-
1600s-1800s
-
1600s-1800s
-
FamilySearch Marriage Bonds and Allegations (Allertonshire)-North Riding
1600s-1800s
-
1600s-1800s
-
1600s-1800s
-
Parish Registers - FamilySearch Catalog
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Bishop's Transcripts - FamilySearch Catalog
1700s-1800s
-
1700s-1800s
-
1700s-1800s
-
FreeREG
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
Find My Past-North Riding ($)
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Find My Past Banns-North Riding ($)
-
-
1600s-1900s
-
-
-
Find My Past Marriage Licences-North Riding ($)
-
-
-
1600s-1800s
-
-
Ancestry Church of England Marriage Bonds-North Riding ($)
-
-
1600s-1800s
-
-
-
Ancestry-England & Wales, Birth, Christening, Marriage and Death Indexes ($)
-
1800s-1900s
-
1800s-1900s
-
1800s-1900s
Databases with Known Incomplete Parish Coverage
Boyd's Marriage Indexes-FMP (Free)
-
-
-
1500s-1800s
-
-
National Burial Index-FMP (Free)
-
-
-
-
-
1600s-1900s

Other Websites
These databases have incomplete parish coverage.

Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Richmond Poor Law Union, Yorkshire Genealogy

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 248-250. Date Accessed: 11 November 2013
  2. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazeteer of England and Wales(1870-72). Date Accessed: 2 April 2013.