Fluvanna County, Virginia Genealogy
Guide to Fluvanna County, Virginia ancestry, family history and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, immigration records, and military records.
|Fluvanna County, Virginia|
Location in the state of Virginia
Location of Virginia in the U.S.
- 1 County Information
- 2 Fluvanna County Virginia History
- 3 Fluvanna County Virginia Places/Localities
- 4 Fluvanna County Virginia Genealogy Resources
- 4.1 Research Guides
- 4.2 African American
- 4.3 Bible Records
- 4.4 Cemeteries
- 4.5 Census
- 4.6 Church Records
- 4.7 Court
- 4.8 Funeral Homes
- 4.9 Genealogy
- 4.10 Immigration
- 4.11 Land and Property
- 4.12 Local Histories
- 4.13 Maps
- 4.14 Military
- 4.15 Miscellaneous Records
- 4.16 Naturalization
- 4.17 Newspapers
- 4.18 Private Papers
- 4.19 Probate
- 4.20 Taxation
- 4.21 Vital Records
- 5 Fluvanna County Virginia Genealogy Societies and Libraries
- 6 Fluvanna County Virginia Genealogy Websites
- 7 Fluvanna County Virginia Genealogy References
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
Fluvanna County is located in the Central portion of the Commonwealth of Virginia and was named for the Fluvanna River, the name given to the James River west of Columbia, Virginia. Fluvanna means "Annie's River" in honor of Queen Anne of England.
Fluvanna County Virginia Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Fluvanna County Courthouse
P O Box 299
Palmyra, Virginia 22963
Clerk Circuit Court has birth and death records 1853-1896, marriage, divorce, probate court and land records from 1777 and some burial records
General compliance year is unknown.
Fluvanna County Virginia History[edit | edit source]
Parent County[edit | edit source]
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
For animated maps illustrating Virginia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Virginia County Boundary Maps" (1617-1995) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
- Lost censuses: 1790, 1800, 1890
Fluvanna County Virginia Places/Localities[edit | edit source]
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:
Fluvanna County Virginia Genealogy Resources[edit | edit source]
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
- A Guide to the Counties of Virginia: Fluvanna County. The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 10, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1966):76-77. Available at FHL; digital version at American Ancestors ($).
- Fluvanna County Research. By Marie Martin Murphy. The Virginia Genealogical Society Newsletter, Vol. 23, No. 6 (Jun. 1999):1-3. Available at FHL; digital version at Virginia Genealogical Society.
African American[edit | edit source]
- 1865-1872 Freedmen's Bureau Letters or Correspondence, 1865-1872
- 1935-2009 Virginia, African-American Funeral Programs, 1935-2009, index and images, incomplete
- Fluvanna County Personal Property Tax List 1782-1818. By Paul Heinegg. Online at: Free African Americans.
- Search the Library of Virginia's Virginia Untold collection for digitized images of African Americans of Fluvanna County.
- Fluvanna County, Virginia Genealogy cohabitation records are available online.
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
Images of the Virginia Historical Society's family Bible collection have been digitized:
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|See Virginia Cemeteries for more information.|
- 1800-1986 - Virginia, Jewish Cemetery Records Index, ca. 1800-1986 at FamilySearch — index
Census[edit | edit source]
- Fluvanna County Heads of Families - 1782 at U.S. Census Bureau - free. County begins on page 18.
1890 Union Veterans
- Virginia's Union Veterans: Eleventh Census of the United States 1890. c1994. By Ronald Ray Turner. Online at: Prince William County Virginia, FHL Collection; At various libraries (WorldCat).
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Baptist[edit | edit source]
Early Baptist churches (with years constituted):
- Fork (1774)
- Lyle's (1798), Wilmington, Va. A history, which includes membership lists 1799-1815, 1877-1974, was published in 1974: FHL Book 975.547 K2t. Another history was published in the Fluvanna County Historical Society Bulletin, Issue 59 (Spring 1995), as well as back in Issue 18 (April 1974).
- 1776 Petition of Baptists (10,000 names!) and sympathizers from all over Virginia, dated 16 October 1776, asking for an end to persecution of Baptists by the established church. After locating your ancestor, view the digital copies.
– Digital copies at Library of Congress; also at Library of Virginia using the code word "000606093"
– Hall, Jean Pickett. "Legislative Petitions: the 10,000 name petition" transcription in the Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vols. 35-38, with annotations in Vol. 39, (Richmond, Virginia: Virginia Genealogical Society, 1983-) online at Ancestry ($) and in book form at various libraries. Fluvanna County fell within the bounds of the Albemarle Association.
- First Minute Book, Upper Beaver Dam Church, Fluvanna, Virginia. By Mrs. James E. King." [1830s-1850s] The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 14, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1970):99-104. FHL; digital version at American Ancestors ($).
Church of England[edit | edit source]
See also Fluvanna Parish
Court[edit | edit source]
Library of Virginia's Chancery Record Index includes digital images of Fluvanna County chancery records for the years 1779-1882. Additional unindexed chancery records are available via the Fluvanna County Circuit Court Clerk's office.
