Fond du Lac County, Wisconsin Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Wisconsin
Fond du Lac County

Guide to Fond du Lac County Wisconsin ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}


Fond du Lac County, Wisconsin
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Wisconsin
Location of Wisconsin in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 7, 1836
County Seat Fond du Lac
Courthouse
Address Fond du Lac County Courthouse
160 S Macy Street
Fond du Lac, WI 54935-4241
Phone. 920.929.3000


WI Fond du Lac.png


County Information

Fond du Lac County, Wisconsin Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1852 1844 1840 1836 1839

County Courthouse

Fond du Lac County Clerk
160 S Macy Street
Fond du Lac, WI 54935-4241
Phone. 920.929.3000

Register of Deeds has birth records from 1847, marriage records from 1844, death records from 1868 and land records;
Clerk of Courts has divorce  and court records;
Probate Office has probate records;
Veterans Office has military records [1]

Historical Facts

Parent County

1836--Fond du Lac County was created 7 December 1836 from Brown County.  County seat: Fond du Lac [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Wisconsin County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Wisconsin County Boundary Maps" (1790-1961) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places / Localities

WI FOND DU LAC.JPG

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Calumet  • Dodge  • Green Lake  • Sheboygan  • Washington  • Winnebago

Resources

Bible Records

Biography

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
WIGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
WIGenWeb Archives
WITombstone Project
Interment
EPodunk
WI Local History Network
Billion Graves
See Wisconsin Cemeteries for more information.

Census

State Census
  • 1855 - 1855 Wisconsin State Census This census includes name of head of family; other individuals in the household are identified by sex and race, number of deaf and dumb, blind, insane and foreign born.
  • 1865 - 1865 Wisconsin State Census Name index and images of the 1865 State Census which names the head of household. Most records have been destroyed but schedules exist for the following counties: Dunn, Green, Jackson, Kewaunee, Ozaukee, and Sheboygan.
  • 1875 - 1875 Wisconsin State Census Identifies head of household by name.
  • 1885 - Wisconsin State Census, 1885 at FamilySearch — index and images. Search indexed census.  Identifies by name of head of household.  Other information is statistical and identifies the rest of the household by race, gender and country of birth.
  • 1895 - Wisconsin State Census, 1895 at FamilySearch — index and images. Identifies head of household by name. Other information is statistical.
  • 1905 - Wisconsin State Census, 1905 at FamilySearch — Name index and images of population. Enumerates by name all inhabitants.
Federal Census

Church History and Records

Court Records

Crime and Criminals

Directories

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups

Germans

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

Land and Property

Maps

Fond du Lac Townships Map  --  Mouse over 1855 to see the latest.

1867 Perspective Map of the City of Fond du Lac

1878 Map of the City of Fond du Lac

Current Parcel maps for the City of Fond du Lac

Migration

Military History and Records

Civil War

Civil War service men from Fond du Lac County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are many companies or regiments that were formed from men of Fond du Lac County.

-1st Regiment, Wisconsin Cavalry, Companies, B, C, D, E, F and I
- 2nd Regiment, Wisconsin Cavalry, Company A
- 3rd Regiment, Wisconsin Cavalry, Company C
- 5th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company I
- 5th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry Reorganized, Companies B and H
- 6th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company E
- 10th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company K
- 14th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company H with men from the town of Forest, which is found in Fond du Lac County, Richland County, St. Croix County or Vernon County


World War I
World War II

US Army Enlistees from Fond du Lac County (USGenWeb Archives)

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Periodicals

Probate Records

A wiki article describing an online collection is found at : Wisconsin Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Online Records

Repositories

See also a List of Wisconsin Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Archives, Libraries and Museums
County Courthouse
Family History Centers

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Societies

Fond du Lac County Genealogical Society
PO Box 1264
Fond du Lac, WI 54935-1056
Telephone: 920-923-3168
Website

Fond du Lac County Historical Society
PO Box 1284
Fond du Lac, WI 54936-1284
Telephone: 920-922-0991
website

Taxation

Vital Records

Birth Records
Marriage Records
Divorce Records
Death Records

Voting Registers

Websites

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. page 757 Fond du Lac County, Wisconsin (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).