Floyd County, Virginia Genealogy
Guide to Floyd County, Virginia ancestry, family history and genealogy Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, immigration records, and military records.
|Floyd County, Virginia|
Location in the state of Virginia
Location of Virginia in the U.S.
- 1 County Information
- 2 Floyd County Virginia History
- 3 Floyd County Virginia Genealogy Resources
- 3.1 Research Guides
- 3.2 African American
- 3.3 Bible Records
- 3.4 Cemeteries
- 3.5 Census
- 3.6 Church Records
- 3.7 Court
- 3.8 Funeral Homes
- 3.9 Genealogy
- 3.10 Land and Property
- 3.11 Local Histories
- 3.12 Maps
- 3.13 Military
- 3.14 Miscellaneous Records
- 3.15 Naturalization
- 3.16 Newspapers
- 3.17 Probate Records
- 3.18 Private Papers
- 3.19 Taxation
- 3.20 Vital Records
- 4 Floyd County Virginia Genealogy Societies and Libraries
- 5 Floyd County Virginia Genealogy Websites
- 6 Floyd County Virginia Genealogy References
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
Floyd County is located in the Southwestern portion of the Commonwealth of Virginia and was named for then Governor John Floyd.
Floyd County Virginia Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Floyd County Courthouse
100 East Main Street Room 200
Floyd, Virginia 24091
Clerk Circuit Court has birth and death records from 1852-1872, marriage, divorce, probate and court and land records from 1831
General compliance year is unknown.
Floyd County Virginia History[edit | edit source]
The county was named after Virginia Governor John Floyd (1783-1837).
Parent County[edit | edit source]
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
For animated maps illustrating Virginia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Virginia County Boundary Maps" (1617-1995) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
- Lost census: 1890
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Floyd_County,_Virginia
Floyd County Virginia Genealogy Resources[edit | edit source]
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
- A Guide to the Counties of Virginia: Floyd County. The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 10, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1966):74-75. Available at FHL; digital version at American Ancestors ($).
- Bassett Historical Center. By Alice J. Sweeney. The Virginia Genealogical Society Newsletter, Vol. 28, No. 4 (Aug. 2002):1-3. Available at FHL; online at: Virginia Genealogical Society.
African American[edit | edit source]
- 1865-1872 Freedmen's Bureau Letters or Correspondence, 1865-1872
- 1935-2009 Virginia, African-American Funeral Programs, 1935-2009, index and images, incomplete
- Search the Library of Virginia's Virginia Untold collection for digitized images of African Americans of Floyd County.
- Floyd County, Virginia Genealogy cohabitation records are available online.
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
Images of the Virginia Historical Society's family Bible collection have been digitized:
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|See Virginia Cemeteries for more information.|
- 1800-1986 Virginia, Jewish Cemetery Records Index, ca. 1800-1986 at FamilySearch
- Talbert, Bobby. Floyd County, Virginia Burials (VAGenWeb).
Census[edit | edit source]
- 1840 Mountain Empire of Virginia Census. 2001. By James L. Douthat. Signal Mountain, TN : Mountain Press. FHL Collection 975.5 X2d 1840. Free online surname index and purchase details at Mountain Press.
- 1890 Census, Floyd County, Virginia. 1890. By Marjorie Fluor Moore. Santa Ana, CA : McGinnis Printing Company. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library.
1890 Union Veterans
- Virginia's Union Veterans: Eleventh Census of the United States 1890. c1994. By Ronald Ray Turner. Online at: Prince William County Virginia, FHL Collection; At various libraries (WorldCat).
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Baptist[edit | edit source]
Early Baptist churches (with years constituted):
- Pine Creek. Membership lists (1795-1920) have been published: Virginia Appalachian Notes, Vol. 2, No. 4 (Oct. 1978). FHL Book 975.5 D25v v. 1-2 (1977-1978).
Court[edit | edit source]
Library of Virginia's Chancery Record Index includes digital images for Floyd County chancery records 1828-1916. Original chancery causes are maintained by the Floyd County Circuit Court Clerk.
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2009 Virginia, African-American Funeral Programs, 1935-2009, index and images, incomplete
Genealogy[edit | edit source]
Compiled Genealogies by Surname
- See Floyd County, Virginia Compiled Genealogies for a list of a dozen+ published books and articles.
Compiled Genealogies for Multiple Families
- Burton, Charles T. Botetourt County, Virginia, Early Settlers: From the Earliest Times through 1795, in the Area that was Botetourt County in 1782, Covers Parts of Present-day Counties of Montgomery, Bath, Giles, Floyd, Alleghany, Roanoke, Craig and Monroe. Troutville, Va.: n.p., 1979?. FHL Fiche 6015637-6015638.
- Shelor, Sue Jefferson. Pioneers and Their Coat of Arms of Floyd County: Genealogies of Prominent Early Settlers of the Blue Ridge Plateau of Virginia. Winston-Salem, North Carolina: Hunter Publishing, 1961. FHL Book 929.273 Sh44s.
- As of November 2010, a query for individuals born in Floyd, Virginia at World Connect, results in more than 80,000 entries.
Land and Property[edit | edit source]
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Maps[edit | edit source]
Military[edit | edit source]
Revolutionary War[edit | edit source]
- A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. 1841. Online at: U.S. Census Bureau, Google Books. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. See Virginia, Western District, Floyd County on page 134.
- Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions. Washington, D.C., 1852. Reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1969 and 1991. Reprints include an Added Index to States. Online at: Ancestry. FHL Collection. Virginia section begins on page 238.