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2009 Virginia, African-American Funeral Programs, 1935-2009, index and images, incomplete
Genealogy[edit | edit source]
Compiled Genealogies by Surname
- See Fluvanna County, Virginia Compiled Genealogies for a list of 25+ published books and articles, or jump to the surname using the alphabet bar.
Immigration[edit | edit source]
During the War of 1812, American officials reported finding a total of 1 British alien living in Fluvanna County.
Land and Property[edit | edit source]
Grants and Patents
Land patents (pre-1779), land grants (after 1779) and surveys are available online at the Library of Virginia website. For step-by-step instructions on retrieving these records, read the Virginia Land and Property article.
- Hudgins et al. 713 patents dated 1721-1855 in what is now Fluvanna County, Virginia placed on a map. DeedMapper, 2008. [Names of those who received land patents, dates, land descriptions, and references may be viewed free of charge (click "Index" next to the county listing); however, in order to view the maps, it is necessary to purchase Direct Line Software's DeedMapper product.]
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
- The Bulletin of the Fluvanna County Historical Society. By Fluvanna County Historical Society. Issues 1-25. The Society, 1965-1977. Online at: Hathitrust (Vol 1-12), Hathitrust (Vol 13-25), Internet Archive (Vol 1-12).
Maps[edit | edit source]
Military[edit | edit source]
French and Indian War[edit | edit source]
- Virginia's Colonial Soldiers. By Lloyd DeWitt Bockstruck. 1988. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co. FHL US/CAN Book 975.5 M2bL.
Revolutionary War[edit | edit source]
Regiments. Service men in Fluvanna County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Fluvanna County supplied soldiers for the:
- A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. 1841. Online at: U.S. Census Bureau, Google Books. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. See Virginia, Eastern District, Fluvanna County on page 130.
- Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions. Washington, D.C., 1852. Reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1969 and 1991. Reprints include an Added Index to States. Online at: Ancestry. FHL Collection. Virginia section begins on page 238.
- Virginia Militia in the Revolutionary War: McAllister's Data. c1913. By J. T. McAllister. Hot Springs, Virginia : McAllister Pub. Co. Online at: Hathitrust, Internet Archive, Google Books; At various libraries (WorldCat).
War of 1812[edit | edit source]
Fluvanna County men served in the 12th Regiment.
- List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... 1883. Washington, D.C : Government Printing Office. Online at: Internet Archive, Google Books. See Vol. 5, Virginia, Fluvanna County, pp. 79-80. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.
- Roster of War of 1812, Southside, Virginia. By James L. Douthat. 2007. Signal Mountain, Tenn : Mountain Press. Free online surname index and purchase details at Mountain Press ($); At various libraries (WorldCat).
Civil War[edit | edit source]
Regiments. Service men in Fluvanna County, Virginia Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Fluvanna County, Virginia Genealogy:
- - 44th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company D (Ambler Grays), Company F (Fluvanna Hornets) and Company K (Fluvanna Guards).
- - 46th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company D (Scottsville Grays).
- 1861-1865 Virginia, Civil War, Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865
- 1861-1865 Virginia, Civil War, Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865
- 1861-1865 U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index
- 1861-1865 U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index
Miscellaneous Records[edit | edit source]
Naturalization[edit | edit source]
- Virginia Naturalization Petitions, 1906-1929
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
The Virginia Newspapers Project identifies local Fluvanna County, Virginia Genealogy newspapers.Indexed images of the Virginia Gazette (1736-1780) are available online through the Colonial Williamsburg website. In addition, Professor Tom Costa and The Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia have created a database of all runaway advertisements for slaves, indentured servants, transported convicts, and ship deserters listed in this source and other Virginia newspapers (1736-1803), see: The Geography of Slavery in Virginia. These newspapers are valuable resources for all regions of Virginia.
Private Papers[edit | edit source]
Virginia, Historical Society Papers, 1607-2007
Probate[edit | edit source]
A free index to Fluvanna County, Virginia Genealogy wills and administrations (1777-1800) is available at the Library of Virginia.
- 1777 - 1823 Images of Wills & Estates. Virginia Pioneers ($)
- 1786 - 1825 Images of Wills & Estates. Virginia Pioneers ($)
- Images of Wills, Inventories, Estates Book 1, 1777-1808; Book 2, 1808-1823. Virginia Pioneers ($)
Taxation[edit | edit source]
- 1782-1812 Fluvanna County Personal Property Tax Lists 1782-1812 (images); digital version in Tax List Club at Binns Genealogy ($).
- 1782-1850 Fluvanna County, Virginia Personal Property Tax Lists, 1782-1850. Original records, Library of Virginia, Richmond, Va.; also available on microfilm at FHL.
- 1782-1818 Fluvanna County Personal Property Tax List 1782-1818. By Paul Heinegg. Online at: Free African Americans.
- 1782-1800, 1863-1864, 1892 Fluvanna County, Virginia Land (Tax) Books, 1782-1800, 1863-1864, 1892. Original records, Fluvanna County Courthouse, Palmyra, Va.; also available on microfilm at FHL.
