Forcett, Yorkshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Forcett, Yorkshire)
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Yorkshire
Yorkshire Parishes A-I
North Riding of Yorkshire
Forcett

Guide to Forcett, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Forcett, Yorkshire
Forcett St Cuthbert Yorkshire.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred West Gilling
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Richmond
Registration District Richmond
Records begin
Parish registers: 1596
Bishop's Transcripts: 1664
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Richmond
Diocese Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Commissary of the Archdeaconry of Richmond Eastern Deaneries - Richmond
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Parish History

FORCETT, a parochial chapelry, in the union of Richmond, wapentake of Gilling-West, N. riding of York; consisting of the townships of Barforth, Carkin, Eppleby, Forcett, and Ovington; and containing 656 inhabitants, of whom 123 are in the township of Forcett, 9 miles (E. by S.) from Darlington.[1]

FORCETT, a hamlet in Richmond district, and a parish partly also in Teesdale district, and all in N. R. Yorkshire. The hamlet lies on the N border of the county, 3½ miles S of Gainford r. station, and 7 N of Richmond. The parish contains also the hamlet of Carkin, and the townships of Eppleby, Barforth, and Ovington. The church is ancient and there is a Free Methodist chapel.[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records

Forcett parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP = Yorkshire Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP BTs = Yorkshire Bishop's Transcripts of Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Banns = Yorkshire Banns (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Marr = Yorkshire, Archbishop Of York Marriage Licences Index, 1613-1839 (FindMyPast) - ($)
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Forcett Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP 1538-2000
1534-1942
1537-2016
FMP BTs 1558-1914
1558-1899
1560-1919
FMP Banns

1600-1932


FMP Marr

1613-1839


JOIN

1538-1837


BOYD

1538-1850


NBI



1538-2005
IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the North Yorkshire County Record Office.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Poor Law Unions

Richmond Poor Law Union, Yorkshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 248-250. Date Accessed: 11 November 2013
  2. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazeteer of England and Wales(1870-72). Date Accessed: 2 April 2013.
  3. ArcherSoftware.co.uk