- Revolutionary War Pension Applications of Southwest Virginia Soldiers. 1997. By Mary B. Kegley. n.p.: M.B. Kegley. FHL Collection
War of 1812[edit | edit source]
- List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... 1883. Washington, D.C : Government Printing Office. Online at: Internet Archive, Google Books. See Vol. 5, Virginia, Floyd County, p. 79. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.
Civil War[edit | edit source]
Regiments. Service men in Floyd County, Virginia Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Floyd County, Virginia Genealogy:
- - 4th Regiment, Virginia State Line (Cavalry and Infantry) (Confederate). Company I (1st).
- - 14th Regiment, Kentucky Cavalry (Confederate). Company A
- - 21st Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company G 2nd.
- - 24th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company A (Floyd Riflemen).
- - 25th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company F.
- - 42nd Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company A (Henry Volunteers), Company F (Leatherwood Fencibles), and Company G (Second Company of Volunteers).
- - 47th Battalion, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company B.
- - 54th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Companies A, B, D, H, and I.
Records and histories are available, including:
- 1861-1865 Virginia, Civil War, Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865
- 1861-1865 Virginia, Civil War, Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865
- 1861-1865 U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry ($)
- 1861-1865 U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry ($)
Miscellaneous Records[edit | edit source]
Naturalization[edit | edit source]
- Virginia Naturalization Petitions, 1906-1929
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
The Virginia Newspapers Project identifies local Floyd County, Virginia Genealogy newspapers.
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
- 1831-1852 Will Book I, 1831-1852, Floyd County, VA (New River Notes)
Private Papers[edit | edit source]
- Virginia, Historical Society Papers, 1607-2007
Taxation[edit | edit source]
|Online Floyd County, Virginia Tax Lists|
- 1831 The 1831 Floyd County, Virginia Personal Property Tax List; index online at New River Notes.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Indexes to Floyd County, Virginia Genealogy births, marriages, and deaths are available online. These collections are incomplete, but are easy to search. Most records can also be ordered electronically online as well. Courtesy: FamilySearch. See also How to order Virginia Vital Records
Birth[edit | edit source]
- 1853-1872 Floyd County Birth Index 1853-1872. Batch C868773 at FamilySearch.
- 1853-1866 Virginia, Slave Birth Index, 1853-1866 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1912-1913 Virginia, Birth Certificates, 1912-1913 at FamilySearch — index and images
Beth Fridley has published abstracts of the following Floyd County birth record online at Ancestry:
- Floyd County, Virginia Births, 1853-73 [database on-line]. Available at Ancestry ($).
- Floyd County, Virginia Births, 1873-79 [database on-line]. Available at Ancestry ($).
- Floyd County, Virginia Births, 1880-84 [database on-line]. Available at Ancestry ($).
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1660-1959 Virginia, United States Marriages at FindMyPast ($)
- 1740-1850 Virginia Marriages 1740-1850 (Ancestry ($)).
- 1785-1940 Virginia, Select Marriages, 1785-1940 at Ancestry.com ($) — index
- 1843-1925 Floyd County Marriage Index 1843-1925. Batch M868773 at FamilySearch.
- 1853-1935 Virginia, Bureau of Vital Statistics, County Marriage Registers, 1853-1935 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1936-1988 Virginia, Marriage Certificates, 1936-1988 at FamilySearch — index and images
- Marriages in the New River Valley, Virginia: Montgomery, Floyd, Pulaski and Giles Counties. 1991. By Therese A. Fisher. Bowie, MD : Heritage Books. FHL.
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1853-1872 Index to Death Records Floyd County, Virginia 1853-1872 (VAGenWeb) PDF file.
- 1912-1987 Virginia, Death Certificates, 1912-1987 at FamilySearch — index and images
Beth Fridley has published abstracts of the following Floyd County death records online at Ancestry:
- Floyd County, Virginia Deaths, 1853-82 Ancestry ($).
- Floyd County, Virginia Deaths, 1883-96 Ancestry ($).
Vital Record Substitutes[edit | edit source]
|For birth, marriage, and death record substitutes, see Bible Records, Cemeteries, Church Records, Newspapers, and Probate Records.|
Floyd County Virginia Genealogy Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]
- Bassett Historical Center, Bassett, Virginia. Website includes descriptions of collections. Excellent resource for family history research in Henry, Patrick, Floyd, Franklin and Pittsylvania counties in Virginia, the city of Martinsville, Virginia, and Rockingham, Stokes and Surry counties in North Carolina.
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
Floyd County Virginia Genealogy Websites[edit | edit source]
- Floyd County, VirginiaUSGENWEB.
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Floyd County, VA History, Records, Facts and Genealogy (Familytree101)
- Cyndi's List
Floyd County Virginia Genealogy References[edit | edit source]
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Floyd County, Virginia. Page 713 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Floyd County, Virginia . Page 710-723 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 715-720.
- Wikipedia contributors, "Floyd_ County,_Virginia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Floyd_County,_Virginia#Communities accessed 8 January 2020.
- The Virginia State Line: Organizational Structure of the Virginia State Line, Ranger95.com, accessed 11 June 2012.
- John E. Olson, 21st Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1989). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 57.
- Ralph White Gunn, 24th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1987). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 34.
- Dobbie E. Lambert, 25th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1994). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 106.
- John Chapla, 42nd Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1983). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 5.
- Richard L. Armstrong, 26th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1994). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 110.
- George L. Sherwood and Jeffrey C. Weaver, 54th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1993). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 91.
- Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Online at: https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/3/37/Igivirginia.pdf.
- Alice J. Sweeney, "Bassett Historical Center," The Virginia Genealogical Society Newsletter, Vol. 28, No. 4 (Aug. 2002):1-3, available online at: http://www.vgs.org