- 1783 Personal Property (or Land) Tax List, 1783. Online at: Revolutionary War Service.
- 1787 The 1787 Census of Virginia: An Accounting of the Name of Every White Male Tithable Over 21 Years, the Number of White Males Between 16 & 21 Years, the Number of Slaves over 16; Those Under 16 Years, Together with a Listing of Their Horses, Cattle; Carriages, and Also the Names of All Persons to Whom Ordinary Licenses and Physician's Licenses Were Issued. By Netti Schreiner-Yantis and Florene Speakman Love. c1987. Springfield, Virginia : Genealogical Books in Print. At various libraries (WorldCat). Fluvanna County is included in Vol. 1.
- 1790, 1802 Images of the 1790-1802 Personal Property Tax List of Fluvanna County, Virginia - Binns Genealogy ($).
- 1800 Fluvanna County, Virginia, 1800 Tax List. The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 22, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1978):16-22. Available at FHL; digital version at American Ancestors ($).
- 1815 1815 Directory of Virginia Landowners (and Gazetteer). By Roger D. Ward. c1997. Athens, Georgia: Iberian Pub. Co. FHL 975 E4w. At various libraries (WorldCat). Fluvanna County is included in Vol. 1.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Indexes to Fluvanna County, Virginia Genealogy births, marriages, and deaths are available online. These collections are incomplete, but are easy to search. Most records can also be ordered electronically online as well. Courtesy: FamilySearch. See also How to order Virginia Vital Records
Birth[edit | edit source]
- 1851-1854 Fluvanna County Birth Index 1851-1854. Batch C868774 at FamilySearch.
- 1853-1866 Virginia, Slave Birth Index, 1853-1866 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1912-1913 Virginia, Birth Certificates, 1912-1913 at FamilySearch — index and images
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1660-1800 Virginia Marriages 1660-1800 Ancestry) ($).
- 1660-1959 Virginia, United States Marriages at FindMyPast ($).
- 1740-1850 Virginia Marriages 1740-1850 (Ancestry) ($).
- 1777-1858 Fluvanna County Marriage Bonds VAGenWeb.
- 1785-1940 Virginia, Select Marriages, 1785-1940 at Ancestry.com ($) — index
- 1853-1935 Virginia, Bureau of Vital Statistics, County Marriage Registers, 1853-1935 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1936-1988 Virginia, Marriage Certificates, 1936-1988 at FamilySearch — index and images
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1912-1987 Virginia, Death Certificates, 1912-1987 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1929-1976 Virginia, Fluvanna County Colbert Funeral Home Records, 1929-1976 at FamilySearch — index and images
Vital Record Substitutes[edit | edit source]
The Virginia Historical Society's Marriage and Obituary Index, 1736-1820 (newspaper abstracts) is available at FamilySearch. Images of the original index cards are browseable, arranged alphabetically by surname.
|For birth, marriage, and death record substitutes, see Bible Records, Cemeteries, Church Records, Newspapers, and Probate Records.|
Funeral home records can be browsed on the following online FamilySearch collection: Virginia, Fluvanna County Colbert Funeral Home Records, 1929-1976
Fluvanna County Virginia Genealogy Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
Fluvanna County Virginia Genealogy Websites[edit | edit source]
- Fluvanna County, Virginia USGENWEB.
- Fluvanna Historical Society
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Fluvanna County, VA History, Records, Facts and Genealogy (Familytree101)
- Cyndi's List
Fluvanna County Virginia Genealogy References[edit | edit source]
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Fluvanna County, Virginia. Page 713 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Fluvanna County, Virginia . Page 710-723 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 715-720.
- Wikipedia contributors, "Fluvanna County, Virginia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fluvanna_County,_Virginia, accessed 17 June 2020.
- Robert Baylor Semple and George William Beale, A History of the Rise and Progress of the Baptists in Virginia (Pitt and Dickinson, 1894), 221. Digital version at Google Books.
- Archie Paul Thompson, Lyles Baptist Church, 1774-1974, Fluvanna County, Virginia (Va.: A.P. Thompson and Trustees of Lyles Baptist Church, 1974). FHL Book 975.547 K2t.
- William Meade, Old Churches, Ministers and Families of Virginia, 2 vols. (Philadelphia: J.B. Lippincott and Co., 1861). Digital versions at Internet Archive: Vol. I and Vol. II.
- Kenneth Scott, British Aliens in the United States During the War of 1812 (Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1979), 320-333. FHL Book 973 W4s; digital version at Ancestry ($).
- Stuart Lee Butler, A Guide to Virginia Militia Units in the War of 1812 (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Pub. Co., 1988), 84. FHL Book 975.5 M2bs.
- Edward R. Crews and Timothy A. Parish, 14th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1995). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 117.
- Kevin C. Ruffner, 44th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1987). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 39.
- Darrell L. Collins, 46th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1992). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 85.
- Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/3/37/Igivirginia.pdf.